We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed for two nights. The staff was very pleasant. That being said, the refrigerator froze everything I had in it. The hair dryer didn't work. The sidewalks hadn't been properly shoveled. I did wipe off some of the surfaces which were not clean. Otherwise, the room was fairly clean. It was very quiet. Again, the staff was very pleasant. I also appreciated having the newspapers.

Room Tip: It wasn't busy so any room would be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are sorry to hear that everything was less than perfect during your stay with us. We always strive to make every stay as comfortable as possible and hope that next time you are in our area we can have another chance to have you stay with us. Thanks for visiting us in Sparta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were snowmobiling and stopped for the night. Hotel right off the trail. Hotel was clean and inviting. Staff was super accommodating. Rooms were cozy, clean and beds were comfortable. They have a bar and a nice pool, hot tub. The breakfast was good. The hotel was very quiet and that is impressive considering it was full due to a hockey tournament so lots of kids around. If your staying in Sparta or the surrounding area I would strongly suggest this place you won'g be disappointed. Good place for kids too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanieraegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank yo for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We hope to see you on the snowmobile trails in our area again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights while on business. Not a lot of choices in Sparta, WI but this place is probably in the top choices you have. I would say it is a solid mid-level type place to stay. If you want luxury you should keep driving, if you need a fairly priced, safe and clean hotel with great people and clean rooms stay here. It is right off I-90 so it is convenient to get around the area. Several places to eat close by and it is about a 30 min drive to the La Crosse airport. I stayed here in the dead of winter and the room was very comfortable, nice bed and real quiet, no issues with anything really. You have free internet, breakfast, they have an indoor pool and lounge. Nice little desk area in the room if you need to work and there was a flat screen TV, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room they also had free coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balucanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We always try to make our business travelers feel comfortable in our hotel as their home away from home. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here in November because we were doing a half-marathon in a neighboring town. The room was nice. It was big, with comfortable beds, a fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was a little small, but the sink was outside, so that was fine. It was quiet and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was nice with lots of options. We didn't partake of much since we were racing in a couple of hours, but there was an waffle iron, cold cereals, muffins, fruit, toast, etc. The only drawback was the hot tub. We tried to soak out some sore muscles, but the water wasn't hot...not even as hot as a regular bath. The kids loved the pool though. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom2Grlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you that any issues we may have had with the hot tub have been resolved and it will be warm and waiting for your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we stayed the weekend (Labor Day), of course, to bike. Compliments to the staff, helpful & friendly. the rooms were clean and comfortable. breakfast..good, plenty to eat and thank you for having the coffee on all the time! we took advantage of the pool and the hot tub, felt good after a good bike ride. we will, hopefully, be back later this fall. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM02959, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My son and I are driving from Washington State to Pennsylvania. Using reviews and a booking app we found this pleasant place. Right off I-90. Next to a gas station and restaurant and other conveniences.
I'd stay again. No complaints. Great friendly (Brenda checked us in) service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVWagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM02959, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your hosts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here two nights while exploring the Sparta-Elroy trail. Staff was helpful and friendly, room was clean. We had a king size bed, and the room seemed just a bit small for the bed. We stored our two bicycles in the room one day and it was a bit tight, but manageable.

The all important factors were met: quiet for sleeping, comfortable bed, ample sized bathroom with adequate hot water in the shower, room was clean.

Structurally speaking, the facility seemed to have been built to just barely meet code (which is never a good idea). The stairs creaked loudly, and the floors were a bit noisy. This didn't become a problem, but when you aren't staying at a cheap hotel, you expect a better built facility.

One thing that I really liked was that the door closers on the room and hallway doors were the best I have seen. They close reasonably fast, but at the last part of closing then slow down quite effectively and end up closing very quietly. This is so nice because it makes peoples movements much quieter. Too many hotels have door closers that loudly announce each closing - but not here.

For the first day, the breakfast was adequate, but not wonderful. The second day was disappointing. We got there towards the end and things were looking neglected. The far-too-small garbage cans were overflowing, some items were running low or depleted. For hot food, the three selections were: 1: sausages, 2: sausages, 3: sausage gravy (for biscuits). Worst variety of hot food selection that I have experienced. What if you don't eat sausage, like me (and perhaps a number of other cyclists)? The idea of three sections in the warmer is to have three different items, not identical ones or very slight variations. A failing grade for planning here.

The only hot food option was waffles (or toast, I suppose, but that was running low too). The syrup was wiped out, however. We ended up eating a little bit that we could scavenge and going elsewhere to really eat. This reduced the value and "restaurant" aspects for me.

Nevertheless, overall our stay was decent, so I can't give a poor rating overall. If they give attention to their breakfast offering, it will improve things considerably.

It was fun seeing folks that we had met on the bike trail back at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM02959, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for your comments Sparta is a great place to enjoy the bike trails anytime of the year. Our breakfast typically consists of three different hot items as well as waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, bagels, donuts and muffins, coffee, juice, milk, and oatmeal. We invite you to come back and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
23 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
23.1 mi away
Gundersen Hotel & Suites
Gundersen Hotel & Suites
#9 of 20 in La Crosse
19 reviews
23 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Address: 737 Avon Rd, Sparta, WI 54656-9344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range: $77 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sparta
Sparta Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing