We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a View”

Riverview Terrace Cafe
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located within the Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center, the Riverview Terrace Cafe has a warm and friendly atmosphere with windows that span the entire length of the building, giving guests an unforgettable view overlooking the scenic Wisconsin River. Frank Lloyd Wright's only restaurant design serves as the gateway to his Taliesin estate. For those traveling for business or pleasure, the restaurant also has free access to Wi-Fi. Sit, dine, relax and enjoy!
Townsville
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Lunch with a View”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We dined in the most gorgeous restaurant which was part of the Visitors' Centre designed by the famous architect Frank Lloyd Wright. The soaring timber lined beams created an amazing dining atmosphere. Outside you had beautiful views of the Wisconsin River. We had a delicious lunch. I ate Veggie Benedict and my husband enjoyed an omelette with roasted potatoes. It was a meal to remember.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville
2 reviews
“WORST FOOD AND SERVICE EVER!! Avoid Prime Rib”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Riverview Terrace after a day of hunting and we're very hungry. Our group of 4 ordered 4 prime rib dinners medium rare. We ordered our drinks and waited for a long time. We waited and waited while other waitress's kept bumping into my chair. Finally the drinks came 15minutes later. We drank our drinks and ordered another-this time a little quicker. The waitress then told us salad bar was included in our meal. we were upset she didn't tell us before. Our group went to get salads as our food was delivered to table. Crowded table full of food. The prime rib was bloody and RAW! The seasoning was terrible but seriously-it was raw! We had it taken back and re cooked. It was awful. Bad food Bad service I will tell everybody. seriously: the worst prime rib I ever ate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best experience in the area”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant serves excellent food in a beautiful setting. The staff are terrific, the wine list is not quite, er, comprehensive but you will not be drinking anything awful. Prices are very good, and the desserts are great. Consistent over several years, and hopefully will continue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puddleglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Service excellent and food good”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We frequently go to American Players Theater and the Riverview Terrace Cafe is often our restaurant of choice. The staff provides attentive, friendly service. The food is very good. We were a group of six recently and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The salads were fresh and the fish done to perfection. The vegetarian entree was very good according to my brother-in-law. There is a lovely view of the Wisconsin River but not a lot of ambiance beyond that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
1,066 reviews
655 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Lovely respite after FLW Tour of Taliesen”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family and I ate here following our four hour indepth tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesen home. The restaurant is part of the visitor's center and is a lovely FLW-styled building. The gift shop is at one end of the building and the restaurant at the other end. On a Saturday lunch time we were recommended to make reservations and we were glad we did. It was very busy. My Mum and hubby had the eggs benedict which they proclaimed to be delicious and nice and hot. I had the salad with field greens, local goat cheese, almonds etc., which was topped with a delicious white balsamic vinagrette and accompanied by crusty fresh bread and it was lovely. I washed it down with a glass of local Wisconsin Pinot Grigio that was fruitier than normal PG's, so a bit too fruity for my taste but still pleasant and a good price. My Mum had the Malbec and it was good. She finished the meal off with the Key Lime Pie which was huge; more like a key lime cheesecake; slightly tart but with a nice cream top, it was quite different in texture to the key lime pies we are used to in Florida but was delicious. Hot fresh coffee finished off the meal and the total was about $$60.00 for the three of us. The view of the Wisconsin river was lovely, it was a super sunny day and after the meal we drove across the bridge towards downtown Spring Green and stopped at a little park/boat ramp to take photos looking back across to the restaurant and the hills. Lovely stop. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Terrace Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Terrace Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing