We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Meal in Misty Himalayas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soulitude in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gagar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal in Misty Himalayas”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

On recommendation of my parents who had enjoyed Solitude’s hospitality earlier, I booked a meal (and you normally have to do this in advance as they have limited table covers) at this beautiful resort. And I was not disappointed. Our family was escorted into a well lit and cosy parlour which was merry with its blue decor that complemented the emerald Himalayas outside like a dream.

The staff was well trained and buffet lunch left us licking our fingers.

Though the meal was simple, it was terrific to taste and freshly cooked.

We felt very well looked after by the able Manager Mr Prithvi, who ensured we had the most relaxing and enjoyable afternoon.

I definitely look forward to another visit to this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkritaReyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    47
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
233
118
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The property is located in relative isolation and that to me is its greatest charm --- far away from maddening crowds, construction and traffic, one can really experience the mountain alpine environment and if lucky, get terrific views of the snow-capped Himalyas - we were fortunate to get a few periods in our 3 night stay where the clouds cleared up allowing splendid views of Nanda Devi and other peaks, right from our balcony.

The people managing the property are exceptionally courteous and nice with the manager, Prithviraj Singh leading the way --- they try and do what they can, to make one's stay a comfortable one. They went out of their way to get medication for my younger son who developed a stomach upset along with me after dinner on our second day there and also did not charge us for one night (we had booked for 4) when we decided to check out early due to the stomach issue. This is not to say anything about the food quality though -- the food in general was very good - not too oily and well done --- I suppose our health issue was just something that can happen during travel anywhere to anyone.

The place should be used as a base in my view to take long walks / treks, visit the surrounding areas and generally replinish oneself by soaking in the wonderful natural setting in which the resort is built. Unless very adventurous, food should probably be had at the resort only as the surrounding options did not look all that appetizing to me to say the least.

Highly recommended for both a short and a long stay, particularly if one is looking to work off stress of any sort and or one loves mountains and clean air.

Room Tip: The Awakening room as a TV -- maybe a good choice if travelling with small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManavAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mave77
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a week long vacation in the Kumaon region..and this was the start. Soulitude is such a unique blend of great people..and an extraordinary location.

Right from the steep road leading downwards..towards the main entrance...it sends you into a wonderland...every small piece of the property seems like hand crafted to perfection and the team working the property (Mr Chandra, Mr Prithvi) takes it to a new level of simplicity and completeness.

The food is to die for and just superb...will leave you in a constant state of confusion..whether you are full or still can chomp on a few more bites..(it definitely left 6 of us with a few extra kgs..) It was neither spicy NOR oily..but just perfect. But please do not note this luxury comes at a steep price (per person per day about 1700 if you have all meals there)..and wish the management would do something about the food cost factor.

For group stays ..families or friends...this property is like a divine gift..from the owners...everything from the layout..the exquisite collection of games..music..movies..books..is like a gift and made us feel pampered.

The best part are the owners as well as management team, they are so sincere and clear and gave us such perfect advice with regards to the rooms to select...things to do..places to visit...and also arranged for such good local taxis..and reasonable rates...that would like to recommend this place to everyone..who wants a feel of goodness all round.

To add to it..their booking system is so transparent that the system lets you book the specific rooms that you would like to have. Look forward to visiting this property again.

Thanks again.
Mr Chandra & Mr Prithvi (and your full team).

Room Tip: The property is divided into two sections..if you like privacy and slightly older kids (older then 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mave77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and i must tell all future guests that what a wonderful experience you guys have in store. The property itself is in a picture perfect postcard location. The staff and their service is exceptional. From the gorgeous view from the room (Master's Touch) to the bonfires and candle lit dinner....lazy treks to the nearby samosa shop or driving to the nearby lake and tea garden...the mesmerizing view of the Himalayas or the occasional rain storm....every single experience is now a cherished memory.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mansi_Atri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a beautiful experience!!!
Our holiday at 'Soulitude in the Himalayas' was indescribable.
Awesome weather, breath taking views, long calming drives in the hills, cozy cottage, refreshing landscapes, hailstones in summer, clouds in our room, great service and attention to detail - its been all this and more.
Meals - Well planned and co-ordinated - every day was a different menu. Fresh and home cooked, from the pan to the plate, candlelit diner, barbecues! Indeed a foodies delight!
Child friendly - books, toys, DVDs for kids besides meeting other kids on holiday!
For us, this was a welcome break from routine and time to ourselves. A calming and rejuvenating experience of the Great snowclad Himalayas - fills you up with awe!
All I can say is - you need to be at "Soulitude in the Himalayas" to feel it - atleast once in a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patraos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keonjhar, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the moment I saw the pictures of this place and resort in facebook, i had decided I will visit here....come what may...... Our stay at Solitude in the Himalayas, was very comfortable. The food they served was delicious....specially the dinner they served at the garden with the soothing music that they played in the garden.... Sitting by the Bon fire and listening to music while having our dinner was very relaxing and enjoyable..... The different delicacies they served in breakfast, lunch and dinner was simply outstanding.... hats off to the cheff....The rooms were very very lovely and cozy... I have taken number of snaps of the rooms ( Awakening suite). Each items in our room like the furnitures to the beds to the 5.1 dolby sound system was just great....The staffs specially the manager Mr.Prithvi singh took great pride in showing us the orchards and the organic farming they did within the resort. He took utmost care for us so that we had a comfortable stay.....The views from the resort was simply outstanding...Thanks to the great collection of Movies and books in the library.... we were always kept busy.... The resort is very well decorated and planned with every things in its place. Thanks to the vision of Mr.manish and the architect who have planned this so well. The other staffs were very nice and always had a smile.....were very humble..... Indeed Mr.manish.....we had a really great relaxing....luxurious.....peaceful stay in solitude in the Himalayas....Thanks to your effort and vision.....would love to come back again....

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with good views. I really liked our suite " Awakening". The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjuktaBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful and quiet property nestled in the Himalayas with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel and a very courteous and helpful staff to take care of you. Rooms have amazing views of mountains from big glass windows and to top it are the glass ceilings called skylights . Food was good and tasted like home. We were also impressed by the collection of spiritual books in their library.
We stayed for 3 nights in the room Nirvana . Reached in afternoon by road from Delhi and in evening went for a refreshing mountain walk to Ramgarh market via forest. Second day we had day trip to Mukteshwar and third day we went to Nainital. All in all a highly recommended place for vacation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VivekUppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gagar
7.5 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aamari Resorts
Aamari Resorts
#2 of 4 in Ramgarh
128 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
3.2 mi away
Soulitude by the Riverside
Soulitude by the Riverside
#3 of 140 in Nainital
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulitude in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulitude in the Himalayas

Property: Soulitude in the Himalayas
Address: Snow View Point, Gagar | 3km before Ramgarh market, Gagar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Gagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soulitude in the Himalayas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet hillside in Gagar (near Nainital), Soulitude has just the right ambiance for rest, relaxation and fun. Soulitude is ideal for those looking to get away from the clutter of the city..... to slow down..... rejuvenate..... and simply be! Soulitude offers 9 exquisite rooms with all the luxuries of a fine vacation home. We hope the Soulitude experience will be one that you will cherish and want to come back to for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soulitude in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing