We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff and wonderfull ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soulitude in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gagar
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff and wonderfull ambience”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place to celebrate our 5th marriage anniversary and now I can say what a decision it was.....
Soulitude made every effort to make it memorable thank u once again to all of you Prithvi, vinod and chef(sorry I forgot his name). Our kid (2.5 yrs) was with us so we were quite tensed for his food and all but they took great care and it was a home away from home
This hotel has a positive waves and a soothing aura which gives amazing peace and energy.
We are planning again with all our family members

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pranjal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    50
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
240
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Much has been written by other travellers, and most of it in glowing terms, about this haven in the hills, so I will confine myself to a few finer elements which make it what it is. First, it is the unrelenting passion of Manish, the owner, whose commitment to ecocological discipline is rivalled only by his near fanatical obsession with detail.. it is this which shines through every square inch of SITH, be it the faux antique faucets, the cast iron fireplaces, the embellishments in the doorway, the anger painted furniture in the dining room... and much more.

At the same time, complete comfort has been virtually guaranteed. Shower pressure, water temperature, sleep quality, toiletries, all will satisfy the most finicky of travellers. We stayed in the cottage, which is higher up than the main house, and the extra altitude plus the seclusion were both very welcome.

My wife and I were fortunate to have experienced SITH and its very personalised services. It is as if the owners have opened their home to you. Hence, if you are a guest at SITH, perhaps you could suspend, for the duration of your visit, that stuffy five star guest attitude and revel in the wholesome warmth of this wonderful place.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more of seclusion and privacy, a room in the cottage will be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Mr. Prithvi the manager of the hotel is very cooperative and services are awesome..each room is special..we stayed in "Celebration " and it was a lifetime experience, the view of himalaya and lush greens with silent talks of birds...was like a melody of God...must visit place

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaithwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed everything the place, view ,hospitality just phenomenal
I have been to lot of places but Soulitude was the best experience by far and Thankyou for the last minute upgrade it was worth it we would have missed out on a lot otherwise

Staff were all very friendly, especially Suraj dedicated and professional
Bhanu ji for coordinating everything like walking is through the property

Am usually very critical but bit I could not find a anything out of place or could have to make it better

Looking forward to visit again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepwalking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just last week i was at Solitude in the Himalayas.....Read a lot about it on Tripadvisor so zeroed in on it. Trust me you, every word written about it, every pic shared about it is true to the core.

It was a new beginning alias 2nd innings of my life after sacrificing my bachelorhood and solitude played perfect host to it. An avid mountain lover and trekker wanted something elegant, royal, close to nature, with amazing views, yet a little away from snow (wifey's cold fearing) and solitude for us away from maddening crowd. I couldnot have found a better place than this.

After discussion with the owner Maneesh Ji i booked the room "Masterpiece" in advance and before even starting from home, Prthivi Ji the care taker got in continuous touch with me advising route and asking for my updates enroute. Easy navigation and easy to locate property with amazing roads from Kathgodam till Gaggar was a plus.

They Greet you with a welcome drink even before you get down and look around for a view of mighty himalayas....and the drink is nothing but the best of what uttarakhand has to offer "Buransh juice".

The rooms were designed so creatively with skylights, minute details, it was so airy, so big windows for natural light yet so cosy at heart. The service, the hospitality was just something that even any 5 star hotel would not be able to meet. Sooraj, Vinod, Bhanu Ji all were amazing and always so helpful. The moment you enter out of your room you can find Vinod standing right in the hall looking at you and saying "yes sir, kuch zarurat hai",

They never said no for anything, how do they managed it when we were so demanding. bonfire, candle light dinner, special cake at midnight, arranging for our causes work at local school, guidance, huge movie and books collection.

Yes sorry.....last but not the least...the Chef , the cook, the architect, the man of the kitchen...he cooks deliciously....from chinese sizzlers in night to paranthas, zero oiled aalu poori, the indian simple daal, the pudhina chutney to that aalu ka achaar (potato pickle). A perfect treat for the stomach and taste buds.

Thank you for making it so special for us, will never ever forget the hospitality received. As it makes you stand out in the league of the best places to visit or most beautiful properties as its an added feather in your hat.

Room Tip: Every room has something special, i personally loved their suite Awakening, rooms mastertouch, celeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went to this beautiful 'home away from home' in the first week of jan. Excellent location is beautifully complimented with very nice rooms, each being tastefully done up with attention to even the minutest of the details to make the stay comfortable. Hats off to Ratna and Manish for a great job with interiors in both Himalayas and the riverside resort. Although, the weather was at its chilling best, our room was made very comfortable with heated beds, heaters and the best being the fireplace.. Loved it. The food quality was very nice and hot but I would just like them to add a little more to the menu. Thanks to Prithvi for guiding us around.
We went to their riverside resort for a day picnic....totally amazing.. A jewel in the wilderness...it is so beautiful..need to go to believe. The best part was the trek and paritaal, dhabha style food and above all the adventure sport in charge to take us around and the beautiful souvenir for kids.. Big thanks to the manager (forgot his name) who took the pains of personally taking us on the trek and in the end surprised our kids with a small rock gift with their names hand painted on it! Kids loved the special touch.
All in all a great place for people who want quality, and don't mind spending significant money on it without the coldness of a five star hotel. Would be back for sure.

Room Tip: Please check their website where they have detailed comparison of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navneetnagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

You can't help feeling comforted immediately with the warm smiles at the main gate that welcome you inside

The resort is obviously made with painstaking care and love,Mahican is evident in every nook and corner

The rooms are spacious, open, warm, clean and extremely comfortable wih magnificent views of the Himalayas

The food is refreshingly simple and homely

We had a very enjoyable stay and hope to come again in a larger gathering in the near future

A must stay...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Prashant197274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gagar
0.4 mi away
Keys Prima Aamari Resort
7.5 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
6.1 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
24.1 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulitude in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulitude in the Himalayas

Property: Soulitude in the Himalayas
Address: Snow View Point, Gagar | 3km before Ramgarh market, Gagar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Gagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soulitude in the Himalayas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet hillside in Gagar (near Nainital), Soulitude has just the right ambiance for rest, relaxation and fun. Soulitude is ideal for those looking to get away from the clutter of the city..... to slow down..... rejuvenate..... and simply be! Soulitude offers 9 exquisite rooms with all the luxuries of a fine vacation home. We hope the Soulitude experience will be one that you will cherish and want to come back to for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Soulitude in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing