We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking Forward to Our Next Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Restaurant

Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Looking Forward to Our Next Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant! The decor is understated but welcoming, and our server, one of the best who we have ever encountered, anywhere. He was professional, friendly, but not intrusive.

We had hoped for a nice sunset, but the food more than made up for the cloudy evening. The night was great, from the appetizers and wine selection through the main course. My rack of lamb was 5 ribs, and perfectly cooked.

It was a special night, and won't be saved for special occasions but enjoyed more often! my husband and I look forward to our next visit.

Waterfront is the perfect location for a romantic evening for two, or a group of more friends who enjoy very upscale dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joangoodcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    44
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's official. After going to Door County for 20 years, we have decided that this is our favorite restaurant. You can't beat the view, and in the summer, try to make dinner reservations during sunset for a really romantic evening. We really really appreciate that the Chef serves fresh/in season produce, rotates the menu to offer the best available and is very creative in preparing different types of produce, meats, fish etc. The homemade pasta was fantastic. We had the grilled frisse salad and the halibut with homemade ravioli. It was delicious. The service is friendly, not put off and attentive. We also found the wine list to be extensive and offered many different price points. The dining room is quiet and very enjoyable. After dinner enjoy a stroll around downtown Sister Bay and a walk around the harbor makes for a really nice evening. This is a fine dining experience food quality wise, but still offers up the small, friendly, hometown casual feeling we like about Door County.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Forestalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A true gem! Savory flavors, excellent wine list and first class service. Looking forward to dining here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SA201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“change of menu...no dinner for us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

one star for the view...can't comment on the food as my girlfriends and I walked out...we had looked at the sample menu online ( i realize it's a sample menu)..when we were seated at the restaurant and looked at the menu we realized it was completely changed...no osso buco..no beet salad...no pork or chicken...not even a pasta dish. ...it was all beef and seafood..my girlfriend doesn't eat beef or seafood...we asked the waiter about the menu and he said he had several complaints that night about the menu change. we asked if he could ask the cook to make a chicken dish for her and he said they couldn't do that....so we walked out! Be sure to call ahead and ask about the menu so you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We got a table next to the window and were able to watch the sunset. The food was quite good but the service was a bit slow. We didn't care because we weren't in a hurry. We were a little disappointed that there wasn't more local food. Some cherry dessert would have been nice being Door County and all...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing