We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Northern Grill & Pizza
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are all about great food and fun! Casual dining for the entire family. Outdoor dining with fireplace and cozy Northwoods theme. Steaks, seafood, our famous homemade pizza, spaghetti and lasagna. Full bar with casual pub seating. Large groups welcome. Gameroom and outdoor play area for kids. Home of the Door County Cherry Bomb Cocktail!
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
325 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Unfortunately when visiting Door County on a Sunday in December you don't have a lot of choice when it comes to restaurants. We stumbled upon the Northern Grill and stopped in simply because they were open and we were hungry. From the outside we expected this huge lodge-like room past the front doors but instead we walked into a bar full of rowdy Green Bay fans (some were actually wearing those cheeseheads). After standing like fools in the middle of the bar a waitress finally yelled at us asking if we were there for the game. We told her we wanted a seat in the restaurant and she lead us to the back room which was totally empty.
Because we were already there we decided to order. The salad and soup were just mediocre but the cheeseburgers were fairly good. However, they serve with chips and charge extra for fries which I find cheesy - pardon the pun. The big issue was the service. Our waitress was too busy enjoying the game and selling "tickets of some sort" to the fans. We had to walk back into the bar and stand there to get her attention so we could get our check. We had to do the same when we had payment ready for pickup. With all the restaurants in DC I don't think we would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    38
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service and Mangement horrible - food not so great either very $$$$”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I really have never experienced such RUDE and unprofessional management in my life! We had been going to this restaurant because we felt that it was kid friendly. We have had large groups come in with kids, and the owners knew us but did not give a darn about that. We had 2 gift certificates that were expired and because we had been going to this restaurant for years, we thought that they would honor them. Not a chance. We were told " Yes it does suck...but we will not honor them - they are expired." "You could have made copies of these because all we have here is paper gift certificates" REALLY??? These comments were said verbatim . One of the owners, female, actually had a very big attitude, spoke rudely and literally blew us off - no discussion. We are disappointed for our kids and extended family because we enjoyed coming in the summer and sitting outside ( which really has become rundown by the way) We have one gift certificate that was just purchased by a family member - we will give it to a charity auction. We will not return nor will are extended family and friends. We do not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaunee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a real Wisconsin bar experience.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Great place for kids since they can play arcade games while you wait for food. Hot wings were pricey, but the best we'd had in a long time. Good homemade pizza crust with high quality ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This pizza was awesome. We had sausage and green peppers. If all you eat is Domino's, Little Ceaser, Pizza Hut you will probably fall out after one bite of this pizza. Simply the best..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopBays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraim, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
171 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cherry Bomb & White Sangria!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful meal, as usual. Ribs and steak with cheesy mashed are our favorites. The Cherry Bomb cocktail is wonderful and I tried the White Sangria, which is also amazing. As to the previous review- we were in the restaurant when this family was asked to leave. The staff was very patient as one of the children shrieked through the entire meal. They were asked to leave only after they finished eating. This restaurant hosts many families and are very tolerant- they also try to provide a nice atmosphere for all their diners. It's a great place to eat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Grill & Pizza also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Northern Grill & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing