We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation!”
Review of Spring Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spring Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama, United States
1 review
“A great vacation!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was a great place to stay. If you like nature, it is the perfect place. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was excellent. I would stay there if I was traveling that way and would highly recommend to anyone traveling.
We enjoyed watching the birds and animals in the garden's while we ate our dinner. It was very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    92
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
66
140
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We facilitated a large event in Spring Green recently and we booked many of the hotels in the area to full capacity. From our initial visit to the very end, our experience with the staff at this inn exceeded expectations. John and his team went well out of their way to ensure our group was checked in prior to arrival, they stayed late to greet us, they addressed our concerns quickly, they followed through on all of their promises, and most of all they treated us like family during our stay.

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and I was able to connect to the internet from my room. The other hotels we reserved had spotty internet at best and no cell phone service (ATT) in the rooms. The decor was a bit dated, but this is the case at all of the hotels in this area - even the more expensive options.

All of this being said - the best part of the hotel is the staff...Lori and Michelle were able to keep up with the demands of all of our team members (who also travel extensively), and many of us are proud to call them new friends. They even taught this southerner how to say "Wisconsin" like a local. We will use this hotel again the next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a great room when you make your reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb1atx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at other Spring Green locations for many years attending American Players performances. Spring Valley Inn has been our favorite since 2002 offering a reasonable rate for a clean room. The breakfast menu more than meets our expectations and the morning
bird show from the dining area is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I will list the things we liked about this quaint hotel:

It is minutes from all the major attractions of Spring Green
It has a very large pool and hot tub
Pool had locker rooms with showers (nice if traveling with family)
The hotel is in a very pretty wooded area
The staff was very nice
Clean modest rooms
The continental breakfast was decent & had a nice variety of hot/cold items
Quaint prairie style hotel

Some things we did not care for:
Interior was a little dark & dated
older small TV's
tiny bathrooms

We were issued actual room keys instead of magnetic keys, but they added to the charm of the hotel.

If you are looking for a modern hotel, then you do not want to stay here. The hotel is quiet and quaint and we would stay here again. We had the pool to ourselves and enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Nice to use the showers in the locker rooms if you are traveling with a family. The bathrooms are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Looks like it was nice once. Definitely on the funky side now. Hot breakfast served on styrofoam plates with giant home depot trashcan in the middle of the room, but nice bird feeders outside the breakfast area for entertainment. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sviowner, Owner at Spring Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
our plates are sysco supreme 9 ninch dinner plates.Perhaps you should have stayed at one of our competitors that don't offer any breakfast , much less a complimentary one as we do ! Then plates become a non issue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Because we try to get to two or three American Players Theatre performances every summer we're always on the lookout for lodging that is conveniently located, comfortable, clean, quiet, and of good value. Spring Valley Inn easily satisfies all these prerequisites and offers several other amenities for good measure. To begin with, the grounds ("100 acres of wooded prairie") are spacious and remarkably well-groomed; there are cozy, little patio areas sprinkled about for reading, enjoying a cup of coffee, or just lounging around. Second, all rooms offer free wireless internet access. Third, there is a complimentary hot breakfast served in a bright, airy lounge area that has the added attraction of abundantly populated bird feeders just ouside the large windows. Fourth, there is a large indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool hot tub. Although we didn't have an opportunity to use any of them, we were impressed by how attractive and clean they all looked. Fifth, Pat's Place, an attached restaurant featuring Italian cuisine and more is open for dessert, light fare, and refreshments until two in the morning. We stopped by with two close friends after the APT production and shared a delicious, and remarkably large, piece of coconut cake. Sixth, the rooms and hallways are graced with Frank Lloyd Wright artifacts and memorabilia: photos, architectural plans, and the like. Even the furniture reminds us of the famous architect who gave us the prairie style. Of course, this list is meant to be illustrative and not definitive, but I think you'll agree it is pretty impressive. But perhaps of even greater interest and concern to the prospective lodger is the quality of service. I can assure yu that it is extraordinarily warm and attentive. Although the Inn is a fairly large facility that even offers a Conferencde Center, it has the feel of a Mom and Pop motel, the ambience of a comfy B & B. Where have you found this combination last? Oh, yes, I should point out that The Spring Valley Inn is not only very close to the APT grounds (about a 5 minute drive), but also just a few miles from Wright's Taliesen, House on the Rock, and two attractive state parks (Tower Hill and Governor Dodge). Without doubt we'll return to Spring Valley Inn, a pleasant venue full of pleasant surprises.

Room Tip: Although quiet prevails throughout, ask for a room in the back for even more privacy and serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james59929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was one of the worst the mattress is teriabe for anybody with back condition, They have one of the worst mattresses I have ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast was poor, their idea is hot is what they can microwave. Old furnishings and keyed rooms. Will never stay here again

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
3.8 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
127 reviews
18.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
14.0 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
372 reviews
11.8 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
146 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Inn

Property: Spring Valley Inn
Address: 6279 County Highway C, Spring Green, WI 53588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spring Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Inn has 35 guest rooms, located on 12 acres of wooded prairie. The property features the area's largest indoor pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, exercise room and locker room facilities. Pat's Place has a fountain patio surrounding a stone fire pit and serves cocktails and a continental cuisine (check for dinner hours). There is seating in our meeting and banquet facilities for 180. Spring Valley Inn is located close to Taliesin, American Players Theater, House on the Rock, the Wisconsin River, Governor Dodge and Tower Hill State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Spring Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Valley Hotel Spring Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing