We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The nicest people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Books

Arcadia Books
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The nicest people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stopped in for the cafe and to see if they had wifi. Their coffee was delicious and they kindly rebooted the server so the wifi would work. The bookstore was inviting, and I just had to browse. The cafe served locally roasted coffee and we bought some to take home. We shared a locally made cupcake, all their baked good looked great. They also sell freshly prepared meals which looked so tasty. We'd definitely stop in again on our travels.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cozy, tasty oasis on a wet and gloomy night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Oh what a yummy place! Imagine a chilly, wet, grey night...on the road with no hotel booked till later AFTER the evening play and no place nearby to get a meal. Stopping in to a tranquil store selling wooden items and being advised to visit Arcadia books a block away for a light meal.
ARCADIA: Warmth, light, friendliness, hot and tasty veggie food, sweet treats ... and all surrounded by books, glorious books! The staff felt like friends we surely must have known in college days; the adding of more tables as more people found refuge there led us to linger without guilt. The rain cleared but the memory lingered. Rain or shine, do go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
263 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A genuine, real book store!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I love this place. They have a varied selection of books - everything from best sellers to "where did this come from?" books. The staff is knowledgeable about the books and you are encouraged to browse. They have a nice selection of sandwiches and soups so it is easy to find yourself spending much more time than anticiapted in Arcadia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best little bookstore in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is what a book store should be. The atmosphere is lovely, the owner and staff incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and the book selection amazing. I am actually not that much of a reader, but love just walking around the store. My daughters, on the other hand, love to read, and can always find something here. They have all of the popular tween books they are looking for and good off the beaten path suggestions that they have also enjoyed. Don't hesitate to ask for a recommendation. Every friend I have brought by from out of town loves the place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CML548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcadia Books also viewed

 

Been to Arcadia Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing