We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Sit anywhere! Picture of beverage prices on 9-29-2018

Although a center seat near the front of a theater is always nice, this theater is so well built... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
ChicagoTravelerLuck
,
Chicago, Illinois
Love this place so much -- wonderful venue and perfomances!

This is the most beautiful place to visit in the Madison area. Perfection! The perfomances are... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
sma226
,
Madison, Wisconsin
Read all 344 reviews
  
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
302
33
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
33
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor theatre bug spray spring greens picnic dinner shakespeare play theater lovers cast members great theatre midsummer night's dream picnic area stratford festival great play cyrano de bergerac concession stand box office rock resort rain or shine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 342 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Although a center seat near the front of a theater is always nice, this theater is so well built that nearly any seat will do. My wife and I got our tickets the day before the show last week, so we were late and had little choice for tickets. We found ourselves in Row K, on the far right hand side. We actually could hear and see the play just fine. So the next time you go, think about the "cheaper" seats because they might be just as good as the more expensive seats!

BTW, the beverages are very expensive at the concessions. Think about having a nice picnic on site (which we did) and enjoy things on your own before going to the play.

The actors were awesome, by the way. And the play was well-produced. We'll be back!

Thank ChicagoTravelerLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This is the most beautiful place to visit in the Madison area. Perfection! The perfomances are great and so is the venue

Thank sma226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Even water washed out the road but the play still on. It was a very nice show. This is not the first time I was in American players theatre but it never disappointed.

Thank Yuhua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We spent our 46th wedding anniversary attending 2 plays at APT, and had a wonderful time. We saw both Born Yesterday on Thurs PM, and As You Like It (in the 90+ HEAT and rain) on Sun Afternoon. They do such a good job, anyone in the area should attempt to see a play there.

Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I have enjoyed going to see many plays at the APT. The cast is always fantastic, the surroundings are beautiful and intimate and the staff is offers great customer service and are always friendly. I always walk away with a great feeling after seeing a play at the APT and I highly recommend it to everyone who loves theater!

Thank HVACgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We have been coming to this theatre for about 15 years. We lived in Michigan and now live on the east coast and yet make a trip every year to this theatre as part of a family get together. The theatre is amazing, the plays and the actors are world class. Definitely a place that should be on everyone's list.

Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Y, Director of Communications at American Players Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you very much, and thank you for making the trip every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

After living in Madison for years, we finally decided to attend our first APT performance. We loved it! We are not really into Shakespeare, so we settled on a comedy — Born Yesterday. It was delightful, a first class performance. We were uncertain about when to get there for parking and picnicking. But we decided to simplify everything by buying one of the picnic boxes (for 4) made by Hubbard Avenue Diner that you pick up from the concession stand. It made it very easy, so all we had to worry about was the wine and some glasses. We arrived a little before 6:00 for a 7:30 show. There was plenty of parking and many open picnic tables. We had a great, leisurely meal. And better yet, the bugs were non-existent. They made several loud speaker announcements as the play time got closer so that you could take items back to your car and go to the restroom. Then a short walk (10 minutes?) uphill to the outdoor theater. I was worried about where to sit when I bought the tickets, but after attending I realized that there is not a bad seat in the house. Everything was great. One hint ... make sure that you back into your parking spot and check out where the exit is so that you have an easier time getting out after the performance.

Thank SteveH594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Friends organized this trip after we all went to Ashland several years ago and, other than the insects, APT is absolutely as good. We saw three plays, all of them fantastically well staged and acted. The actors use the entire space beautifully and in one case, the stage opened up at the back and they used the green area behind as well. I was very impressed at how one actress was able to include an interfering bat.

The seats are excellent and the theater is very well organized with efficient restrooms, snack bar, and water. There are lots of picnic tables just down the hill and many people (including our large group) took advantage of them. Our catered salads, sandwiches and desserts came to $10/person. Delicious.

I recommend APT without hesitation, though I'm guessing one has to be on the ball to get tickets to the more popular performances. One of our group managed all of that for us.

Oh, and by the way, they provide lots of insect repellent as you walk up the hill, so you don't even need to bring your own.

Thank LLM_in_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

It is walk up the hill, scenic and serene about 1/4/mile walk. If you are crippled take the shuttle or be prepared for a slow ascent. The seating is ample and open with a good view of the stage from any angle. At intermission be first in line for the Snacks & toilet or you will have a long wait. The lines move quickly but still there is a wait. People were spraying themselves down but the bugs were slight to none. The actors did a good representation of the characters and seemed to really get into the parts. We will certainly go back and visit again. Tickets were midrange not too pricey.

Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

An absolute must !! There is nothing like it !! A beautiful outdoor theater set in the wooded hilliside of Wisconsin. The theater cast is a collection of amazing, talented professionals. They are first class. The experience of watching classical Shakespeare in the beautiful outdoor settings is amazing. Great seats. Great concessions. They even provide the bug spray.

Thank ArizonaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews