We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First sign of spring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spooner
Certificate of Excellence
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First sign of spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Winnipeg on our way to Windsor, Ontario. There may have been snow on the ground but the view of the river from their breakfast room was enough to announce that spring is coming. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast included the traditional biscuits and gravy ( which I do not like) but had a good assortment of breads to make toast. The apple/cinnamon bread was great. Their continental breakfast includes cereals, fruits, yogurts, hard boiled eggs as well as the aforementioned biscuits and gravy, and a variety of fresh breads. Good price and a nice relaxing overnight for the travellor.

Room Tip: I never noticed the river until the following morning, perhaps there are rooms with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    51
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
95
54
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poynette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We found the rooms to be clean, the beds comfortable, nice flat screen TVs and the adjustable shower heads were great. The pillows although clean were a bit soft and small. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was good and the breakfast area clean and well attended. The breakfast room even has an outdoor deck, but we were not visiting at the right time of year to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucky5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. Its people like you who make our jobs keeping our hotels at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got the Suite and it was very nice with Flat Screen TVs and a full kitchen. The breakfast was great and you could make fresh waffles.Yummy. The staff was great and very helpful. It was a slow weekend so we had almost the whole hotel to ourselves. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and video games. And there was a good restaurant called the Pour House close by with great food service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and 5 star rating about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words, and your strong recommendation means a great deal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Spooner while skiing the Birkebeiner ski race. The staff was great and also provided a waxing station for the skiers to use. The pool was warm and clean, the complimentary breakfast was good and the experience was good all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeacayII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments. I'm glad you had a good time here, and hope you enjoyed yourself during the race, too. That is quite the event, and we are always happy to do whatever we can to make sure our guests are able to enjoy themselves while they are with us. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked lodging at this hotel at the last minute due to a funeral. They were very gracious; offered a bereavement rate. As it turned out, most of the family from away stayed here. The reservations staff was incredible. James, the evening front desk employee was very accomodating and helpful; as were the day shift staff. The facility is clean and quiet. Their breakfast was great and the breakfast room clean. We were allowed to use it for a take in meal with our family that stayed there.
If you travels take you to Spooner, Wisconsin --- stay there! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Please accept my condolences for your loss. I am glad we were able to accommodate you and your family, and to provide space for your to spend time together while you were here. I hope you will visit Spooner sometime under less sad circumstances, and that you will let us serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family, including my brother-in-law and his family, were in town for a funeral and had booked 3 rooms at this hotel. It was very comfortable, clean and the staff was really friendly and accomodating. They even helped us find the perfect restaurant for dinner. I not only suggest staying here, I would definitely stay here again if in town.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slafae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write and post your review. I'm sorry for your recent loss, and offer my sincere condolences. I'm glad you were able to relax and find comfort here, and really appreciate your strong recommendation. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Best Western American Heritage Inn in Spooner, WI while my son participated in a hockey tournament at the Spooner Ice House. I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I have stayed in my share of "not so nice" hotels in small towns during our hockey travels....but not this one! Hotel is well maintained and staffed with friendly, helpful employees. Rooms, although a bit on the small side, are very clean and appear to have been recently updated. Beds and pillows were comfy and hotel was quiet. For a nice little bonus, our room overlooked a river behind the hotel....great view! Overall, a great stay and a great bargain! Highly recommend:)

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel overlook river...great, peaceful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. Pleasant surprises are the best kind, and we really appreciate your kind words about our service and accommodations. I hope your tournament went well, and that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spooner
6.5 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
23.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
15.0 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
24.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
23.2 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace

Property: BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace
Address: 101 W Maple St, Spooner, WI 54801-1433 (Formerly BEST WESTERN American Heritage Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spooner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spooner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing