We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I rode from Elroy-Sparta (through the rain) and couldn't have been happier to have the Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast there to welcome us at the end of our journey. The house is historic, the service friendly, and the breakfast was the best I've ever had at a B&B. You won't be disappointed!

p.s. They have a "bike barn" to store your bikes overnight!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collinhas2lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeKing, Owner at Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a nice reivew of your stay with us here at the Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast. We are happy you have a wonderful stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife booked a murder mystery stay for 8 of us and we had an EXCELLENT time. The house is imaculate, the breakfast incredible. We are already planning a return trip in order to ride the Sparta - La Crosse bike trail.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeKing, Owner at Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

It was a great time and you were wonderful guests for a Murder Mystery weekend. I keep thinking of the great time and great laughs. Thank you for your kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I wanted to give my husband a memorable and special birthday, and I couldn't have chosen a better experience. My parents and their friends had booked a "Murder Mystery Weekend" package many years ago. When I asked them if they would recommend this, they said yes, but were surprisingly... uninformative. I realize now that it was because they didn't want to share too much information! And I'm glad they didn't. I was immediately struck by how beautifully decorated, clean, and gorgeous the house was on the outside, and even more awestruck by the interior... the gorgeous stained glass, romantically decorated and very spacious rooms. It even smelled warm and 'homey'. There was not one detail missed... from the decorative glassware filled with chocolates in every room (even the bathroom!) to the rubber duck, robes, slippers for the jacuzzi. I realized that I had brought so much more than I really needed to... I had brought drinks for everyone, of course, but didn't need the three coolers I brought along (there was a refrigerator provided) or extra glassware (there was every type of glassware imaginable for us) or the corkscrew (obviously), or snacks (there was fruit snacks, chocolates, cookies, tea, coffee, hot chocolate with marshmallows, too much more to mention). Mrs. and Mr. Dunn were very polite and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Everyone had an absolute blast! I have to admit, I was afraid that everyone would be sitting around in silly costumes in silence not knowing what to say to each other, but I couldn't have been more wrong. In fact, everyone couldn't wait to share more about their character! And the food was absolutely incredible. The best word I can use to describe the meals is "rich". Also, I wanted to make this weekend more personable by making birthday cupcakes for everyone, Mrs. Dunn was happy to oblige. She presented them on beautiful plates and even added some ice cream, too. Everyone (meaning my husband's brother and sisters and their wives/husbands) will be talking about this for years. Thank you very much, Mrs. and Mr. Dunn. We will be making arrangements to come back this September.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaMcNeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeKing, Owner at Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to write this wonderful review of your stay with us during the Murder Msytery weekend. It was like you said ALOT of fun and it was great being your hostess for the weekend. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Franklin Victorian B&B is a wonderfully romantic B&B. We loved the robe & slippers, chocolate candies, luxurious linens, fireplace and the table for two in the room..we wished we had stayed longer....we will definitely return next year. The breakfast was terrific!! Loved the chocolate chip cookies!

Room Tip: We stayed in the master suite, it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A warm welcoming from Jennifer. Beautiful home. Rooms are comfy and wonderful. Cookies, drinks and sweet treats are always available and popcorn at night. Breakfast was delicious. It is the little things that count and Jennifer had it all. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamayoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We've stayed at many B&B's over the last few years and this one is nice in many ways, but still lacks friendlyness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeKing, Guest Relations Manager at Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

TLD, Our attention to costumer service is outstanding. Everything our guests need we provide or Jennifer personality makes it happen if informed. We want to provide guests privacy so you can relax enjoy your stay and your time with eachother. Thank you for your review and your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stay here yearly and have for years. The Dunn family welcome all and make you feel like family....maybe even better. The Inn is beautiful with gorgeous rooms, lovely gardens, many amenities, fabulous breakfasts and on and on....too many goodies to mention. The area offers bike trails, a variety of eating places and shops within walking distance and much more. Please add this area to your Wisconsin experience. George and Carol

Room Tip: Check their site for pics and descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank we2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sparta hotels
6.7 mi away
Justin Trails Resort
Justin Trails Resort
#1 of 5 in Sparta
147 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Sparta
Super 8 Sparta
#2 of 4 in Sparta
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sparta, WI
0.6 mi away
Best Nights Inn
Best Nights Inn
#4 of 5 in Sparta
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 220 E Franklin St, Sparta, WI 54656-1804
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range: $155 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-Winning, The Franklin Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn in Sparta, WI, "The Bicycling Capital of America". Come experience a refreshing change from typical hotel lodging. Our inviting accommodations and abiding sense of hospitality promise welcome, rest, and renewal to one and all.Come and ride the Famous Elroy-Sparta Bike Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing