We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
strange but well worth the trip

what a place, only need to go one time. A bit pricy but well worth it. Won't go again but you... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
rzornrn
,
Eagan, Minnesota
Quirky and eclectic

So much to look at, it's hard to take it all in. Tiffany lamps, stained glass windows, collections... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kimbutz
,
Fredonia, Wisconsin
via mobile
Read all 1,643 reviews
  
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveler rating
799
401
222
105
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
401
222
105
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity room alex jordan music machines doll houses three sections sensory overload actual house low ceilings musical instruments carousel room three hours japanese garden eclectic collection wear comfortable shoes the world's largest carousel merry go round self guided
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

what a place, only need to go one time. A bit pricy but well worth it. Won't go again but you will talk about the place afterwards. Does take most of the day to get through don't plan on a quick visit.

Thank rzornrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We always look for new and unique stops during our travels to keep our interest and to add to future conversations with others. This stop was literally unbelieveable. Our time was limited so we only ticketed for the first and second house sections. We scrambled to complete our visit in two and a half hours, loving every minute of it. Inexpensive tokens can be purchased along the walkway of totally unique exhibits which can be used for musical displays. The infinity bridge deck and hall seemed as if it never ended. What a creative mind to invision such a home and setting.

Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So much to look at, it's hard to take it all in. Tiffany lamps, stained glass windows, collections of all kinds. Beautiful views of the surrounding area. There are lots of uneven paths, stairs/ramps, low ceilings and dark spaces. Plan lots of time to see it all.

Thank kimbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came back after seeing sections 1/2 in May. Had misplaced our 3rd ticket and the cashier generously gave us a complimentary ticket.
We learned we had missed the Halloween tour just the night before, but there were still lots of leftovers from the previous fright fest to keep things interesting.
Section 3 turned out to be just as diverse as sections 1/2. Loved the dollhouses and the 2 additional carousels.
We'll be returning in December for the Xmas house

Thank linareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the most bizarre places you can visit, but you’ll find so many hidden treasures here from the automated musical displays to the magical carousel.

Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some friends loved House on the Rock and suggested we visit it. Since were going to be in the Spring Green area to visit Taliesin, the Frank Lloyd Wright property, we scheduled a few hours to visit House on the Rock. We were a bit underwhelmed, although it was interesting. I would not recommend a special trip to visit it, but if, like we were, you are in the area and have a few extra hours, it is worth seeing.

Thank DonaJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entry fee is steep (30 bucks for the whole place, 15 for just the house) but it's completely worth it. You don't want to just do the house, as while it's interesting, the real amazing crazy parts are the actual collection of stuff in the other buildings. Do it all is my recommendation.
The collection is vast and filled with so many amazing things - a huge organ collection, dolls houses, mini circuses, cars, planes, a whole building of navel paraphernalia...LOADS of crazy cool music making devices and automated mannequin orchestras - or instruments playing themselves.
The story behind it all is also interesting.
You definitely need the time they recommend here- at least 4 hours for the lot, probably 5. Take your phone charger you'll be snapping away pics like crazy.
There is an over priced cafe inside, at around the middle stopping point of everything.

1  Thank Mlerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here probably 50 years ago when it was really just a cool looking house on/in a rock.
Since then they have added so much stuff and other buildings.
Be aware if you have any breathing issues or walking problems, this will be difficult. I agree with the reviewers who feel like they are trapped in there until the end. It's very hard to get out. Most of the floors are uneven and tilt-y. Lots of stairs and ramps.

I also don't think that the original owner/builder of this place really collected all those things that you will see in parts 2 & 3. I think the guy he sold it to added all this stuff on to make it a tourist trap

The collections are crazy, weird and sometimes stupid. My 11 year old grandson loved it. I think kids around that age will like it the best. It's loud and sensory overload. Hard to describe.

I did enjoy seeing the actual living quarters again. I wish they would concentrate on keeping that nice and clean instead of all the other junk.
I also wish I had just spent the $15.00 on the first part and then left.

1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As other reviewers have said, the collections are unbelievable. The builder's interests were as wide as the country the house looks out on. It takes at least three hours to get through all the buildings, and that's a conservative estimate. Even with the benches interspersed throughout, this is a walking marathon, so don't start out late in the day when you're already tired. Also, you won't reach the one diner-style restaurant (it has pizza, hot dogs, and a couple of sandwiches) until you're about halfway through the second building. You're not supposed to bring in any food or beverages, but if you're coming with children, you might want to stick some snack bars in your bag to keep them going until you can stop for lunch.

There is someone to punch your tickets at each building. If you can't make it through all the buildings, you have the option of saving your ticket for the third (or second and third) building and coming back anytime within 12 months to see that building. Just tell the attendant before you enter the building that you're going to save that ticket. He/she won't punch it and will let you exit through an outer door instead. You'll need to circle around to the front to get back to the parking area.

Thank kls468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The House on the Rocks is a must see-for-yourself experience. There are 3 sections. We got through 2 sections and it took a 2.5 hours so we did not make it to section 3 because of limited time. The price goes up with each addition section. We ended up giving your last section tickets away in hopes that the money would not go to waste.

Thank MakWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews