We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spring Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
Round Barn Lodge(Spring Green)
$137
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Q Inn(Dodgeville)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Dodgeville(Dodgeville)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$110
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Green Motel(Spring Green)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
175
96
37
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
96
37
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspat's placefire pitfrank lloyd wrighthot breakfastbird feederssteam roomthe american players theaterlarge poolspring greensfree breakfastdown the roadother guestsvisitor's centerhot tubwafflesnew mattressesrestaurant bar
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 325 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is my second year of staying at Spring Valley Inn, and I couldn't be more pleased. It started as the visitor's center for Taliesen, so the over all look is pure Frank Lloyd Wright. The Inn is quaint, private, quiet, and close to all sorts of attractions. It's just minutes from American Players Theater, Spring Green, Dodgeville, House on the Rock, Taliesan, and many more sights in the area. They even stay open for drinks and desserts after the plays at APT (check out the lemon berry marzipan cake, it's to die for, and you HAVE to try the Blueberry Martini, it's the GREATEST!!) The owners are like family, and the staff is SUPER friendly. A Continental breakfast is served (waffles, fresh fruit, toast, bagles, eggs & sausage, and many other choices), so you can start your day without even leaving the motel. Their supper menu is delicious as well.(bruschetta and rotolo are great). There's an indoor pool that's wonderful, as well as an exercise room, sauna, & whirlpool (didn't do the exercise room, but there were a lot of equipment to use). The pool sure was a LOT of fun, though. The rooms were clean, with a coffee pot, blow dryer, and makeup mirror available to use. The beds were very comfortable, and that's not easy to say when you have a bad back. My sister and I stayed here for a week, and never got bored. We spent a lot of time just sitting and watching the birds (especially in the morning at breakfast), which was very enjoyable.
I would never hesitate to go back and stay for another week, at any time of the year. It's the GREATEST!!!

Room Tip: Any room is worth a stay. Easy access to all.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was extremely friendly, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and there was a nice pool area. The furnishings are a little tired, but that added to the overall charm. The inn is conveniently located to Spring Green, the American Players Theatre, the Wisconsin River, and other attractions. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPQuickstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was in Spring Green with a friend to attend a workshop. The location and Wright inspired design of the Inn were attractive so we gave it a try. Overall, the stay was pleasant - the room was clean and comfortable. The pool is very nice although the plastic furniture is ugly. The furnishings in the dining area are in need of attention as well. It is apparent that the owners are trying hard to keep the place inviting, but here and there are areas that feel tired and worn. The gift shop is woefully barren. On the plus side, and why overall I gave a four star rating, is the thoughtful attention of the staff, the ever fascinating bird watching possibilities during the breakfast service, and the rooms as stated previously were comfortable. I'd love to see the place make a few improvements to the furnishings, upgrade the breakfast a bit (perhaps home made healthy muffins, yogurt,etc.), and perhaps trim away the overgrown areas of bushes that hide the building. If you are in the area, the Spring Valley Inn is not perfect, but it is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tango2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Our area is in the midst of a severe drought, the lawn can't be mowed without damaging the grass forever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay at this inn was extremely enjoyable. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean, and the air conditioner worked well on the hottest weekend in recent history! The breakfast was varied and fresh but the best part of the breakfast experience was watching the many birds as they darted from feeder to tree to shrub just outside the window. The owners were even thoughtful enough to place bird books for us to be able to identify the species.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35,912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and two young daughters stayed two nights at Spring Valley Inn. The staff was friendly and the rooms and pool were clean. We enjoyed dinner at Pat's Place. The food was good and the view was great. My main complaints are the smells in the hallway, the uncomfortable beds and the kids' playground. The hallways all smelled funny, but particularly the one leading to the pool area. It was very off-putting. The beds weren't terrible, but not great either. The kids' playground was overgrown with weeds and the paint was peeling. It had definitely seen better days.

On a more positive note, we did enjoy the fire pit at night. Overall, not a bad place to stay but we'd probably try another place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews