We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 TVs and a really great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Read many reviews of hotels in about a 40 mile radius and for the money this looked like the best. I was very pleased. Excellent and big breakfast, quiet rooms. And oh yes, my room had 3 TVs. I didn't turn them on but wow, 3.
My advice, don't put the extra $10 for the whirlpool room. Not worth it at all. But everything else I was very happy with. Btw, the pool area was one of the nicest I've seen for kids. Bummed mine weren't with me. I stay in 4-5 star hotels all the time in downtown Chicago so I expect a lot generally, this was "worth it" purchase.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Drumkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank-You for staying with us and for such a kind review. We receive a lot of compliments on our pool area, it truly is a great place for the kids. Hopefully you will stay with us again and bring your family next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 264 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As luck would have it, i came down with the flu on my way out to Wisconsin. I ended up staying an extra night to rest up. Everything was exceptional except for the scrambled eggs. I was afraid to try them because they didn't look fresh, but I had also not been down first thing after breakfast opened either. Staff was very pleasant! I would definately stay here again and I have also stayed here before this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

I am glad you got some much needed rest at the hotel, I sure hope you are feeling better. Thank-you for the input on the scrambled eggs, I spoke with our breakfast attendants about your review and they assured me they would follow through on making sure everything looks fresh and appealing. Thank-You for such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DKNY21
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Extremely comfortable pillow top beds, clean and bright room, clean pool and pool area with comfortable chairs/lounges, quiet and away from trafic, and fabuous complimentary breakfast which included make your waffle, hot scrambled eggs, hot and freshly made bacon, great sausages, fruit, dairy products, juices, very good coffee. Breakfast attendant in the room assisting and cleaning. The breakfast room was nicely decorated with a fire place. What more could you want!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

I am glad you had a great stay with us. I always share the reviews with the staff, they will enjoy your comments. They actually really enjoyed decorating for the holidays and the breakfast area turned out beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Finding the motel was easy. Got to motel and a very friendly desk person helped right away. Rooms where clean and comfortable. Had a nice pool, and hot tub. And best thing was the brewsky's on site.

AH

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ALAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank-You for such a nice review, I will share your review with the whole staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Best Western Plus in Sparta was an excellent choice for us for a fall get away. There were no rooms available in La Crosse because of Octoberfest but it was a very quick drive to that area for everything we wanted to do. This hotel was very clean, the room was very spacious, it was very quiet even though the hotel was filled the second night, and the staff was very accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank- you for writing such a favorable review for you recent stay, your comments will be shared with all staff. They always appreciate hearing that they are doing a good job. Thank- You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

...appears new and well decorated. I'm not sure why we had such a different experience than others reviewing this hotel, but our room appeared very dusty and not vacuumed. Scum and dust noted on bathroom shelves and hair dryer. The sheets had stains and did not smell fresh. Breakfast was fair...fake eggs and not many healthy options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k5_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. I am sorry we fell short on your expectations during your stay. We usually score very high on the cleanliness of our hotel and rooms, so I assure this is not the norm. I have posted your review in the break area for all employees to read with a reminder that we need to be on our game everyday to insure total guest satisfaction. Hopefully in the future you will give us another chance at earning your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sparta, WI
16 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
17.5 mi away
Three Bears Resort
Three Bears Resort
#1 of 1 in Warrens
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
453 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Tomah Hotel
14.2 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge

Address: 4445 Theater Rd, Sparta, WI 54656-5410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range: $87 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's something for everyone at this Sparta, WI hotel, close to bicycling trails, winter sports, festivals and the Fort McCoy Army Base. The Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge is an ideal destination for the business and leisure traveler alike. Sparta and the surrounding areas are the outdoor lover's dream. Known as the Bicycling Capital of America, Sparta is a hub for four state biking trails spanning more than 100 miles. In the winter months, guests can enjoy skiing at the nearby Whitetail Ski Area and 265 miles of snowmobiling trails throughout Monroe County. This Sparta hotel is also close to bowling tournaments, hiking, golfing, hunting and fishing, as well as seasonal festivals like the Butterfest, Cranberry Festival and Octoberfest. And, of course, what visit to Sparta is complete without seeing the world's largest bike? Corporate travelers appreciate that this Sparta hotel is close to local businesses, such as Matthews® Solocam®, Century Foods International and McPherson Guitars. We are also the closest hotel to Fort McCoy Army Base, located just two miles away. And if you are looking for a meeting and event facility in Sparta, the Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or smaller events. This Wisconsin Best Western hotel offers amenities that make our guests feel right at home. We offer well-appointed standard guest rooms, business suites and kitchenette suites, all featuring cable satellite TV, a microwave and refrigerator. Our guests start their day with a complimentary full breakfast, and have the option of enjoying dinner and drinks at our onsite restaurant, Brewski's Pub & Grill. For family-friendly fun, take advantage of our three pools, including a kiddie pool with alligator slide, and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sparta Trail Hotel Sparta
Sparta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing