We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the atmoshere, dinner was average”
Review of Freddy Valentine's

Freddy Valentine's
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the atmoshere, dinner was average”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The three of us joined you for dinner and we did enjoy your restaurant. Food tasted good, however, my dinner, the Halibut Special, wasn't that special and wasn't really warm when our server brought it to us. I don't know if it sat in the "window" too long. The others thought the same thing about their meal. The drinks were delivered in a timely fashion and the Oreo Ice Cream Dessert was very good!! I would definitely come back again and give them a second chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maelee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    108
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Historic Preservation Spot”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If anything, you need to come here just to have a drink so you can check out the bank and the interior. Yes, this restaurant used to be a bank. A very old one with fancy teller cages and lots of marble. The kind of bank Bonnie and Clyde would have robbed back in the 1930s. They did a beautiful job rehabbing this bank into a bar/restaurant.

I had drinks and dinner here, and my bill (including tip) was approximately $27. It was well worth it. This is definitely a place you could meet friends, bring your spouse, or conduct a meeting. I enjoyed this restaurant very much.

For Spring Green, this restaurant was very good food. Currently, this restaurant is listed as #3 for best restaurants in Spring Green. However, I would eat here for my first meal in Spring Green, before venturing out to other restaurants, simply because the restaurant is neat.

The bartender working the evening I dined here was excellent; unfortunately, I do not remember his name.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalyan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring green wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"home town" feeling "uptown" food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is on the main street of a unexpectedly unique midwest village, Spring Green WI. Home to Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesen, numerous local artists and classical outdoor American Players Theatre. The town has been in need of another restaurant to accommodate both the tourist and the locals. This place is the perfect addition. Wonderful owners Dave and Jeaneane who will look after your every need. Located in a gorgeous turn of the century (last century) bank -- you can even reserve the actual vault for a party of 6 or so -- the restaurant serves homemade food. really good fresh food. the full menu is wonderfully varied coupled with consistently excellent specials. a wonderful plus is they have great bartenders - who make a mean margarita and wisconsin favorite - a brandy old fashion. you may have to wait -(especially at high season & get there early if you are going to see a play) - but the bar is has a great atmosphere - and sometimes they will say "wander around downtown here and we will give you a call on your cell phone when your table is ready." gotta love a small town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank springgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Make sure to arrive early as this place gets crowded on the weekends. Staff is very friendly. Had the most amazing fish and chips. I was told fish is never frozen. Chips were fresh cut. Was a little pricey at 15.00, but well worth it. I was not crazy about the non traditional coleslaw with slices of onions and peppers. The tarter sauce was delish! Overall a great dinning experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsh109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, some service kinks to work out”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The menu is decent and offers some appreciated diversions from the usual Wisconsin supper club fare or bar-n-grill offerings you'll mostly find in this area. (Think salmon, not foie gras ... this is still "the country.")

That said, the folks running the place seem very enthusiastic, but not terribly experienced. Even with a light load of guests, they seemed to have a hard time with little details that a diner should be able to take for granted. (For instance, I eventually had to go find silverware to eat my dinner myself, because the server repeatedly failed to notice we didn't have any.)

That said, I will certainly give them another chance and would recommend that others try the place as well, especially if you are spending more than 1 night in the area.

Best part: Downtown setting in the old bank building. Very beautiful inside. At the very least, go for a beer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BadAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy Valentine's also viewed

 

Been to Freddy Valentine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing