We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful Wilderness Luxury with a Touch of Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Lonesome Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Wilderness Luxury with a Touch of Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Get away from it all with a super gourmet breakfast served by friendly hosts Pete and Nora surrounded by natural landscapes after stargazing in awesomely dark skies the night before. Hint: Don't skip the scones!

I stayed here twice. In late April was when I saw 4 shooting stars ... I'm talking huge ones. That alone made the entire trip worthwhile. If you're a birdwatcher, you'd also really appreciate being here during spring migration, especially if you're into warblers. This is where they hang out. You can observe all kinds of birds, including warblers, right on the property, in the woods lining the road up to the house.

In late June, sunny days and stormy nights made for some excellent landscape photography conditions in the Driftless region of Wisconsin. And Pete and Nora are great with helping plan the best places for you to go for outings to explore the area during the day, based on your personal interests.

All the little towns nearby are really cool to visit with friendly people and nice, down-home restaurants. The city of Viroqua is a haven for artists and a well-stocked food co-op if you're looking for specialty items. I was happy to see the food co-op had my favorite organic apple cider vinegar, since I had forgotten to bring a bottle on the springtime trip.

If I had the opportunity to return in the fall, I would ... Those autumn leaves are gonna be gorgeous!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_phoenix_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a beautiful site! We stayed in a suite away from the main house and it was incredibly serene and private. There wasn't a house to be seen from our location. I'm thinking about this B&B for our next family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage wi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you're looking for a respite, you might want to put this one on your list. Lonesome Hollow has a nice choice of accommodations - from your own cabin w/ screened in porch and grill to the beautifully decorated and soothing bedrooms in the main house that is the B&B to the two bedroom suites at the end of the road that open to a gorgeous lush valley. Any of them will provide you with a welcoming feel and a good launching place to experience the rest of the Kickapoo Valley and Fruit Farm Hill. You'll be glad you made the time for this soothing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nestled in the unexpected hills and valleys of SW Wisconsin Lonesome Hollow is a special place to visit. Pete and Nora have created a beautiful and quiet respite from busy urban and noisy lakefront life. We stayed in the Pine Haven room that is very spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean. It has a large hot tub, gas fireplace, and a stereo CD player to help set an intimate or relaxing mood. In the morning the breakfast of berry french toast, strawberry soup, real maple syrup, and local fresh breakfast sausage was delightful. Coffee and tea are available all day, and there is a community area with a TV, better to be outside enjoying the view, and magazines and books to read.

One of the things we liked best were their commitment to being green, recycling, and keeping things eco-friendly even though Lonesome Hollow is a luxurious place to stay.

We will go back, and encourage you to take the backroads to find it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSchaner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in May, 2013 at The Inn at Lonesome Hollow. I loved this place the moment I stepped out of the car - in the dark - inhaled the sweet fragrance of the springtime valley and heard nothing but the sounds of frogs! Our room was spacious, immaculate, and beautifully decorated. Leaving a life of hectic stress behind, we instantly sank into a weekend of therapeutic peace. We met the next morning with a gasp, as the online pictures did not prepare us for the surprising beauty of the Hollow in the daylight! Our bed was comfortable, but even more so the Amish glider, and we enjoyed both the hot tub and fireplace during our stay. Pete and Nora were gracious hosts, giving us helpful suggestions about area activities, and serving the most sumptuous breakfasts! The kitchenette area provided for guests during the day was an unexpected bonus. Everything about The Inn speaks of the highest quality in accommodations (love those sheets!), offered in a setting of quiet country beauty. We are anxious to return and would enthusiastically recommend it to others - (as long as you're not trying to book at the same time we are!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradyUpdates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is by now unfair. Over these years we have returned to Lonesome Hollow, we have befriended the owners and they us. They know we want that ultra-Upper Homestead Suite over Columbus Day weekend. They know we're likely to make too much noise for our neighbors. But Pete and Nora also know there are hardly any faces we're happier to see all year than theirs. This has gotten way beyond the B&B business, and that's a testament to them, a host and hostess whose hearts are as lovely and welcoming as the land they share with guests of Lonesome Hollow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was the most beautiful, serene B&B we have ever stayed in. It's spacious, emaculately clean,sitting in a pictureous valley. The inn keepers Nora & Pete were amazing hosts. We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights. The breakfasts were served with great style. We hated to leave. I would highly reccomend this B & B.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. They are all beautiful, peacful, with outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLadyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldiers Grove
20.8 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
20.6 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
15.7 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#1 of 3 in Boscobel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
21.5 mi away
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lonesome Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lonesome Hollow

Property: Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Address: 15415 Vance Rd, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655-7601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is situated on 160 rural acres in Soldiers Grove, a sleepy village located on the Kickapoo River in southwest Wisconsin. The Inn is about a one hour south of La Crosse, Wisconsin and 35 minutes northeast of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. Located in the main inn are three deluxe bedrooms, each with private baths. The Homestead Suites features four guest rooms or can be rented as an entire facility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing