We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Inviting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roots Inn & Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 4 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My first visit to Door County, WI! Was very pleased with finding Inn on Maple for my stay. The owners/innkeepers were very very nice. Their place was very clean and comfortable! The room was a little small, but very nicely decorated and charming. You can tell the innkeepers really have an attention to detail...Not sure I would return, but hightly recommend this inn - for their location and for the innkeepers themselves. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay! If I come back, I want to explore your Washington Island, just up the road from you all!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dowdyjd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Roots Inn & Kitchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Charming Inn with small but cozy, clean rooms. The owners were a delightful pair that made the place exceptionally welcoming. The chocolate chip cookies awaiting us on our late evening arrival were scrumptious. They had a nice selection of current movies and classics. The sitting room was spacious, comfortable, and filled with reading material. It was a great location to bike to the northern tip and hit the galleries and Newport Park. There was also a nice selection of restaurants within walking distance. The breakfasts were wonderful and thoughtfully prepared. You will not walk away hungry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband (age 29) and I (age 28) stayed at the Inn on Maple as a last minute choice on September 28th and 29th of 2012. The only room that was available had two twin beds available, but we took it because the price was right, and again, because we waited until last minute to book (anyone who knows the Door County Area knows that it's not good to wait to book a place to stay last minute, especially at this time of year).

The owners are wonderful people, the breakfast is DELICIOUS, and the place is ever so cozy.

Many of the others staying at the Inn on Maple were much older than my husband and I, but we enjoyed ourselves none the less. The rooms are sooooo clean, and the beds were very comfortable. If I could change one thing, it would be that they have TV's in the rooms. They do have a DVD player that you can take to your room, but on one of the nights we just wanted to snuggle and watch a movie on a bigger screen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I decided to make a last minute weekend to the Inn on Maple. What a delightful surprise! Although the rooms are small, it adds to the charm. Who would stay inside long in such a delightful place anyway? From the cherry juice to the sunporch, the breakfast were relaxing and friendly. The group only added to the wonderful memories at this charming bed and breakfast. Be sure to make time for coffee in the formal living room before breakfast, it really added to the pleasure of the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DottieLouChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The other "excellent" reviews at TripAdvisor describe Inn on Maple well. My wife and I stay at B&B's when we travel, and we always look forward to returning to Inn on Maple. Further, it has become the B&B by which we rate all others. It is not the fanciest place I have ever been, but it is consistently one of the best.

Room Tip: Different sized rooms are available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncc2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great place! Great location! Very clean. Service was great. Inn keepers friendly. Breakfast delicious. Would go back and stay!! Loved everything about it!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

It wasn't easy finding an affordable B & B for a one night stay in Door County...until we came upon the Inn on Maple in Sister Bay. The inn turned out to be everything we were looking for. The building is historic, having served as a former meat market and residence over 100 years ago. The day we arrived it rained continuously so it was fortunate that the inn has a large sitting room with games, magazines, movies, coffee and delicious chocolate chip cookies. The property is extremely well maintained by the innkeepers, Louise and Bill, who produce a wonderful breakfast that is served on the enclosed porch. Our morning started out with croissant french toast with Door County tart cherries, muffins, bacon, cherry juice, and more cups of coffee than we probably needed. Other guests who were staying for the week said they never had the same breakfast twice.The price was affordable at $110 which is really good considering the typical Door County prices. The Inn is a half block off the main street which makes for easy walking to everything Sister Bay has to offer, but also provides peace and quiet for a good night's sleep. Little touches added alot - fresh flowers, glycerin soap, a fire in the fireplace to take the chill out of a rainy night, and fluffy white towels. Looking for a relaxing, homey get-away? Try the Inn on Maple. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully decorated and perfect for singles or a couple.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
177 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
782 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Inn & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Inn & Kitchen

Address: 2378 Maple Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9150 (Formerly Inn on Maple)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Price Range: $110 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 rooms all with private bath and AC. Located in the heart of downtown Sister Bay, minutes walk to beach, marina, shops, restaurants, bars. Listed on the National Historic Register, sitting on .6 acres of beautiful gardens and large outdoor elevated deck. Restaurant and bar on site, open to public for lunch. Inn guests always get happy hour! Rotating breakfast, and daily complimentary drink and ap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roots Inn & Kitchen Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing