We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Every Bite”
Review of Slice of Chicago

Slice of Chicago
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: I'd like to review this excellent pizza restaurant in Sparta, WI. Sparta is a tourist destination for biking, and this is one of the best restaurants in town. My entire group LOVED it when we ate there over the weekend. One person said it was the best pizza she had ever eaten.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved Every Bite”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This business is in a house so it was a little difficult to find. You MUST check out this place!!! We had the deep dish pizza and loved every bite! We have several good italian restaurants in our area but this place definately gives them a run for their money! The prices were very reasonable and the service was excellant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanine_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

although the interior isn't super appealing the hostess/owner makes up for it. the anti salad with homemade dressing was great as was the pizza. dont be fooled by the exterior....it is excellent

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly and delicious”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you want some fantastic pizza, this is the place! The antipasto salad is wonderful, too. Service is fast and friendly, price is great, and carryout is available, too. Locals and visitors seem to love this place, as it is hopping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good pizza, not quite Chicago”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Service was great, food was good. This is a converted house, so the dining area is "cozy" and the parking is, well, what do you expect from a former residence-now-restaurant. When the cook runs the dough roller, the dining area gets rather noisy (it would be good if they could isolate that machine).

Having eaten various Chicago pizza variations frequently my entire life, I didn't feel like I was eating a pizza from Chicago. It was, however, good pizza, a bit heavier on the oil than I prefer.

For an appetizer, we had breadsticks and pizza sauce. They were very generous with the sauce and gave us extra for the pizza. This was handy, because the pizza was a bit too light on the sauce for my taste.

Given the options for dining in Sparta, this place is at the top of the list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best turnover around!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a local favorite for us. We have been eating at Slice since Len and Barb opened back in the day. Sad when they sold it, but the new owners are carrying on the tradition. The best thing on the menu is the Sparta Turnover. It's basically a big calzone. You can fill it with anything you like for toppings. From thin crust to deep dish its all good. If you eat in you can get frosted mugs for your drinks. Its a must stop in Sparta!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Slice of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing