We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Justin Trails Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sparta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Justin Trails Resort
Save
You added Justin Trails Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Perfect get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Justin Trails was a perfect spot for a weekend get away. Our time was filled with skiing, tubing and snow shoeing. I'm gluten free and that was no problem for Donna. I felt very cared for and didn't feel like I was a bother. Everything was clean and ready for us. We also really appreciated the selection of games, books and movies in the lodge. We highly recommend Justin Trails and the hospitality of Don and Donna!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thanks for the sweet review. Caring for special diets is easy as we eat gluten and dairy free, but have muffins and scones baked with regular flour as well. Bacon served on the side is a hit with most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    12
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
33
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Both Don & Donna made our stay most enjoyable! Accommadations were comfortable! Nice to have a choice of either log cabin or main house lodging! Rooms are clean and breakfasts tasty! Great retreat for families or couples! Wide range of activties for summer or winter months. Price is very reasonable! Been to B&B's before, & if you expect all the extras and modern luxuries then you would be spending $200-$250 a night. Loved the hot tubs for their roominess in the suites. Tastefully decorated! Would rate this B&B a 4.5 I like all the extras and my husband likes the outdoor experience.

Room Tip: I like the suites in the main house, but my husband would rather be in a log cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethJ484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
I'm happy to know that you had a great time enjoying the outdoors and the lodging. Time spent outdoors is a great way to clear the head and see life in a new perspective! Don & I look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband & I had fun weekend at Justin Trails recently. This was our first stay & found our room well decorated, comfortable sleep number bed, big bathroom, new TV & many other amenities to make our stay especially pleasant. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious with granola, eggs, thick cut bacon, & my favorite tea! We didn't eat again till dinner. Would definitely like to return!
Also got lots of excerise on snow shoes. Trails for skiing & tubing were great, too

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Don & I appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We just went snowshoeing at this resort and it was a blast! They offered snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and tubing. The trails were well maintained, prices were very reasonable, and the views were lovely. I will be bringing the kids back for tubing and try talking my husband into skiing! Loved it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mom2Grlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
I will share your positive comments with my husband, Don Justin, who a 30 year veteran of trail grooming here at Justin Trails Resort. We look forward to your return visits. I provide ski lessons
for guests new to the sport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a wonderful one-night getaway to Justin Trails. We stayed in the Little House on the Prairie cabin. The owners were out-of-state, but we were greeted warmly by the woman keeping the inn during their absence. We found the cabin to be a good size for the two of us.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is very good. The selection of skiing and snowshoeing gear available for use by guests exceeded our expectations. The highlight of our time at the lodge was our snowshoe trek to "the rock". The trail was very well-marked, perfect level of difficulty, and offered spectacular views. The grounds are very well maintained; it was obvious to us that a great deal of time and energy is invested into this resort.

Our only regret is that we had to come back after one night. We look forward to returning during other seasons, and bringing our sons in upcoming winters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
It gives Don and me great pleasure to share our property with its great views with guests. This has been a labor of love to convert a dairy farm to a resort to allow us to continue to live on this beautiful third generation family property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A month ago, in December, we rented Justin's Trails for a WEDDING weekend. We rented the B&B rooms and cabins for the wedding party and immediate families. We also rented the beautiful nostalgic Barn and held the wedding and reception in it. We held the wedding in the upstairs loft. And the reception/dance in the heated lower level of the barn. With some decorating with lighting and 5 country chandeliers (from eventdecordirect.com) plus with the help from superb local venues (table/chair rental, caterer, florist - all delivered!... It turned out to be a beautiful spectacular wedding for 100-130 people. It was exactly what the couple wanted. And the owners of Justin's Trails Resort - were over-the-top accommodative-very nice people. What made it extra memorable was that it was a group effort. And it gave the 2 families a chance to decorate and get to know one another, the day before the wedding. And the nostalgic atmosphere of The Justin Trails Barn - offered a welcoming warm feeling - people had a great time together! Again, thank you - Donna, Don, and Dawn for all your help. It couldn't have gone better. Thank you!

Room Tip: Charming country farm - Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful renovated farm house plus log cabins larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Justin Trails is a wonderful B&B. We have stayed there on several occasions, the most recent being this January. Donna and Don Justin are wonderful hosts and even provide cross-country skiing lessons! The rooms are well appointed - the one we stayed in had a fireplace, hot tub, microwave, and an amazingly comfortable king-sized bed. The Justin Trails property is a jewel. Guests can cross-country ski, snowshoe and sled in the winter and play disc golf and hike the other seasons. Bird watching and lovely views of the countryside are available all year round. We always look forward to breakfast (which includes delicious homemade granola -- you'll want to purchase a bag to take home) and vising with other guests. If you are looking for a country getaway, Justin Trails is just the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2trvl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
20.4 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Three Bears Resort
Three Bears Resort
#1 of 1 in Warrens
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
20.2 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Property: Justin Trails Resort
Address: 7452 Kathryn Ave, Sparta, WI 54656-3697
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justin Trails Resort is an eco-luxury getaway offering day trips, camping, bed and breakfast suites and cabins in Wisconsin. We are the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing getaway from city life, and we host beautiful Wisconsin barn weddings May through October. Our Sparta, Wisconsin bed and breakfast is family and pet friendly, and our accommodations offer great amenities, including private decks, Whirlpool tubs and cozy fireplaces. A farm to table breakfast is also included with all our lodging. Our 200 acre farm and resort offers unlimited options for outdoor fun! We've created recreational trails through woodlands and meadows for hiking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. We also have two championship disc golf courses, and a great sledding hill during the winter. Plan your escape today to our Certified Travel Green Wisconsin Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing