We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, cute”
Review of Village View Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village View Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value, location, cute”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A great value in door county. Owners have done a lot to brighten up an old motel with pretty flowers and fresh, bright red paint on the doors. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, location is perfect -- halfway up the peninsula, right across the main road from nice little shops and restaurants, a short walk to a pretty park by the marina. Rooms are big, tho a tad dated. Would be nice if they had coffee makers in the room. Instead, they jut have it in the office in the morning, along with packaged Danishes. Perfect spot for people who are more interested in exploring the peninsula than sitting around in the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
79
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have been staying at the Village View in Sister Bay for many years. The rooms and grounds are immaculate. They simply have the best location in Sister Bay. You can walk to the beach, park, marina and restaurants. There are a couple of live music venues right outside their property. Jim and his staff recommend restaurants and things to do that are always on target. Nice, nice people! I visit Sister Bay twice a year and each time, I stay here. It is a bargain for the area. Bottom line is you should make this your place to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is our second visit, both times consistent, just great. Extremely well kept, clean Inn with exceptionally friendly Owners and staff. The price and location is unmatched. Everything you want is at your doorstep, or a short drive away. You can sit outside and view the beautiful grounds, or take a stroll to Husbys for a game or live music. Our favorite room has it's own private deck, where we enjoy complimentary coffee and Danishes in the morning, it's a truly lovely place. No worries here the Owners keep a diligent eye on what is going on, giving you a true sense of security which is definitely lacking at other places. We will keep coming back to this one.........our favorite.
Thank you Jim for making our stay so pleasant!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomkimkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the time you arrive to the time you leave the staff at village view will make sure you have everything you need. We were always made aware of the fun things to do in the surrounding area and came back to a relaxing room. I loved our room over-looking sister bay where we could hear the live music and enjoy great sunsets right from our deck!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmilySaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rachael and Annette were great hosts! We arrived on motorcycles and they ran us to the store for our needs to help us enjoy our stay even better. Rooms were clean, grounds immaculate, short walk to town and the price was right! Give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rod b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is our second trip up to Sister Bay, and both times we've stayed here at the village view. We just love it!! The prices can't be beat, and the location is absolutely amazing. It's walking distance to everything in sister bay, which is a huge convienence! The owners are great, super nice and helpful. The rooms are nothing special, but big and spacious. Each room has a little outdoor area with a table and chairs, which is really nice on summer evenings. It has a very "cottage-y" feel to it, and you can tell the owners take pride in their property. For a couple that doesnt have tons of money to spend on lodging, this place is a perfect place for a Door County get away. Overall, for the value Village View can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emval420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I went to Door County for a last minute weekend get away.We did'nt even know what town we were going to stay in but decided on Sister Bay.Next was to find a place to stay,we wanted a place that we could walk to the water easily that evening.I said to my wife, after driving up and down the strip a couple times,lets pull in and check this place out.It worked out perfect,the staff was friendly(sorry I dont remember names the first time.she is the friendly woman with the red framed glasses) and gave us what turned out to be great advise on a place to eat.The room was nice and clean.We will definately return when we get back up to Door County again.It was also a feather in my cap as it was my decision to check this place out and my wife ended up loving it( I am not right too often according to her lol).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sister Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nordic Lodge
Nordic Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village View Inn

Property: Village View Inn
Address: 10628 N Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9594
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sister Bay Village. Contemporary, immaculate rooms in a true in-village location.18 rooms in 6 individual buildings nestled on a wooded acre. Within walking distance of all village activities: restaurants, shops, galleries, beach, marina and park. Extended Cable TV. Free Wi-Fi. Morning coffee and pastries. Two night minimum on summer and fall weekends. Three night minimum on holiday and festival weekends. Open May through October. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Village View Sister Bay
Village View Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing