We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the pancakes”

Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Door County, Wisconsin's most well-known restaurant, established in 1949. From May through October, look for the live goats on the roof, on top of an authentic Swedish log building. Inside, there's a traditional Swedish atmosphere and Scandinavian food specialties, all served by waitresses in dirndls. After dining, visit Al Johnson's Butik, featuring a beautiful selection of Scandinavian products, including clogs, Swedish linens, books, clothing, jewelry, decorative items, books and housewares. Open May - October, 6 AM - 8 PM, And November - April, 7 AM - 3 PM.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Can't beat the pancakes”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I've been coming to Door County for 40+ years, and Al Johnson's is usually one of our stops. Despite high prices, smallish portions, and tons of tourists, everyone in the family agrees that the pancakes really are outstanding. I had mine with Door County cherries and whipped cream this time. To die for!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ght0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    453
    166
    50
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“I don't get the attraction”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Ok. There's a goat on the grass roof. But don't you go to a restaurant for the food? There was almost nothing for me to eat on the menu so I ended up with scrambled eggs, toast and fruit. It was….fine. I bought a hat in the gift shop but that was the highlight of my visit. If you are a serious foodie, skip this place. If you need a picture of a goat sleeping on a roof, this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhartig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast was great, dinner was not”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We ate here twice during our stay and enjoyed our breakfast of swedish pancakes very much. Upon returning for dinner, we were not as pleased. We had the roast beef hash and the potatoes were old (breakfast leftovers?) while the beef was gristly. The swedish meatballs were ok, but the when the best thing on the plate is the mashed potatoes, it's not saying much. Sorry Al Johnson's, we really wanted to love you because the goats are so cute!

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gracesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley,Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The goats on the roof are a nice touch!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stopped in Al Johnson's and had a very good breakfast. Quality food, good value and great service. Will stop again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 05V-Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
241 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

The kids have always liked looking at the goats on the roof. This was the first time we have eaten there. Had the Swedish pancakes and meatballs. Never thought of meatballs with breakfast but it was great

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing