We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Lonesome Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I just booked our second winter weeked stay in as many years. Last February we really enjoyed the Inn and the beautiful hollow where its located. A visit here is a nice way to beat the winter doldrums, and made us appreciate how beautiful winter can be away from the snow plows, salt trucks and holiday traffic jams. We stumbled upon a world class ski jump competition in Westby that was remarkable, and found some great little mom and pop businesses throughout the area. We would highly recommend a stay at this fine inn any time of year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
APPLETON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Accomodations were excellent--cozy king size bed and fireplace. View was spectacular on a starry, starry night--no city lights, traffic, noise to disturb! Breakfast was yummy. Hosts congenial.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EensyAppleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The room was very clean and beautifully furnished with Amish furniture. The property was secluded and very well taken care of and had many walking paths. The breakfast served was excellent. If you need a place to get away from the busy life, this is the place to go. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Innkeepers Pete and Nora make sure you are at home in theirs. We stayed in the lovely homestead suite which looks brand new and immaculate! It was a very relaxing and quiet place to spend a long weekend. Nora's breakfast is delicious and everything is homemade. Pete is a wonderful host and helped us find many fun things to do in the area. We highly recommend a visit to the Lonesome Hollow soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marylaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

If anyone wanted a recommendation for a bed and breakfast retreat, this would be the only one I would recommend. Pete and Nora were exceptionally gracious hosts. We were so relaxed and pampered that we are going to find a way to return to this hidden retreat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkletsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful time at the Inn at Lonesome Hollow! The landscape was spectacular, the lodging was clean and decorative and the hospitality was top-notch. Pete and Nora did an absolutely beautiful job creating their bed and breakfast! We had so much fun, and we did not want to leave. At the Inn, you can go hiking and relax by the pond. The new vineyard is a sight to see. At night, make sure to go look at the stars. On a clear night, the sky is completely lit up and absolutely gorgeous. Even if you don't stay in a room at the Inn, make sure you get breakfast by Nora. We had homemade whipped cream and apple French toast. It was to die for! They even have wine and cheese and campfires!

There are tons of things to do around the Inn as well! From fishing to apple picking to canoeing along the Kickapoo River and visiting Amish towns, you can do it all. We would go back right now if we could.

If you want to go on the most relaxing, romantic and scenic getaway, don't pass up the Inn at Lonesome Hollow! It is quite the hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbooth731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is a bed and breakfast, not a hotel. It is a very nice B & B that we would recommend to others who are looking to get out of a typical chain motel and stay in a unique and comfortable place where you can enjoy a delicious breakfast with nice hosts in a beautiful part of Wisconsin.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bicycler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Lonesome Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lonesome Hollow

Property: Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Address: 15415 Vance Rd, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655-7601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is situated on 160 rural acres in Soldiers Grove, a sleepy village located on the Kickapoo River in southwest Wisconsin. The Inn is about a one hour south of La Crosse, Wisconsin and 35 minutes northeast of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. Located in the main inn are three deluxe bedrooms, each with private baths. The Homestead Suites features four guest rooms or can be rented as an entire facility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing