We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to write home about!”
Review of Round Barn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Round Barn Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Round Barn is somewhat typical of this kind of accommodation (motel) found in Wisconsin. We stayed there with a big group last week. Upon check in, I asked if I could have a quieter room because I am a light sleeper. The lady at the desk looked at me like I had two heads or maybe more specifically, "why are you bothering me?", but then she said no, she wouldn't be able to do that!!
The rooms are OK, there is a refrigerator and microwave in each room. However, the rooms are dark and can be depressing if you have to spend much time in them.
We had breakfast organized by the group and it was AWFUL. The eggs were not real eggs, maybe they were powered and the pancakes were from frozen, them were tough and tasteless, I guess you can screw up breakfast if you are the Round Barn.
I didn't have a choice of where to stay, but I wouldn't go back to the Round Barn, I would look for a place that cares about the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 06222012a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a fantastic crew. We had a motorcycle rally there the weekend of May 17, 18 and 19, 2013. Everyone that works at the Round Barn Lodge made sure we had everything we needed and helped us in anyway to make our event a success. They even had the water hose hooked up so we could clean our bikes and also rags to clean the bikes with. The rooms were clean, the grounds were clean. The desk clerks did a great job getting us all checked in and out. It was our 20th year of doing this so they even got us an anniversary cake. They thought of everything. It was a fantastic weekend. Thank-you very much every one at the Round Barn Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at this lodge. The room had 3 bedrooms. One bedroom on the lower level and two other bedrooms on the second level. To get up to the second level there is a winding staircase. The staircase is tiny however you can also reach the second level by the outside of the room (elevator or stairs). Basically the room is the size of an apartment. There is a full kitchen, dining area and dining room with a huge television. If you have kids there is a lot of room for them to frolic. The only problem is that there is no bathroom on the second level. If you are an overweight person you would most likely have to enter the second level by elevator or stairs. The room is definitely worth the extra price that we paid. There also is a resturant/bar. We were sitting at the bar watching television (there were only the two of us) and another couple came it and wanted to have dinner and watch a game (sports) that was on the television. There are televisions sets in the restaurant however one of the patrons that work at the bar (a heavy set gentlemen) turned the television off that we were watching and proceeded to turn the channel to the sports that the other couple wanted to watch. Needless to say we left and did not have dinner here. It was very rude and we were tired after travelling 3 hours so we didn't bother with any confrontation.

Room Tip: Room 100 has a lot of room. Well worth paying the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After reading a recent review of the lodge, I had to write my own review. I was there for 3 nights the same weekend that the "group of kids" stayed (3/7/13-3/10/13). I have to say that the only rude behavior that I witnessed that weekend was of the parents of these out of control children. I commend the staff for putting up with such behavior. When I did call the front desk on that Saturday evening because of the noise level and I was treated with respect from a very aplogetic staff.
My room was clean and well taken care of, and the staff was quite friendly and accommodating. I will definitely visit there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here with a group of people first off building did smell, second we stayed at this place with a group of kids , we booked this hotel because of the pool only to find out that after the kids were done with there sporting event that the pool was closed to the guests for a private party of about 8 kids from 4 - 6 PM you can only imaging the kids dissapointment, thats when we met the Pysho lady that everyone on here speaks of. nicest thing i can say about her she is rude and has no business being employed at a hotel. The hot tub was shut off on us an hour before the pool area closed each night. then to top it all off we had to leave Sunday morning early do to a gas leak!!! the owner said he would make it right well I guess we will see. Highly suggest you find a different place to stay. To the hotel and its management team SHAME ON YOU !!!!!!

Room Tip: Any Where but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on a recent snowmobile trip. We had not planned on staying here, and found this hotel right on the trail. We were not sure what to expect. We were so happy to have ended up here. The room was great, the price was even better, and the staff was wonderful. Very clean rooms and very comfy beds!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_gypsy_garmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family just had a reunion there the first weekend in 2013. There was about 40 of us that stayed and it was great. We rented the suite as well and that worked out perfect for us to hang out (living room, kitchen, big screen tv). Pam gave us everything and asked us countless times if we needed anything. Rick from the restaurant cooked our food for the entire weekend. The food was delicious especially the friday night fish! Service was a little slow but worth the wait. Pizzas are great too! Kids loved the game room and pool as well! Liked it so much, going back again this summer! Great value!

Room Tip: If the suite is available and you have kids, it is well worth the extra dollars to have that extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAREN987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
3.8 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
325 reviews
14.1 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#2 of 4 in Dodgeville
139 reviews
15.2 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
153 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
402 reviews
22 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Barn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Barn Lodge

Address: E4830 US Hwy 14 & 60, Spring Green, WI 53588
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Round Barn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing Getaway in the Heart of Spring Green -Newly Remodeled Lodge Rooms- Restaurant, picturesque waterfall patio Indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise & game rooms Refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, wireless internet, & hairdryer Banquet & meeting facilities Frank Lloyd Wright associate designed Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Round Barn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Barn Hotel Spring Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing