We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Competition = No good”
Review of St. Croix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Croix Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solon Springs
Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is the only hotel on St Croix Lake or within a reasonable distance and this lack of competition means there is no need to do anything to improve the place. It has not been updated in many years, if ever. The sheets were so thin you could read a book through them. I mean that literally because we did. I never heard or saw a vacum cleaner the entire time we were there (three nights). This shold be a last resort place for you to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank St_PaulTravel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

There was nobody at the check-in desk when we arrived. After looking around & waiting for several minutes, we went in to the bar to find the bartender, who turned out to be the check-in clerk. The bar has a nice view of the lake but we couldn't stand to be in there because of all the cigarette smoke. Unfortunately this was also true at breakfast. Skip the "continental breakfast" of donuts & walk 2 blocks to the KD restaurant, which is excellent & very reasonably priced. We had cityside rooms at the St Croix, $70 a night, room was okay but the shower was just terrible.
I always ask about internet access when booking a room, and when I called to book this room, was told there was high-speed wireless. When we arrived, the clerk told us there was no wireless but we could use the ethernet port or the public computer in the lobby. Oddly enough, when we turned on our laptop, it immediately located the St Croix Inn wireless & we connected to it easily throughout our stay. We were in Solon Springs to visit relatives so we might stay here again, but we will definitely keep looking for a friendlier place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank halltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

We stayed at the St. Croix Inn recently. When we arrived, I stood at the lobby desk for at least 10 minutes before someone appeared to help me. It was an okay stay except for the tub and sink both drained very slowly. Not much fun taking a shower and standing in 4 inches of water. Also, when I called to book a room 2 weeks ahead the desk clerk said that only lakeside rooms were available which are more expensive. So we took the lakeside room which was on the 2nd floor. (No elevator) . We met up with some friends the night we stayed there. They needed a place to stay so they called that night and they were told there were plenty of rooms available. They ended up with a 1st floor room - not lakeside which was much cheaper than ours. When we went to check out, no one was available at the lobby desk so we just left the door keys on the counter, I would have liked to tell them about our drainage problem in our room. Not sure if I'll stay there again - if I do I'll be alot smarter and speak up.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gussie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Stayed for one night passing through town. Fills up quickly. Book ahead. Not bad motel. (My mom stay here every year.) Nice staff. Ok rooms. Few amenities. Bring your own shampoo. Bargain price. We paid $76. Most motels in N. WI and MN charge $100+, so this was a bargain. On a lake with boat rental and little swimming beach and dock to jump off. KD's is good for breakfast. White Birch Supper Club is good for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank vakantieherma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Croix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Croix Inn

Address: 11390 South 5th Street, Solon Springs, WI 54873
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Solon Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solon Springs
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — St. Croix Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Croix Inn, in beautiful Solon Springs, WI, is a motel for all seasons located on the shore of Lake St. Croix. We have 32 comfortable air-conditioned & non-smoking guestrooms featuring coffee/tea makers, hair dryers, cable TV, and a telephone. High-speed Internet access is also available. St Croix Inn features a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Recreational amenities include an indoor heated pool, spa and a sauna. This Solon Springs property has event space consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Guest parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Croix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Croix Hotel Solon Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing