We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed with Open Arms”
Review of Spring Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spring Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
HALES CORNERS
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcomed with Open Arms”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Where else are you welcomed back with a big hug for both my wife and me? Shirley warmly greeted us upon our arrival in June. Brenner checked us in, remembering our names and preferences. Small Inn with big-hearted employees. Denise's illness only sad part of our stay. She is missed, but the new folks have stepped up and are continuing the excellent and friendly service. Pattersons have done a great job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARRYHalesCorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    91
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
64
134
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were a group of 10, and the staff went above and beyond to be helpful; giving us local information, making pizzas, and being endlessly pleasant with our requests. While it is a smaller hotel, it is nice that the rooms are removed/separated from the food and beverage area, so any late night activities are not disruptive. The firepit outside of the bar/restaurant is very enjoyable. Those that used the pool/hot tub/sauna all said it was nice. Very pleasant experience! Thanks, Michelle!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here because we were taking in a play at APT. The facility is a little older but extremely well-kept and very clean. The pricing is reasonable and the service at the front desk is tremendous. The complimentary hot breakfast was a great touch! We look forward to returning for future plays!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler53965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have been going to APT for 11 years, and we’ve stayed at the Spring Valley Inn for the past 10. I like the rooms, the reasonable price, the proximity to the theater, and the fact that it has an exercise room. Also a few years ago, they improved their breakfast menu to include cereal and hot items. However, the past couple of years, it seems as if they have developed an air of indifference.

It has become increasingly difficult to get a return phone call or email to make a reservation. At first I assumed this was because we were calling before the season began. However, we want to make a reservation now (in August) for September, and so far I’ve waited two days for a return call. If they’re not going to answer when I call, they should at least call back within 24 hours so I can find out if they have a room available.

On our last visit, we had to wait about 15 minutes to check in because one woman was on the phone and another acted as if she couldn’t be bothered.

Although the exercise room has working equipment, it needs maintenance. It would also be nice if the exercise room had towels, especially since there’s a sign telling us to wipe down the equipment after using it.

The staff isn’t unfriendly, but they don’t go out of their way to be welcoming. I would describe some of them as aloof.

There is a rumor that the place is for sale. This may explain the problems. However, if they’re going to stay in business in the meantime, they should do their best to act as if they care about their establishment and their guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingP421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sviowner, Owner at Spring Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We pride ourselves on not being a hotel chain, providing extra value, triple sheeted beds with comforters, a full HOT complimentary breakfast, the largest pool in the area featuring a whirlpool, and steam and sauna rooms.Spring Valley Inn has 35 rooms ,experiencing near one hundred percent occupancy.I apoligize for any short delays our valued customers experience. john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have three couples who visit Spring Green to attend 3 weekend plays at APT. We have finally found the motel that we come back to each year. The Spring Valley Inn suits us well. The location on Hy 14 & Hy C is ideal for APT. The pool is great as is the Hot Tub and exercise room. The rooms - all with two double beds are nice - the table and seat in the ice bag area suit our three elderly couples well - the individual bags of ice just the size of the ice container in each room is another sign of their thoughtfulness - Pat's Place is cozy and friendly with a good courtesy breakfast and good drinks. But the star attraction is the owner John Rasmussen, who one year let us use his home because of overbooking. We'll be back every year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlepeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stay here three times a year, in July, August and September, so we can take in American Players Theatre. The buildings and decor are Wright inspired, well maintained, and comfortable. The amenities (pool, whirlpood, steam room, sauna, exercise room) are just right for our needs. Pat's Place has a limited menu of good food, drinks, and after-theater desserts. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are reasonably priced. We've been coming here for ten years, and will continue for ten more if everything stays well maintained. There are pricier, more upscale places in the area, but none we've stayed at with a better overall value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side avoid any road noise. Rooms away from the side entrance avoid any air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our third stay at the Spring Valley Inn as part of weekend trips to the American Players Theatre. On this trip we brought along another couple and were not sure about how they might receive the "non-chain" aspects of the SVI. We need not have worried, we all really enjoyed our stay. There was a nice selection of area craft beers offered in both the Pat's Place bar/rest and available for sale in the gift shop. The outdoor patio and fire pit were very nice for a post-play beer social. Rooms are not up-scale but were clean and had Frank Lloyd Wright styling that made them interesting. Pool was large although we did not have time to use it. Friendly family staff. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
3.8 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
123 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
18.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
365 reviews
11.8 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
143 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Inn

Property: Spring Valley Inn
Address: 6279 County Highway C, Spring Green, WI 53588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spring Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Inn has 35 guest rooms, located on 12 acres of wooded prairie. The property features the area's largest indoor pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, exercise room and locker room facilities. Pat's Place has a fountain patio surrounding a stone fire pit and serves cocktails and a continental cuisine (check for dinner hours). There is seating in our meeting and banquet facilities for 180. Spring Valley Inn is located close to Taliesin, American Players Theater, House on the Rock, the Wisconsin River, Governor Dodge and Tower Hill State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spring Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Valley Hotel Spring Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing