We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open Hearth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Open Hearth Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

The hotel was impeccably clean and very relaxing.
The room decor was dated but was immaculate.
The pool, hot tub, back patio and "back yard" were wonderful and we utilized all of them daily (and nightly.)
The Open Hearth was a very homey and comfortable place to stay.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — The mattresses were quite hard
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momzki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    53
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
56
64
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

A great place to relax and enjoy door county. Loved all the care the owners put in the place. Really showed to guests.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank ajacks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

Very clean, neat, and the price was affordable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I loved the location. It was right across the street from one of the best nine hole golf courses (Bay Ridge) I ever played. Definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2006

This Door County spot is a great find. We have stayed with our family. The property is well kept. Large outdoor areas for games or sunning. There's a golf course across the street. The indoor pool and whirlpool are just the thing you need if the weather doesn't cooperate. This motel is very clean and comfortable as well as reasonable for the area. We know where we will stay on Door County visits

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OpenHearthLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

We had stayed at the Open Hearth Lodge two other times. When we stayed in November 2003, our second night (a Saturday) the owner was away from the property and we were awoken around midnight by running in the halls. I went into the hall, as our room was across from the pool. The pool, which closed at 1000 p.m had about 10-12 teenagers in it, very loud, yelling, some questionable behavior.... I asked them to be quiet, as we were trying to sleep. Noise kept up, I then went to front desk and was told by a teenage girl that they would "keep it down". We got very little sleep. Upon checking out on Sunday morning, I reported the activities of the night before to the woman at the desk who stated she was the owner. After I told her what happened, she made the comment that she "shouldn't have left" the night before. She gave me a vague apology. I told her we probably would not be staying with them again and she told me she would "give my visa card a credit" for the disturbances the night before. No credit ever appeared. Two calls to the lodge went unanswered and I even wrote to the Chamber of Commerace in Door County and they contacted Open Hearth Lodge and to this day no response from Open Hearth. Will never go again, as they certainly didn't seem to care about keeping us as customers. There are plenty of other nice places to stay in Door!!!

  • Stayed November 2003
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Open Hearth Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2006
In response to this complaint we would like to inform everyone that there are now new owners of the Open Hearth Lodge as of August 2004. When this incident occurred, it was with the previous owners. My husband and I, the current owners, are doing our best to be consistent with policies and never let anything get out of hand. The kind of problem that happened in 2003 will not happen again. We are commited to running the hotel in a professional manner and will do our best to make your stay enjoyable and will deal with any concerns at the first request. We hope that this incident will not deter other customers from staying at our lodge. As new owners, we would love to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
11.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nordic Lodge
Nordic Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Lodge

Property: Open Hearth Lodge
Address: 2669 S Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9160
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is in a meadow on 6+acres at the Welcome to Sister Bay sign. Clean, friendly, well appointed, we offer fine accommodations at a reasonable cost, year round... Located minutes from beaches, state parks, biking, hiking, golf as well as the art, music and theater of Door County. Visit orchards, farm markets, wineries, or hang out at the pool or near the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Open Hearth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Sister Bay
Open Hearth Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing