We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freddy Valentine's

Freddy Valentine's
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food was just amazing. The kids had the best mac-n-cheese ever. I loved the Grilled Enchiladas and my mom loved the Fish & Chips. The wine was also very good. The only downside was its pricey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfbeaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    105
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not pass anywhere near Spring Green without stopping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Let's see, add a stunning building, a friendly staff, a great chef who uses many locally sourced products and what do you get? Freddy Valentines. This was a Friday night visit. Try the cod. The drink special was a $3 Tanquery and tonic. The fish was superb, lightly battered in a beer crust with a sauce to die for. The burgers are tops too. Say hi to Dave who owns the place. He is all over everything.

I usually don't give out 5 stars but in this market it is head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Best "adult" grilled cheese I have ever had! Service and staff were helpful and the restraunt is beautiful! Reccomend to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKE
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprised !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a local performance and found a very pleasant ,small restaurant. We were seated promptly. A very nice waitress soon arrived,took our drink orders and explained that three item were not available. The order was placed, and the wait stared. The people came in as we did but no one on the staff seemed ready for the onslaught. One hour later some of the best Brisket arrived.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMWFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable on every level!! Don't miss--if in area--or take the extra side trip, cause it will be worth your while!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently camped at Gov. Dodge State Park. I had brought along a Wisconsin Tourism section from the July Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel about the area. It stated not to miss Freddy Valentines in Spring Green. However, when we tried to punch it into our Garmin nothing came up. We stopped to asked at the Ranger Station and no one had heard of it. They did find the address on the Internet. Being a bit skeptical, I asked for the ranger's recommendation. The all concurred on Arthur's a supper club. Being that Arthur's was closer, we chose to go there...and after getting a round of water....all looked at each other and decided to leave. It was very large and very empty. So, off to find Freddy Valentines. Well the extra effort was worth it. Is located in the heart of Spring Green in a renovated old Bank building. We were greeted by the owner, very happy to see us and sat us in one of the many rooms to accommodate different groups. Service was very attentive and we had water and menu in hands right away. Looking around at the other diner's dinners, we knew we had made a good choice. My son ordered one of the Specials, pork chop with greens and fingerling potatoes. It was the most flavorful port chop (we all shared a bit of each other's meals) we have ever tasted. My husband had the Mexican dish with corn salsa. He said it tasted more authentic most dishes we have had in Mexico. My daughter and I had the ruebens...and sorry to say there were even better than McBobs, which was our favorite restaurant for them! Our whole dining experience was wonderful. The place was reasonably priced, trendy and fun and we all walked away with a great feeliing. Some of the tables were filled with actors from the playhouse in Spring Green. Great place to go before or after a play!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mints2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy Valentine's also viewed

 

Been to Freddy Valentine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing