We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pit Stop”
Review of Mission Grille - CLOSED

Mission Grille
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual upscale comfortable dining in a remodeled 100 year old church building. Many seating areas include, covered porch, outdoor garden patio, cozy booths, bar, loft. We accommodate large parties, family reunions with private dining areas. All food is made from scratch in our kitchen using the best ingredients. Menu includes ample selection of appetizers/small plates, entrees are varied in price and type, dinner salads may be ordered small or large portion, homemade desserts. Reservations for larger parties are recommended.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pit Stop”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped here on our way to catch a ferry and were on limited time schedule. It was late on a friday and we sat at the bar for a couple drinks and appetizers. The food and drinks were superb, and served quickly. After striking up a conversation with the people next to us at the bar, we discovered that they're the owners of the establishment. It was truly a lot of fun and they were both charming and gracious hosts. We can't wait to return for a full meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    77
    39
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Romantic evening”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely venue in an old church; the booths use pews as benches. We came on 1/2 price martini night, good deal. Service was excellent, attentive and unobtrusive and accommodating and friendly. Lots of interesting rooms to choose from depending on what type of experience you want. I always love a place that brings out hot rolls immediately; bonus, these were cheddar chive ones. The appetizers & salads appealed to us more than entrees so we got a few of those and weren't disappointed. The ribs were the stand-out, am still dreaming about them. Great dessert menu too. Highly recommend this on a trip to Door County.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We planned our weekend get away to Door County for a 50th Birthday celebration. We choose the Mission Grille as our big night out. When the reservations were made I expressed that we were celebrating a 50th birthday and was looking forward to a special evening. Once seated (at a very small table) the waiter eventually came over for our order. We had to ask if there were specials for the evening. The food was good but it was not anything special. When the waiter asked if we would like dessert we said were celebrating a birthday and would like to have the Creme Brule. He gave us the impression it was not the best choice for dessert and we order it anyway. All in all food good, not the greatest in service and as a celebration location not the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambiance, Good Flavors, Decent Dining!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We've come here on and off over the years. And in most recent years we've had repeated good dining experiences. This is yet another great dining choice in popular Door County - Sister Bay Wisconsin. Chef prepared menu items are fresh and served piping hot by the kitchen staff - no delay in delivering ready meals by busy waitresses - a great idea. Ambiance is very good and quaint in this old converted Catholic church - you'd never know it was a church anymore. Outdoor garden areas are really nice with great gardening flowering plants and vegetation. The owner is friendly and cordial - even on busy days/evenings. They have a very nice wine menu and they know their wine offering suggestions. Cocktails are well made too. The wedge salad was delicious with interesting flavors that set this salad apart from the usual sad sack salads that are often served at other restaurants. The prime rib dinner was prepared with rosemary and had a great flavor. The maple duck was nicely prepared and wasn't greasy - the cherry sauce was not over powering or distracting but a good accent to the duck. The dinner roles were greasy and over baked. The chairs are okay - not really that comfortable - maybe that's purposeful to move people along for turnover - regardless this was a nice dinner. All major credit cards acceptable. Parking can be challenging but is available. Not really appropriate for children. Not appropriate for those on a tight budget that need to share. One of Door County's better restaurants - proven over time. Great for groups, couples, friends. Open year round. (sorry that the photo's are so dark).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Enjoyable, and Great Dining”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The members of our party of five each ordered a different entrée, and we were all pleased with our choices. The Mission Grille has a good menu selection with a wide range of selections from beef to fish to vegetables. My wife ordered the duck and was especially pleased with the meal. We were seated in a cozy corner on the porch where we could sit and enjoy our conversation and dining. We have eaten here before and have always had great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeepClimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Grille also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing