We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rough Start with a Fabulous Ending!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We checked in late in the evening about August 12, 2012. I believe we were in room 301. It was in building #3, lower level. DO NOT SLEEP IN THAT ROOM! The minute we opened the door it smelled terribly of MOLD. Everything had a terrible smell. Even my 5 and 3 year-old girls didn't want to stay there. It was late at night though and I knew my husband wasn't going to figure anything else out that night, so we had to tough it out and stay over one night. I think I stayed awake almost the entire night praying for a way out of this moldy situation. The Inn does not give refunds. The next day I went to the front desk to explain the situation and ask if there was anything they would be able to do. The woman I talked to was WONDERFUL!! She apologized and told us there was another room available, but it was an upgrade to a room with a loft that overlooks the living room!!!! However, as soon as I was about to ask about the price, she must have seen that coming because she said, "You can stay there for the same price." I could have hugged her!!! We were able to stay in the same building, but just moved everything upstairs to room 306 (I think or 307, not sure now). Anyway, it was outstanding!! No mold or musty smell. It was really a condo. We absolutely loved it and asked if we could stay there for the remainder of our trip - 4 more nights!! We were able to do that (at the same price!!!!). We would certainly come back again. We'll have to pay full price next time though if we want that beautiful room again - bummer :( Anyway, the location of the inn was quiet and very near everything in Door County. I highly recommend staying in Sister Bay as a central location for site seeing in Door County. The room we stayed in at the inn had all the amenities you would expect including a full kitchen with dish washer, oven, full-sized frig., high speed internet (that was not very reliable though. It was in and out.). Nevertheless, Just don't rent a lower level room and you will be happy. I didn't give 5 stars just because of the first night in a moldy room. After the room change - FABULOUS!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms may have mold. Our first lower level room was horribly full of mold. Rent upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank debm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Inn is in a favorable but quiet location off Hwy 42. Our suite had a very small bedroom, but a reasonably spacious living room with a sofa-bed, which would make it favorable for affordable travel with 4 people. Other amenities include free internet (strength of signal was variable during our stay), a laundry down the hall, and a small kitchen which was quite handy. Thus the major pluses of this establishment are its ways to stretch your space and dollar, rather than luxuries (no amenities besides soap, furnishings a bit worn). We and several other couples were a bit confused on day of departure, because before 9AM there is no one in the office, and no way to turn in keys in a secure way - some instruction about this would be good. We also had some EXTREMELY noisy folks in the unit above us one night of our stay (running up and down the stairs, loud thumping noises and even a blaring car horn) in the wee hours; we came close to calling the police. This isn't the fault of the innkeeper, but as they told us at check in that someone lived on the premises, we had hoped for some intervention. However, overall we would give this a strong rating as a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had trouble finding last minute availability for our family of 2 adults and 3 children since a room with 2 queens isn't big enough and a large number of places in Door County don't take children under 12 years, but up came The Inn at Little Sister Hill via Expedia and we really couldn't have done better! We really appreciated the personal touches in the condo after many 'faceless' hotel stays, so yes things are a little dated but spotlessly clean and we wanted for nothing and found lots of unexpected but thoughtful touches provided such as a kettle for hot tea, a cd player with some CDs, a picnic set, beach chairs, etc. The Inn is a little close to the main road but well shielded with trees and very convenient to hop either to Sister Bay or Ephraim which are two of the best places to be located between. We had a wonderful morning by the pool which we had to ourselves, we used the grills for a lunch and a supper which is great for keeping costs down and providing some variety although the restaurants are really good and would've used the fire pit for S'mores if there wasn't a fire ban due to the very hot weather. The staff were excellent - we rented DVDs from the well stocked library, used the laundry and when the WIFI was running a little slow, they were onto it giving us updates until the issue was resolved. We walked into Sister Bay and also made good use of Fred & Fuzzy's which is a beach bar/restaurant close by.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Door County and spent two nights of our week there at The Inn. Next time around, we would probably choose this place for our whole visit. Our suite was very clean and the inclusion of a fully equipped little kitchen (with stove, microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, toaster, dishes, silverware, etc.) made it easy to prepare a few meals right there. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They knew we were planning to attend a theater performance in Peninsula State Park our first night and, without being asked, brought a map of the park with our route highlighted to the door of our room. The outdoor pool is tiny, so if real swimming is a must for your family you might want to look elsewhere. Otherwise, we thought this place was a great find.

Room Tip: There is no elevator here, so if stairs are a problem for you, request the first floor -- and be adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnN655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at The Inn at Little Sister Hill for years and plan on returning for years to come. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and feel homey. Having a kitchen with cooking utensils and dishes makes it easy to eat in on the nights when we just want to relax. Sister Bay is close by and there is even a walking path across the road. Nestled in the trees, it is truly a vacation to sit on the patio or balcony at the Inn and eat a piece of Door County cherry pie. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stay here whenever we go to Door County. The inn offers a home away from home with their apartment-like rooms. You can eat in with their well furnished kitchen or eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 123Katew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We feel very comfortable staying at the Inn. The staff has always been very helpful and very courteous. It is quiet and peaceful and in a very central location for going north or south in Door County. We felt very much at home from the first time we stayed. The kids enjoy the pool and the outdoor grills are great for a dinner at home.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buttons1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.7 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
82 reviews
1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
262 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
227 reviews
5.6 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Sister Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Sister Hill

Address: 2715 Little Sister Hill Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: $81 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Little Sister Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax and unwind or get out and enjoy the Door County Peninsula. One and two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living and dining areas. Private covered decks with a wooded view. Outdoor heated pool, picnic area, new playground and bonfire pit. Great location between Sister Bay and Ephraim, Wisconsin. Located on the picturesque Door County Peninsula. On a biking/walking trail to Sister Bay shops and restaurants. Near popular attractions like Peninsula Players, American Folklore Theatre, Sister Bay Marina & Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Little Sister Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Sister Hill Hotel Sister Bay
The Inn At Little Sister Hill Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing