We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Country Gardens Motel and Lounge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Gardens Motel and Lounge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soldiers Grove
Phillips, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our stay was not nice. We checked in, walked into our room and it smelled like wet dog dander and slobber. We stayed the night and hunted the next am. During the middle of the night, we realized the theromostat did not work correctly and the room was likely above 90 degrees; thus we had to turn off the heat on a weekend that was less than 20 degrees. When we came back to the room, we had no place to park and had to park down the road and haul our stuff into the room. Not what we were looking for after a long day of hunting. The folks at the bar were noisy enough to keep us all awake until around 2am. I was told there was WiFi. That was incorrect. There were dead dried beetles between the pillow and headboard. We checked out early and the woman with dark brown hair shoulder length was very rude. We had two interactions with her and she was talking about us negatively as if we were not there. Customers should not hear that. There are better motels within 15 miles to stay.

Room Tip: Do not choose 8 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When I am on my motorcycle I am much less picky at the types of places I stay. The Country Gardens Motel and Lounge was exactly what we needed.

It had been a long hot day on our vacation. We had made reservations as we laid out on trip a few weeks earlier. They did not ask for a credit card and just asked if we would call if we needed to cancel. We arrived around 4:00 on a Saturday afternoon. Check-in was in the bar and it was fine. Everyone was extremely friendly.

The room was very small but clean and that is what is most important. There was a small TV on the wall which worked fine. We went back to the bar and asked for extra pillows because they were thin and not very comfortable. The staff was happy to accomodate. The extra pillows made a big difference.

We had dinner at the restaurant. I chose the salad bar which wasn't big, but it was good. My husband ordered a small pizza which was great. It had sausage - huge chunks of it! He is a pizza lover and gave it two thumbs up.

We said that the restaurant makes this a great destination after a long day on our bikes and all we need is a clean room and somewhere for drinks and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Simple - easy to book, easy to check in, no frills in the room. That's ok since you're not here for the rooms. The food is fantastic, and fairly priced. We checked in late in the restaurant, had some monstrous nachos, and walked up to the room. The tv was small, but worked well. The towels were clean, as was the bathroom. Overall, very solid. Oh yeah, get the pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timboAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extremely rural Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If Guthrie is cooking the food is always good. It can be a loud place but everyone is friendly and the crowd is different everytime. Even though I'm a "local" the food can't be beat for miles around, partly because options are so limited but Guthrie and Marcy do really care and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloomMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Perhaps our mistake was that we didn't get the pizza to go so that we could enjoy it at our tranquil B&B a few miles away. Instead, we were treated to a night of watching ill behaved children and their irresponsible parents turn the place into romper room. The pizza was actually pretty good, but we did NOT enjoy our dining experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandemBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soldiers Grove hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Although $70 per night for 2 people seems a little pricey for a small-town motel, this place is perfectly acceptable and provides a convenient option if you don't want to drive the 30 miles to the nearest larger town with chain hotels. It's bare bones, but they do have wi-fi and you're probably not staying there for the amenities anyway. Do put the chain on your door if you plan to sleep in; housekeeping didn't knock before unlocking our door and coming right in, although they were apologetic when they found we were still there.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
648 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is the first place I have ever visited where the check-in is located in the bar/lounge! Sign in, get your key, get a "beverage token" and get a drink and start schmoozing with the crowd. Whatta welcome! The food was good, the people were loud and friendly and the wait staff were always near by. Sort of like walking into a party in progress.

The problem was my room. Yes it was very clean, but it was very small and had big scuff marks on the wall. It also had a bent door where I could see sunlight between the door and the frame.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the bar and not over it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixelpanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldiers Grove
19.9 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
360 reviews
17.9 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
18 reviews
18.4 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#1 of 3 in Boscobel
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
163 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sand's Motel
Sand's Motel
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
25 reviews
20.6 mi away
Starlite Motel Richland Center
Starlite Motel Richland Center
#2 of 3 in Richland Center
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Gardens Motel and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Gardens Motel and Lounge

Property: Country Gardens Motel and Lounge
Address: 100 Sunbeam Blvd E, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655-7559
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soldiers Grove
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing