We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seen better days”
Review of Spring Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spring Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Looks like it was nice once. Definitely on the funky side now. Hot breakfast served on styrofoam plates with giant home depot trashcan in the middle of the room, but nice bird feeders outside the breakfast area for entertainment. Good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aileen9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sviowner, Owner at Spring Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

our plates are sysco supreme 9 ninch dinner plates.Perhaps you should have stayed at one of our competitors that don't offer any breakfast , much less a complimentary one as we do ! Then plates become a non issue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Because we try to get to two or three American Players Theatre performances every summer we're always on the lookout for lodging that is conveniently located, comfortable, clean, quiet, and of good value. Spring Valley Inn easily satisfies all these prerequisites and offers several other amenities for good measure. To begin with, the grounds ("100 acres of wooded prairie") are spacious and remarkably well-groomed; there are cozy, little patio areas sprinkled about for reading, enjoying a cup of coffee, or just lounging around. Second, all rooms offer free wireless internet access. Third, there is a complimentary hot breakfast served in a bright, airy lounge area that has the added attraction of abundantly populated bird feeders just ouside the large windows. Fourth, there is a large indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool hot tub. Although we didn't have an opportunity to use any of them, we were impressed by how attractive and clean they all looked. Fifth, Pat's Place, an attached restaurant featuring Italian cuisine and more is open for dessert, light fare, and refreshments until two in the morning. We stopped by with two close friends after the APT production and shared a delicious, and remarkably large, piece of coconut cake. Sixth, the rooms and hallways are graced with Frank Lloyd Wright artifacts and memorabilia: photos, architectural plans, and the like. Even the furniture reminds us of the famous architect who gave us the prairie style. Of course, this list is meant to be illustrative and not definitive, but I think you'll agree it is pretty impressive. But perhaps of even greater interest and concern to the prospective lodger is the quality of service. I can assure yu that it is extraordinarily warm and attentive. Although the Inn is a fairly large facility that even offers a Conferencde Center, it has the feel of a Mom and Pop motel, the ambience of a comfy B & B. Where have you found this combination last? Oh, yes, I should point out that The Spring Valley Inn is not only very close to the APT grounds (about a 5 minute drive), but also just a few miles from Wright's Taliesen, House on the Rock, and two attractive state parks (Tower Hill and Governor Dodge). Without doubt we'll return to Spring Valley Inn, a pleasant venue full of pleasant surprises.

Room Tip: Although quiet prevails throughout, ask for a room in the back for even more privacy and serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james59929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was one of the worst the mattress is teriabe for anybody with back condition, They have one of the worst mattresses I have ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast was poor, their idea is hot is what they can microwave. Old furnishings and keyed rooms. Will never stay here again

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This small hotel has much to commend it. I agree with the other reviewers who have commented on the warmth of the owners. The hotel's location could not be more convenient to area attractions, such as Taliesen and the APT. I also appreciated the quiet rooms and FLW-inspired decor.

One should realize that this is not a luxury hotel, however. Beds are comfortable but rather spare, and the bathrooms are small, with only minimal amenities. When visiting Spring Green, most lodgers will spend more time out of their rooms than in them, however, so these points are less important than in a big city establishment. The overall atmosphere of the place is charming--friendly and heartfelt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed several nights at the Spring Valley Inn and found ourselves more at ease there than we have most places we have stayed. We were in love with the hospitality, special details that were not commercialized. From the simple pleasure of feeling like family, while enjoying some of the best food we have had outside of our favorite Italian restaurant in Chicago, to the sincere and knowledgeable support of Michelle and everyone we met; we plan on future visits. Thank you for a fabulous memory!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We felt like we were hanging out with family there. Very low-key, but very attentive to details. The outdoor firepit after the play at APT was a great finish to the evening. Will go back again, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Where else are you welcomed back with a big hug for both my wife and me? Shirley warmly greeted us upon our arrival in June. Brenner checked us in, remembering our names and preferences. Small Inn with big-hearted employees. Denise's illness only sad part of our stay. She is missed, but the new folks have stepped up and are continuing the excellent and friendly service. Pattersons have done a great job.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LARRYHalesCorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
3.8 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
128 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#2 of 4 in Dodgeville
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
11.8 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
148 reviews
21.6 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Inn

Address: 6279 County Highway C, Spring Green, WI 53588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Price Range: $98 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spring Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Inn has 35 guest rooms, located on 12 acres of wooded prairie. The property features the area's largest indoor pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, exercise room and locker room facilities. Pat's Place has a fountain patio surrounding a stone fire pit and serves cocktails and a continental cuisine (check for dinner hours). There is seating in our meeting and banquet facilities for 180. Spring Valley Inn is located close to Taliesin, American Players Theater, House on the Rock, the Wisconsin River, Governor Dodge and Tower Hill State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spring Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Valley Hotel Spring Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing