We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and cozy”

Northern Grill & Pizza
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are all about great food and fun! Casual dining for the entire family. Outdoor dining with fireplace and cozy Northwoods theme. Steaks, seafood, our famous homemade pizza, spaghetti and lasagna. Full bar with casual pub seating. Large groups welcome. Gameroom and outdoor play area for kids. Home of the Door County Cherry Bomb Cocktail!
Appleton
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“cute and cozy”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped at the Northern Grill for lunch and were very pleased with the sandwiches we ordered. The server was very friendly and we enjoyed sitting in the booth. The atmosphere is a cozy bar with booths. The price was right for us and I would certainly go there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    59
    39
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up North Experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Anytime we are in Sister Bay we stop at The Northern Grill each night for dinner and drinks at the bar. The food is good but the hospitality is great. We feel at home there when greeted by name by the owners and employees. Yes, locals frequent this grill, and we have gotten to know some of them. We are included in their conversations and celebrations. We actually plan our visits to Door County around the times when The Northern Grill is open to visit our "friends."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Unfortunately when visiting Door County on a Sunday in December you don't have a lot of choice when it comes to restaurants. We stumbled upon the Northern Grill and stopped in simply because they were open and we were hungry. From the outside we expected this huge lodge-like room past the front doors but instead we walked into a bar full of rowdy Green Bay fans (some were actually wearing those cheeseheads). After standing like fools in the middle of the bar a waitress finally yelled at us asking if we were there for the game. We told her we wanted a seat in the restaurant and she lead us to the back room which was totally empty.
Because we were already there we decided to order. The salad and soup were just mediocre but the cheeseburgers were fairly good. However, they serve with chips and charge extra for fries which I find cheesy - pardon the pun. The big issue was the service. Our waitress was too busy enjoying the game and selling "tickets of some sort" to the fans. We had to walk back into the bar and stand there to get her attention so we could get our check. We had to do the same when we had payment ready for pickup. With all the restaurants in DC I don't think we would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service and Mangement horrible - food not so great either very $$$$”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I really have never experienced such RUDE and unprofessional management in my life! We had been going to this restaurant because we felt that it was kid friendly. We have had large groups come in with kids, and the owners knew us but did not give a darn about that. We had 2 gift certificates that were expired and because we had been going to this restaurant for years, we thought that they would honor them. Not a chance. We were told " Yes it does suck...but we will not honor them - they are expired." "You could have made copies of these because all we have here is paper gift certificates" REALLY??? These comments were said verbatim . One of the owners, female, actually had a very big attitude, spoke rudely and literally blew us off - no discussion. We are disappointed for our kids and extended family because we enjoyed coming in the summer and sitting outside ( which really has become rundown by the way) We have one gift certificate that was just purchased by a family member - we will give it to a charity auction. We will not return nor will are extended family and friends. We do not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaunee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a real Wisconsin bar experience.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Great place for kids since they can play arcade games while you wait for food. Hot wings were pricey, but the best we'd had in a long time. Good homemade pizza crust with high quality ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Grill & Pizza also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Northern Grill & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing