We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily,our best travel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soulitude in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

‘Soulitude’ is a place that appeals and pleases your senses in every way. Perched on the hills of Ramgarh, this delightful place gave me one of the most amazing travel experiences of my life. It is one of those rare places where the actual experience is much better than what was projected on their website. I happened to stumble upon this place quite accidentally ; my husband and I were the ‘last minute planners’ and didn’t want to visit the ‘usual’ holiday getaway places around Delhi namely Shimla, Mussorie, Nainital etc. The place looked amazing online and for the 1st time, I was looking forward to the resort stay more than the destination itself. But ‘Soulitude’ is anything but a resort; it’s a force of nature that will blow you away right from when you set your foot there. For the first time, we had someone actually taking so much interest in our trip. Right before our start, Manish (who runs the place) mailed us detailed route options to reach Ramgarh. The personal attention to every aspect of the journey was amazing. Your experience gets heightened here as you realize that you are made to feel special throughout. And who wouldn’t like that?

After a long drive, battling holiday traffic for over 4 hours my husband and I were already exhausted. Thanks to Manish’s precise directions we reached Soulitude and boy were our moods up-lifted! Upon entering Soulitude and having checked out our room, we knew we had made one of our best travelling decisions. We stayed at one of their cottages and simply put the room was divine. The aesthetics, the cozy furniture, the charming fireplace and the little curios from across the world in the room gave it an old worldly charm; something you won’t find these days. The room is squeaky clean and the bathroom is regal! Our exhaustion just vanished and we realized that this was the first of many pleasant surprises. The entrance to the cottage area itself is breath taking. Decorated tastefully, every corner of the foyer and the common area will appeal to your aesthetics. Our meeting with Manish was very cordial and we felt like family. We got introduced to the eclectic mix of crowd staying there during dinner which itself was simple and delicious. We loved the home cooked delights and marveled (one again!) at the dining area which had its own aura. Every corner in Soulitude has its own colour, aura and mystery and the linen, the furniture all spin a tale of their own. Due to our hectic drive the previous evening we couldn’t go to the trip planned to the Riverside (which is a must!!!) the next day, but ventured into the hills on our own. We walked down in the rain to eat pakoras and sipped steaming chai in the rain. There are many small eating joints after a 3km walk which is totally worth it. But don’t miss out on any meals prepared by the expert cooks at Soulitude ; the food is outstanding.

I really wish we had stayed a little longer. I am still so in awe of Soulitude and am looking forward to my next trip already. At Soulitude you are surrounded by nature’s amazing sights and the only noises you’ll hear are the chirping of the birds or the pitter-patter of the rain on your roof. The view from the balcony is breathtaking and my camera couldn’t do justice to Soulitude’s beauty. We are grateful to Manish and Ratna for having us over and fully appreciate their top notch hospitality. Their grace amazes us and their love for Soulitude is evident in the tiniest of details. Kudos to a self-gratifying experience called ‘Soulitude’!

Room Tip: Try staying in the cottage
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aartikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Soulitude in the Himalayas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 473 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is a place to be when you don't want the urban world to trouble you......2 things that i do when i am here....1) EAT and 2) TREK....
Wonderful property...detailed to every bit and pleasing to the eyes...this is my 2nd home....

Room Tip: Should definitely go in a group and like minded people....
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

First weekend getaway after our marriage and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place...Soulitude in the Himalayas is GORGEOUS and the moment you enter the gates you know the place is made with heart ,love & soul...Every corner,piece of furniture and wall has a personal touch & a beautiful story to tell. The place exudes of the warmth of the Chandra family.

The rooms and extremely cozy and the food is yummylicious!!! Mr. Rathore & his team is very helpful & went out of their way to make us feel at home.

One should also visit Soulitude by the Riverside too...it is 45 minutes from this blissful place and is in the village which has only three houses...the trek is brilliant and the place has a calming effect...

We have already started planning our next trip there...glad we went to Soulitude in the Himalayas... we have tons of beautiful memory & some great new friends:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupriyaJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

we went to soulitude on a long weekend just hoping to do nothing....it was the 15aug long weekend & the traffic was pathetic...everything that could go wrong ,did...bad traffic, a few bad roads & a wrong turn :(( but reaching soulitude just recharged us.The place is so beautiful inside & outside.every nook & corner so beautifully done.no holiday is complete without food & this place served some delicious pasta & barbeque!!special thanks to the host who made us feel like his family & also took us trekking!!it was a pleasure staying there & will definitely visit again!!

Room Tip: beautiful room....had stayed in the main house!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushpanjalikhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

For all those urbanites caught in the mad rush between work, home and hobbies, Soulitude gives you an opportunity to truly discover yourself. The property is excellent and well-managed. It feels like a home that you always wanted. There are lots of books to read, open spaces to play or simply admire god's creations with a good cup of cappucino that the staff so lovingly prepare. My special compliments to Manish in creating the perfect place, with the perfect staff. Hari Singh, Dinesh and Shyam Singh were eager to serve us in a quiet and non-intrusive manner. Simply, a must-go place !
The Soulitude by the Riverside is also highly recommended. Ask Dinesh to get the cook to make the potato wedges that are hand-plucked form their own vegetable gardens.

Room Tip: I loved Quietitude, Room No. 5.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anandiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

All you skeptics of "just another holiday in the hills" need to change your mind! Soulitude at Gagar in Ramgarh gives you an experience one can never have enough of! The very large rooms with huge windows over looking the snow-capped Panchachuli range are a sheer delight. The wonder at the views is followed up with excitement at seeing lush green hills covered with unimaginably thick forests.

Soulitude's own garden is a treat. The joy of plucking a fresh ripe Plum and Peach for yourself had become things of the past. Here you can relive that wonderful experience. The staff is trained to be efficient without being obtrusive. No one disturbs you - there is an air of quiet efficiency, excellent living room ambiance, topped with the amazing food. Kids are happy and grown ups are satisfied!! There are plenty of opportunities for quiet walks, excellent nature trails, photography and to catch up on quiet reading.

All in all the Holiday is not what one can describe but strongly recommended to experience. My family and I have gone back every year for the last 5-6 years or so, and each time we leave with an aching heart, for more!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MenkkaEndlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had plans to stay in Soulitude for 5 days but cut it short to two and that too because we had paid an advance equivalent to 2 nights. We were given a room below the main dining area by the staff on our arrival. It was a small room with no place for an extra bed for our son. We saw that the rest of the hotel was totally empty but despite our repeated request to change our room to one of the bigger ones, nothing was done. On speaking to Manish, he told us that he was expecting some VIPs two days later so the rooms needed to be prepared. However, even though we checked out at 11 after two nights, there was no sign of any other guest.

The staff was totally disinterested and unmotivated. They were more like zombies doing a role, very unllike a staff at a holiday destination. There were spider webs on the tea cups of our bed tea. On pointing out, no apology was offered by the staff.

Our friends who visited this place a week before us highly recommended it. We realised that must be because the owners were also staying there at that time and they came though some contact.

If I have to give the devil its due then I would say, that the place has excellent views of the snow capped mountains and decent home cooked food. There is not much ground to move around and certainly noisy. We had truck sounds at 6 in the morning. Other than that make sure that you know the owner or book through a good contact or that you are a VIP to get good service. Many better options out there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank whentheshipcomesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandraManish, Owner at Soulitude in the Himalayas, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

At Soulitude, each room is individually decorated and priced and most guests book specific rooms. While we make best efforts to accept requests for changing pre-selected rooms upon arrival, this is subject to availability. Clearly, rooms that are specifically booked by other guests cannot be offered irrespective of the pressure that may be applied on the staff. Guests who consider themselves “VIP” are not allowed to over-ride the prior reservations made by other guests.

Guests are always informed at the time of booking if the selected room is not large enough to accommodate extra beds, if it is indicated that children will accompany the parents.

Soulitude prides itself in providing a very personalized service to its guests. At the same time, it is entirely possible and understandable if the staff does not go out of their way to provide the extra personal touch under intimidation or other adverse circumstances. However, the staff maintains a professional level of service at all times.

Soulitude reserves the right of admission and has an active screening policy while accepting guests. This is mainly to ensure that only those guests are accepted that are seeking an experience akin to the one Soulitude can provide. In genuine situations, Soulitude may consider a refund of advance payments, when requested, if such guests prefer to leave prematurely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gagar
7.5 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keys Prima Aamari Resort
6.1 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
211 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
24.1 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 9 in Dhikuli
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulitude in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulitude in the Himalayas

Address: Snow View Point, Gagar | 3km before Ramgarh market, Gagar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Gagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gagar
Price Range: $125 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soulitude in the Himalayas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet hillside in Gagar (near Nainital), Soulitude has just the right ambiance for rest, relaxation and fun. Soulitude is ideal for those looking to get away from the clutter of the city..... to slow down..... rejuvenate..... and simply be! Soulitude offers 9 exquisite rooms with all the luxuries of a fine vacation home. We hope the Soulitude experience will be one that you will cherish and want to come back to for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Soulitude in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing