We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Gettaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for my Birthday in March 2013. We made last minute reservations, so the best rooms had already been taken. I was disappointed that we wouldn't be in one of the rooms with a hot tub. :( We arrived just around 9pm on Friday night and Nora welcomed us warmly. After a quick tour of the common areas and some tips about our room we were left to settle in. My disappointment about not having a hot tub was nearly washed away by the coziness of the Garden Hideaway. The bathroom was large and had a good shower. I appreciated the arrangement of organic and green soaps and shampoos. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed a bountiful breakfast with the other guests. Pete and Nora were very friendly and considerate. They provided us with tips about the area, offered us snowshoes to trek through the property, showed interest in our lives, and made the 2 night stay very comfortable. We plan to stay there again!

PROS:
- Rooms heated by gas stove
- Plentiful hot water (I took several long and hot showers)
- Green products (toiletries, coffee, organic food)
- Expansive Property with walking trails, gardens, streams
- As you travel there are signs that direct you to the Inn
- Mini fridge in common area with soda and bottled water
- Kitchenette in common area with large fridge to store your own food, wine, etc.
- Coffee Buffet 24/7 with Keurig and selection of K-cups
- Option to rent single room or one of 2 cabins
- Delicious Breakfasts served at 9am upstairs (just ask about food restrictions, allergies, they are very considerate and helpful!)

CONS:
- WiFi is available, but it is pretty shaky, even inside the main house
- Common area is pretty small: One table with 3-4 chairs, 2 rocking chairs near TV, and coffee buffet are all squeezed into one the entrance area.
- Gas stove in the room is controlled by thermostat, so I woke up every time it kicked on to heat the room in the night. :(
- The Inn is located in the middle of the Driftless (read very hilly) area of SW Wisconsin. Therefore, most of the places you will want to go for sightseeing will be a bit of a drive (40-60 mins).

Room Tip: The Garden Hideaway was cozy, but if you want more space or privacy, I'd try either the Cedar Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed the Lower Homestead Suite, which is set at the back end of the beautiful secluded valley. What a great location! Snowshoes are available to use (and we did); hiking would be great in the summer. The unit was spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean. I especially liked how the whirlpool was in its own quiet room next to the huge bathroom. We had breakfast at the main house and really enjoyed the company of the other guests. While Pete was a great host, Nora seemed a little worn out and distracted (like texting while we were all at the breakfast table). Perhaps we caught her on a bad weekend.

It did seem like just a few things were overlooked that a truly perfect B and B doesn't do. Each bed only had a nightstand on one side, which was inconvenient and doesn't really make sense. The towels were scratchy and the bathrobes a little ratty. And the National Geographics in our unit were from 2006. These little things didn't have a major impact on our stay, but show a lack of attention to detail that was surprising considering how clean and well-maintained the suite was.

Overall, you can't find a more beautiful location for a quiet getaway in the woods!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you Nora and Pete. Reading these other reviews I can't think of much more to add. Except that these hosts give great attention to detail. We love the morning discussions every visit we've made. We are bringing our bikes again in September to ride the rolling hills and experience the Amish counrtyside.

Room Tip: The Rose room is the largest with the most windows to enjoy the surrounding outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently were given a gift for a 2-nite stay here. We highly recommend it! The rooms were spacious, very clean and very nicely decorated. The food was excellent. Not only did they serve a great breakfast, but offered wine, cheese, crackers and warm cookies later in the day. Our hosts, Pete and Nora, were wonderful and so accommodating. The property is beautiful and I imagine even more so during other seasons. They have hiking trails on their vast valley, and offer snowshoeing, weather permitting. We did plan to snowshoe but the cold temps made us change our mind and we went in search of eagles (found many!) and other local places. Pete and Nora offered suggestions and recommendations on where to go, based on our interests. We definitely want to go back during the spring or fall, as the area has much to offer, as does this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main B&B, but they also offer a 'cabin' across the street, and yet anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We couldn't believe how beautiful and peaceful this place was. It was just the place we needed to unplug from the hustle of everyday life for a while. There are so many different things you can do that it works for anyone really. Pete and Nora were fantastic hosts. The whole place is open and spacious, and the suite we stayed in was cozy and clean. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stop reading this, and just book the room now! Pete and Nora are great hosts. The surroundings are remote and if you want to drive a little ways there is some shopping. But if you are looking to get away from civilization and take in some of God's beautiful creation, this is the place! The breakfasts were amazing! We hope to visit again in the fall and possibly stay in one of the cabins.
Again if you are reading this, what are you waiting for, make the call or email them now and let the relaxation begin!!!!!

Room Tip: We'd stayed in the Prairie room and it had a king sized bed and whirlpool. There is no swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful B&B in a gorgeous valley! Yummy breakfasts. The owners were just like staying with friends.
The room was impeccably clean with Amish furniture and quilts.
A perfect getaway. Just what we needed to get ready for the crazy holiday hustle and bustle in the city.
Thanks Nora and Peter!

Room Tip: They have 3 B&B rooms in the main house. There are two out buildings which are more private. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Lonesome Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lonesome Hollow

Address: 15415 Vance Rd, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655-7601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is situated on 160 rural acres in Soldiers Grove, a sleepy village located on the Kickapoo River in southwest Wisconsin. The Inn is about a one hour south of La Crosse, Wisconsin and 35 minutes northeast of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. Located in the main inn are three deluxe bedrooms, each with private baths. The Homestead Suites features four guest rooms or can be rented as an entire facility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing