We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM IN THE HOLLOW!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Lonesome Hollow
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A GEM IN THE HOLLOW!”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Not your "typical" B&B in that it is NOT filled with old lace and dolls and is NOT right on a busy street. Wonderful setting filled with acres of rolling land, beautiful landscaping and peace and quiet. Our room was beyond clean, warm and inviting. Pete and Nora are genuinely wonderful and full of information about the surrounding areas. Delicious breakfasts (all three of them!). We would stay there again in a heart-beat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstrickln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had a group of 6 and stayed in the Cedar Cabin. The grounds are beautiful with a pond, flowers, hiking paths. and woods. It was very quiet. Our host checked on us to be sure we had what we needed but was not intrusive. The Cabin was very well stocked with breakfast items. We enjoyed the use of the screen house at our cabin for meals and hanging out. The beds were comfy and there were lots of towels. We would love to come back again and stay longer!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pottermom_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I just booked our second winter weeked stay in as many years. Last February we really enjoyed the Inn and the beautiful hollow where its located. A visit here is a nice way to beat the winter doldrums, and made us appreciate how beautiful winter can be away from the snow plows, salt trucks and holiday traffic jams. We stumbled upon a world class ski jump competition in Westby that was remarkable, and found some great little mom and pop businesses throughout the area. We would highly recommend a stay at this fine inn any time of year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APPLETON
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Accomodations were excellent--cozy king size bed and fireplace. View was spectacular on a starry, starry night--no city lights, traffic, noise to disturb! Breakfast was yummy. Hosts congenial.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EensyAppleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The room was very clean and beautifully furnished with Amish furniture. The property was secluded and very well taken care of and had many walking paths. The breakfast served was excellent. If you need a place to get away from the busy life, this is the place to go. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Innkeepers Pete and Nora make sure you are at home in theirs. We stayed in the lovely homestead suite which looks brand new and immaculate! It was a very relaxing and quiet place to spend a long weekend. Nora's breakfast is delicious and everything is homemade. Pete is a wonderful host and helped us find many fun things to do in the area. We highly recommend a visit to the Lonesome Hollow soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

If anyone wanted a recommendation for a bed and breakfast retreat, this would be the only one I would recommend. Pete and Nora were exceptionally gracious hosts. We were so relaxed and pampered that we are going to find a way to return to this hidden retreat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkletsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldiers Grove
20.8 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
365 reviews
20.6 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
18 reviews
16.0 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 2 in Viroqua
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Boscobel
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lonesome Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lonesome Hollow

Property: Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Address: 15415 Vance Rd, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655-7601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is situated on 160 rural acres in Soldiers Grove, a sleepy village located on the Kickapoo River in southwest Wisconsin. The Inn is about a one hour south of La Crosse, Wisconsin and 35 minutes northeast of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. Located in the main inn are three deluxe bedrooms, each with private baths. The Homestead Suites features four guest rooms or can be rented as an entire facility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing