We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun in the Snow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Justin Trails Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun in the Snow”
Reviewed February 6, 2008

My mom and I just spent a couple of days playing in the snow at Justin Trails. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was lovely, had an enclosed porch, and a two-sink bathroom. Nice! We wanted to try out cross-country skiing and snowshoeing, both of which we had NEVER done before. But that wasn't a big deal at all...we got a great cross-country lesson from one of the staff (thank you Dave!!) who took us along one of the beginner trails, and we were well on our way. We definitely expect to go cross-country skiing again. Later that day we took some tubes up the tubing hill...bit of a climb but well worth it for the 30-seconds of adrenaline-pumping fun on your way down. We did it a couple of times. Next day, after a fabulous breakfast, we headed out on a snowshoeing hike. More challenging than regular hiking, and we loved it! They have quite a few trails to choose from. Very pretty landscape, even in the winter - lots of hills, and you get a sense of how big the place is which you wouldn't get once all the leaves have filled in on the trees. This is a great place to try out these winter sports -- they have all the gear, the know-how, and all the action is literally right outside the door to your suite/cabin. It was well worth the 5-hour drive from home. --Jessica, Normal, Illinois

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Curly61761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    14
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
36
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We have just spent a wonderful two night stay at Justin Trails Resort in Sparta Wisconsin and it was everything and more than we expected. Our hosts Don and Donna made us feel right at home. The accommodations were top notch and the breakfasts were delicious and nutritious and filled us up to overflowing. Their homemade granola was especially yummy. We wanted to do something very special for our mom/mom-in-law to celebrate her birthday and this definitely fit the bill. She had a great time and she felt like she was treated like a queen. We also liked the fact that Justin Trails permitted pets, as we travel everywhere with our Cocker Spaniel. She especially liked the pet llamas that are part of the resort. And of course all the space to walk and sniff new smells. We definitely plan on visiting again and trying out some of the many x-country ski trails they have and maybe even try snow shoeing and tubing down their nice big hill. They are an exceptional B&B resort and encourage others to getaway, relax and play there.

  • Liked — Plenty of space for either a couple or family, we had three adults and more than enough room. Plus it was quiet, peaceful and great views.
  • Disliked — Can't think of one thing.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scooterpieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Winter in Wisconsin is best spent outdoors having fun, and that's what we had at Justin Trails. An overnight snow had left a few inches of fluffy powder on trees and ground already covered with a deep base. The outdoors called to us. Before heading out, we downed Donna's delicious breakfast of granola, yogurt, cranberry compote, muffins, french toast made with wild rice bread. We remembered that old Norwegian saying that we used to tease our kids, "There's no bad weather, just inappropriate clothing" and bundled ourselves in lots of woolly layers. Justin Trails has snowshoe trails and snowshoes, cross-country ski trails and skis, coulee hills with grand views on top, a fabulous sledding hill and tubes to slide on, huskies to hike and sled with, and llamas to visit and whisper to. Skiers can opt for skijoring, where you're towed by a harnessed Husky. After rocketing down the sledding hill with Heidi the Husky racing alongside, I wished our now-grown kids could have been there too. They would have loved the sledding as much as we did. And who could resist he soft noses of the llamas? (Pete the goat hid shyly in his hay-carpeted shelter.) One last important note: the Garden Suite has a fantastic bed.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank carman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Log cabin, gas fire, warm tub, miles of snowshoe and ski trails just out the front door, a GIANT sledding hill, llamas, delicious breakfast...what isn't to love at Justin Trails. We stayed two nights in the cozy Little House on the Prairie. Everything was sparkling clean and Don and Donna made us feel more than comfortable. Even though the place was full, be felt like we were the only ones there--it was so quiet and relaxing. We will go back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2007

My husband and I have stayed twice at Justin Trails, Resort and Bed and Breakfast, celebrating our anniversary. This is a perfect getaway! We are dairy farmers and truly appreciate the beauty of the rolling hills and the cabins nestled on the farm property next to the renovated farm house. Don and Donna provide a welcoming environment with a marvelous home prepared breakfast in your cabin or in the warm "barn restaurant" . We have stayed in the fall and winter seasons and both provided wonderful respite with the cozy cabin for two and the warm jacuzzi loft.
Bravo to Donna and Don who have kept the flavor of sustainable agriculture alive while providing a marvelous getaway for couples or small families.
Trish and Bert

  • Liked — Beautiful relaxing setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2007

After all the mad, last-minute wedding planning, we just wanted to find a quiet spot to get away - and we found it at Justin Trails! This little B&B has it all - a great assortment of differently themed rooms, fantastic breakfast, and 200 acres of peaceful Wisconsin countryside. Donna and Don treated us very well - giving us as much privacy as we wanted, while at the same time ready to offer whatever assistance we needed. My bride and I stayed in the Paul Bunyan lodge, an airy two-story cabin with a whirlpool on the second story - it was perfect for a newly married couple wanting space to fool around. The lodge had a clean, rustic look and feel, while at the same time offering ammenities such as two showers, a whirlpool, and satellite TV. We would definitely recommend Justin Trails to anyone looking for a quiet, rustic getaway!

  • Liked — Absolute Privacy
  • Disliked — Local Restaurant Selection
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PubliusScipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2007

A marvelous little get-away nestled behind a corn field. A little rustic, but innkeepers are friendly and very, very knowledgeable about interesting places in the greater LaCrosse/Sparta area. The airbed in the Garden Suite is marvelous for a couple who can't agree on exactly how firm a matress should be. This is not the place for someone looking for lace curtins, three-egg omelets with exotic hand-harvested mushrooms, and a whiff of violet potpourri. But if you love the country and fresh clean air, it's great.

  • Liked — The country setting and accommodations. Very peaceful.
  • Disliked — Poor cell phone reception.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OldSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
14.8 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
20.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
20.5 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Property: Justin Trails Resort
Address: 7452 Kathryn Ave, Sparta, WI 54656-3697
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justin Trails Resort is an eco-luxury getaway offering day trips, camping, bed and breakfast suites and log cabins in Wisconsin. We are the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing getaway from city life, and we host beautiful Wisconsin Elegant Barn Weddings May through October. Our Sparta, Wisconsin bed and breakfast is family and pet friendly ($25/pet/day). Accommodations offer great amenities, including private decks, Whirlpool tubs and cozy fireplaces. A farm-to-table breakfast is included with lodging. Our 200 acre farm and resort offers unlimited options for outdoor fun! We've created recreational trails through woodlands and meadows for hiking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. We also have two championship disc golf courses and great sledding hills during the winter. Plan your escape today to our Certified Travel Green Wisconsin Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Justin Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing