We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Open Hearth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Open Hearth Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Last week was our first trip to Door County in many years so we weren't very familiar with the area's hotels. We were referred to this hotel by word of mouth and were very glad we chose it. Our room was very clean and large with a big window overlooking the back of the property which was landscaped with trees and a nice lawn extending to a trail at the back of it. The decorating in the room looked newly updated and was very pretty. There were plenty of towels, etc. which we usually don't seem to get enough of in hotels. There was also a roomy refrigerator. The outdoor area was very nice with a patio, picnic table and grill. The staff was pleasant. We would definitely stay again. It's a great value for the price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the back of the property. The view out the window is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeno58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    58
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
60
70
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Lodge during a family trip. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The location was quiet. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Open Hearth Lodge in June 2011. I enjoyed our stay and would probably stay at this hotel again. We stayed in a standard room with a king size bed. Our room was at the back of the hotel, and the views were great. Keep in mind this hotel is not on the lake nor does it have lake views; but it is not quite in the busy area of Sister Bay, so it is quiet and has more of a rural view from the back. We could see the entry of the hiking trail from our window. There was no DVD player in the room, but you can rent one for $3 at the front desk (some rooms do come with them already). The bed was comfortable, and the room had everything we needed (no kitchenette, but we chose not to get a room with one). My only complaint about the room itself was the shower head was very squeaky when you turned on the water, and because our room was at the end of the hotel, the WIFI didn't reach, and I couldn't use the Internet. Nora at the front desk said they are working on that though. The Jacuzzi area is nice - it is in an outdoor patio area that is enclosed (the pool is inside). The hotel does have complimentary breakfast, nothing special, but still your breakfast basics. Overall, this was a very nice place to stay and I would recommend it to travelers. The owners are very nice and helpful; John suggested some local activities for us to do while in Door County.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jes297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was our second stay at the Open Hearth. Each stay for three nights. Beautiful facility, grounds and rooms. Very clean, quiet, and convenient to attractions and restaurants. John and Nora Zacek could not be better or nicer hosts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaBicyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I came up to bring some work to a gallery. Open Hearth was a perfect stay- lovely large room with a couch, fridge,nice shower and extremely clean and quiet. Very nice pool area and hot tub with windows looking onto the grounds. Continental breakfast another nice touch. The owner was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try the sister Bay Bowl for fish fry on Friday- g.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaloutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Open Hearth Lodge is the epitome of comfort and relaxation. It is set on a large piece of land with a beautiful back/side yard, meadow, and a tree line that encases the property beautifully. The rooms are wonderful, clean, spacious, and they have the most inviting smell of clean laundry and "home" that lasts the entire stay. There is a fantastic indoor pool and hot tub. The hot tub has its own gazebo with relaxing lighting around the room and a control panel for the jets. If you have kids, they can play in the pool while you relax in the hot tub. Everyone will be happy here. They have breakfast available and the coffee is excellent. Lot of doughnuts to choose from, different types of cereal, different types of toast (my favorite was the pumpernickel!), fresh milk, jam, etc. It's a breakfast that will actually fill you up! The owners and staff are very friendly and will help you out with anything. We needed a wine bottle opener, went downstairs to ask the owner, and she had one right at the desk! That's the kind of service that you get when staying at the Open Hearth Lodge. Every evening I could not wait to come back to our room and the comfortable bed. Pillows galore! I would recommend this Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in Door County.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pyratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed here a decade ago and found it to be just as nice recently. Rooms were good size. Our daughter enjoyed the pool and large backyard. Staff was very helpful and we enjoyed the continental breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranRano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Lodge

Property: Open Hearth Lodge
Address: 2669 S Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9160
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is in a meadow on 6+acres at the Welcome to Sister Bay sign. Clean, friendly, well appointed, we offer fine accommodations at a reasonable cost, year round... Located minutes from beaches, state parks, biking, hiking, golf as well as the art, music and theater of Door County. Visit orchards, farm markets, wineries, or hang out at the pool or near the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Open Hearth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Sister Bay
Open Hearth Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing