We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“-24 degree morning but Great Stay”
Review of Green Acres Motel

Green Acres Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spooner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Acres Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Spooner
Atlanta, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“-24 degree morning but Great Stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a couple hundred mile drive and a suggestion from a good friend that owns the Wisconsin Great Northern Railroad, I stayed at Green Acres.
Great room, comfortable bed and good rate. Plus, warming up the Jeep I was greeted with the host reminding me to get some coffee before I left.
Great place@!
AtlantaYeti

Room Tip: Room six had a good internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AtlantaYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This motel had a lot of space for all of our luggage, and the bathroom was adequate. It was easy to find - right off the main highway, but was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, we had WiFi, color TV, phone in the room, excellent maid service, ice, coffee and everything else you could ask for. The price was very reasonable.

The owners/operators were very helpful and friendly, and the location was perfect - right on the south edge of town. There was a Shopko and large grocery store within walking distance, and a Laundromat, car wash, and restaurants were just down the road.

My mother and I stayed for 3 nights and will definitely go back when we visit Wisconsin again.

Jan and Jeane
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank IdahoJan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stopped to get a room late at night very tired the price was well over a hundred dollars I gave in and paid it because we were so tired biggest mistake of my life , the room was so musty and smelly we could not even stay there we ended up taking our stuff and going to another small motel in town

Room Tip: Always look at the rooms before you pay otherwise you will just be out the 2nd motel was a million t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pulled into this motel on Saturday, July 27, 2013. I frequently stay at local non-chain hotels. Old rooms that are clean are fine. I went in to inquire about the room availability, and was told he had 1 room left, at a rate of $129 plus tax. This is an OLD motel. I went out to ask my husband about the rate, and we were tired, so we took the room. $143 for a MUSTY, old room. No coffee maker available in the room. Elsewhere, and probably any other weekend, this was a $60 room. They owners were friendly, hence the 2 stars. I won't stay here again . . .i understand this is not the "normal" Saturday night rate for 2 people . . .few rooms were available and they took advantage. Disapointing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gann1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The desk clerk at The Best Western sent us over to Green Acres when the had no vacancies and I am glad they did! Green Acres is a nice Mom & Pop motel just outside of Spooner. It is an older motel but is clean and comfortable and is run by friendly folks. It has all the basic amenities and was a pleasure to stay at. I would definately would go back there if I was in te area.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MarieC920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Out dated, but clean and honest. Ended up here after a horrible experience at America's Best Inn and Suites in Shell Lake. DO NOT STAY THERE! The people who run this establishment are nice, honest and everything an owner should be.

Room Tip: As long as it is not at any of the America's Best Inn and Suites in WI, you should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paigerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Exploring northern Wisconsin led us to a gem of a find at Green Acres Motel. Owners, Dave & Margaret Miller, were both welcoming & thoughtful with their suggestions & directions to many terrific family adventures....even a rock collector/expert which delighted our sons. Not only is the motel conveniently located to tons of outdoor fun and nature related activities but there are wonderful side trips for good dining experiences. Most importantly, however, nothing beats waking up from a great nights sleep when on vacation. Maybe we'll come in the early fall to see more deer, bears, and the birds migrating. Or maybe for all the winter sports. Great motel, and area for couples or families.The hospitality we received and the clean, comfortable, quiet rooms will bring us back to Green Acres again and again. Everyone in the family agrees on that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spooner
1.1 mi away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
5.4 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
15.7 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
24.6 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
329 reviews
24.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Motel

Property: Green Acres Motel
Address: N4809 Highway 63, Spooner, WI 54801-8675
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spooner
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Spooner
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acres Motel is a family owned and operated motel, conveniently located one mile south of Highway 70 on Highway 63, just down the road from beautiful, historic, Spooner, WI. We offer 21 individually decorated, clean, quiet, comfortable, “drive to your door” rooms with your choice of beds that include cable TV, refrigerators, microwaves, and individually controlled heat and air conditioning. In addition, we offer over an acre of convenient parking for large trucks, boats, ATV’s, Snowmobiles or most anything else you may have discovered following you on your way to Spooner. We sincerely invite you to come enjoy our many annual events, visit friends and family or just take a nice, relaxing break during your journey. Feel free to take advantage of our location on one of Washburn County’s most beautiful ATV/Snowmobile trails, our no-charge freezer service for storing your fresh caught fish as well as our fresh morning coffee and free Wi-Fi. All on four beautiful acres with outdoor seasonal seating right outside your room. We are blessed with great restaurants and shopping nearby and sincerely welcome your visit to Green Acres Motel where your complete satisfaction is and will always remain our Number One Goal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Acres Hotel Spooner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing