We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique and interesting”
Review of House on the Rock

House on the Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You have to walk on a ramp through the treetops to reach the entrance of this remarkable house, built in the 1940s.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very unique and interesting”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nestled in the wooded hills is a very unique house that is (as the name applies) a house built on a very high rock formation. Back in the 60's only the house was the attraction. Now it includes a vast collection of treasures. You have to see it to beleve it! While in the area see Frank Lloyd Wright's compound and the many arts and crafts stores also in the Spring Green area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happy60319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    308
    174
    92
    70
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Incredible collections that are even hard to categorize. But let me try: dolls, doll houses, toy circuses, model ships, silver, toys etc. Our favorite were the mechanical orchestras. Allow most of the day if you plan on seeing all 3 parts. We spent 5 hours split between two different days and felt like we skimmed the surface. There are two areas to get lunch which helps. We would suggest that you plan to do part 1 and 2 one day and come back a second day for part 3. The ticket sellers can tell you how to split your ticket to use on different days. Put on your walking shoes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Put away a whole day!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

THere is a reason the admission is so hi, it takes an entire day to go thru the place. The house is cool but the collections of toys, dolls, musical jukeboxes in beyond what most can comrehend!

Helpful?
Thank Skiman53528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This attraction is kind of far from most Wisconsin attractions, although, it is close to Frank Lloyd Wright's house. While it may take time to visit it, it is worth the trip. It was amazing to see what all one person collected in his lifetime. The house built up on a side of a cliff would have been enough to see, but the thousands of collections of everything almost makes it overwhelming. There is a large merry go round with animals instead of horses in one room. All the horses were all over the walls. Dolls, miniature houses, guns, cars, organs/pianos, you name it there is a collection of it. The house has several rooms, my favorite was the room with a bridge suspended beyond the side of the cliff. Definitely worth the time to go. There was a charge to get in --can't remember the price, but apparently I thought it was worth it or I would have remembered otherwise!!! People were real nice, lots of large, clean restrooms throughout the large attraction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pat44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exciting stop”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped for a short visit, and ended up spending most of the day. I am telling everyone I know about this intriquing house with all the collections. I love music boxes, and getting to use tokens to play these life size music boxes was a real treat. We will go back if we are up in Wisconsin again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House on the Rock also viewed

 

Been to House on the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing