We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic standby”
Review of Sister Bay Bowl

Sister Bay Bowl
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Description: The Sister Bay Bowl is a family-owned, family-friendly landmark offering great food, friendly service, ample portions, full bar and just happens to have a six lane bowling alley. "Da Bowl" is located on the hill in heart of Sister Bay.
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic standby”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is our go-to restaurant. How can you go wrong? Food is always good, not a creative or frou frou menu, just reliable classics. Perch and whitefish and prime rib are delicious, simple always crisp and cold iceberg lettuce salad (you can request the dressing on the side,) real Idaho baked potatoes, or fries, and a classic piece of cherry pie if you have room. If you want a lighter dinner there is an extensive list of offerings. Always a filling meal and a nice family atmosphere. Expect a wait in tourist season, even the big old Wisconsin style bar is a lively enjoyable place to wait for your name to be called. We like to eat here especially during the quieter winter months. Our trusted reliable neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelduoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    142
    51
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just a GREAT place to go!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

You can eat, you can bowl, you can do both! Two years in a row, we have been so happy that we sat through the wait and ate at Sister Bay Bowl. My husband had the perch both times and he just can't stop talking about how great it is - very fresh. I had the broasted chicken both times and it is just as good. We had the opportunity to speak with one of the owner's quite a bit this year (our condolences on the loss of your husband this past summer). This restaurant is run by good people and it is a fun place to be. We haven't bowled either time we've been, but it just looks so fun. The bartender was very nice - so waiting for a table isn't too bad.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Surprising Meal”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Sister Bay Bowl has good quality food with large portions at a reasonable price. The atmosphere is comfortably casual, and service is attentive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were excited about going on a Tues. night, the daily special was perch, whitefish, walleye are shrimp. The overall experience was unique, and there appeared to be a lot of regulars. We there on vacation. Mom and I split the whitefish, and did the sharing option, which for $6.00 more you get two salads, two potatoes. apparently perch is their specialty, which nobody told us. Our whitefish plate came with just one piece of fish, and a small one at that. The french fries were the frozen crinkle cut variety that were still pale, and cold when they arrived. Looking around at other diners, they have plates flowing over with perch. wished we known to get that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A bowl in a bowl!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A rather simple, functional open space bristling with the clatter of platters serving good no nonsense food and great prices. Staff is friendly and professional. Ate too much work it off bowling!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sister Bay Bowl also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Sister Bay Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing