We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village View Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village View Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

For a motel/inn, it was very nice. The grounds are kept real well. The room was average. I booked over the phone and they messed up. They write the reservations down on paper so the person i spoke to didn't. But there were nice enough to put me up near by and then put me in a nicer room at a discounted rate for the mistake. I didn't get soup and shampoo when they cleaned the room, had to ask for it. And there isn't much of a breakfast. Coffee and some danishes and/or scones and as many as would fit in a serving dish. So don't expect any breakfast. But for the price and location, i would consider it again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    29
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
73
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
waukesha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We put our names on a waiting list in Oct '10 for the Oct '11 fall festival. During our two night stay in '10, the owner told us that we were the kind of customers he liked. I called to check progress in early spring; the woman was pleasant and said we were first in line. I called again in July; the man who answered the phone was rude and told me to forget about getting in because he had two regulars who want a room and he wouldn't take us over them. He also told me not to call back to inquire about cancellations. I would understand why his rooms aren't booked solid all year. I would never do business with him again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank witravelersWaukesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We enjoyed the quaint and comfortable rooms with the unique setup of buildings and courtyard. Also the gardens were pleasant to view and the staff was always friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay. I would return.

Neal

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twelve16207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

The setting is perfect. You can walk almost everywhere you want to go. Nestled very quietly in a somewhat wooded area, but in town. The grounds are groomed so beautifully. The rooms are all perfect for resting, and for stopping in and going out. They are so very clean, and any need is answered by the owners, or any of their very qualified employees. Ask a question, and you get an immediate answer. And, the price... you get a lot for the small amount of money you spend to stay. It is a great place to stay, and will be our destination the next time we return to Door County.

Dee and Jean Shonkwiler
Aaron McCoy

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rdshonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake IL
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Decided at the last minute to throw a bag together and head up to Door County. Pulled into the Village View late afternoon and ended up with the last room . . . #4. Very nice. Had a covered porch with table and chairs. Inside was a very clean room with two queen beds. Spacious, nice decor, carpeting and bathroom looked like it had been upgraded. TV was a little small but had enough stations on the cable. Woman who checked us in was courteous. Made some dining and drinking suggestions. Plan on coming up again soon with friends and staying at the Village View.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trav_LN_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed at the Village View on May 21, 2010 and I stayed in the motel part. The motel is part of a twelve room building that overlooks the parking lot, grounds and Main Street in Sister Bay. The rest of the resort area is behind the motel and it sits a little further back from the street.

The room itself was clean and larger than I expected. It had a double bed, a table and two chairs, a large dresser and a small refrigerator. The TV was a 19 inch, normal, non-fancy television, but who comes to Door County to watch TV? I was impressed with the large selection of cable channels available, there must have been over 60 of them.

The bathroom was functional, but it didn't have much counter space and the shower had low water pressure and it didn't get very hot.

I was impressed with the speed of the free wi-fi; I couldn't sleep the night I was there, and I was able to watch a TV show via hulu.com without any problems, the speedy connection kept up with it.

My only real issue with this hotel was the noise factor. The rooms aren't very well sound proofed (especially in the bathrooms) and I could hear my neighbor's television well into the night. Also, because it sits right on the main drag in Sister Bay, there is quite a bit of traffic noise and pedestrian noise, especially at bar time.

All in all, this hotel is a great value. The free, speedy wi-fi was great, the room was larger than expected and it was clean and it's in a central location. The staff was friendly and the price was right, since I paid $59 for my night there. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alvernochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

This establishment has friendly on-site owners. It is located in the heart of Sister Bay, a short walk to the local park on the Bay, restaurants and shops. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. Great value for the area. The grounds have beautiful gardens and seating areas to relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWHBAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.9 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nordic Lodge
Nordic Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village View Inn

Property: Village View Inn
Address: 10628 N Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9594
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sister Bay Village. Contemporary, immaculate rooms in a true in-village location.18 rooms in 6 individual buildings nestled on a wooded acre. Within walking distance of all village activities: restaurants, shops, galleries, beach, marina and park. Extended Cable TV. Free Wi-Fi. Morning coffee and pastries. Two night minimum on summer and fall weekends. Three night minimum on holiday and festival weekends. Open May through October. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Village View Sister Bay
Village View Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing