We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls' Autumn Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Girls' Autumn Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visited Door County for a nice fall girls' weekend, and stayed at the Coachlite Inn. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for introducing us to Julie's. This is the perfect place...it's not too far from Fish Creek and it's very close to downtown Sister Bay. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The complimentary breakfast was a perfect start to our day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TM827_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    49
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Visited for a quick fall weekend to Door County. It's less than a mile from downtown Sister Bay, and not too far from Fish Creek. The outdoor hot tub was great in the cold weather, and the breakfast offerings in the AM made it easy to start our days. The rooms were nice and spacious too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C_K_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The owners and staff were very friendly and always helpful. Grounds were well kept. Especially nice was the Private Ponds Suite which was very spacious, had a comfortable sofa, and a fantastic gas fireplace that created both warmth and "romantic" evening atmosphere. Outside the suite was a very pretty pond and forest area frequented by deer. The breakfast was simple, almost to the point of being meager. Location was OK, but had to drive to "downtown" Sister Bay. Overall the three-night stay was very good. I recommend the Coachlite Inn and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review the Coachlite Inn. We are glad that you had a positive experience here. We think it's very helpful for travelers to know in advance what they can expect as clearly as possible. For example, for people thinking of staying here in the future it is good to know that we offer our complimentary breakfast for your convenience. While we do not offer a full restaurant breakfast, we do offer more than a traditional continental breakfast. Our breakfast consists of three types of cereal, milk, apples and bananas, a variety of bakery items, Door County coffees, tea, and two types of juice. Breakfast is available from 8AM-10AM with plenty for everyone.
The Coachlite property is a little more than 1/2 mile from downtown, exactly 1 mile to Al Johnson's. For some, this is walking distance. It's good to know that there is a pretty steep grade coming back. There is a paved walking path across the street that takes you into town and back.
We hope that wherever you stay that you will get the most from your Door County experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently stayed at Coachlite Inn. We stayed in the Private Pond Suite which was more room than two ladies needed but it was all that was available. In addition it is isolated from the main hotel area, down the hill and has its own driveway and parking area. Staff was very friendly and accomodating however we weren't happy about the "light" daily cleaning which meant they only took your dirty towels if you did not want to go the "green" path of using them over again. That also meant they did not clean sinks, wash glassware or wipe off dirty areas which, in our case, were overlooked from previous cleanings. There's a difference of opinion of what "light cleaning" means. Light breakfast is exactly that ... donuts, 3 cereals, coffee and fruit. For the price it would have been nice to have a real breakfast offering, but there is no room to accomodate that here. Grounds are pretty and private. Too cold to use hot tub amenity. Location is about 1/2 mile to main Sister Bay attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinGal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking your time to give us feedback. While we appreciate all of your comments, we are sorry that you were not happy with the housekeeping. Typically, we get very positive feedback regarding cleanliness. After our housekeepers clean each day my husband or I inspect each room. While it is true that we do not do dishes during your stay, there is a dishwasher in each of the two larger suites with full kitchens for your convenience, such as the Pond Suite. For our stay over guests we replace any dirty linens, empty the garbage and recyclables, replenish supplies, and make beds daily. We try not to disturb anything else in the rooms, as we want to respect how a guest wants their things left. We will be glad to accommodate special requests as far as it is possible, as we did with your request. Thanks again.
Jeannie and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Traveling through Door County, we were planning to spend the night somewhere in Sister Bay. We did not book ahead (not a good move as this was prime fall color plus festivals) and began to worry as we drove through each harbor town with "no vacancy" signs everywhere. Cell phone service was iffy at best, so I was not able to check things on the Trip Advisor site as we were traveling. Fortunately I remembered that the Coachlite Inn in Sister Bay was ranked #2 on Trip Advisor, and as we drove by, they had just put out a "vacancy" sign due to a last minute cancellation. We were informed that most hotels in Door County require a 3 night stay during these popular weekends, so we considered ourselves very lucky. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with suggestions for the next day and provided us with a map of the nearby Penninsula State Park. The room was VERY CLEAN, fresh, and spacious. We had a small refrigerator, microwave, desk area, nice TV, and comfy 2 queen beds. Outside our window we had a lovely view of a beautiful tree that was turning a deep orange color. It was a very quiet night even though both buildings were completely booked. I can see why it ranked so highly on the Trip Advisor site. The only negative is the limited continental breakfast... probably best to plan to eat breakfast in town. We definitely would stay there again.... BUT BOOK IN ADVANCE DURING FALL FESTIVAL WEEKS AND COLOR TOURS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryJane48130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks goodness for such kind guests. Thanks for taking the time to give such nice feedback. We hope we helped you make the most of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were to Sister Bay for the nights of Sept. 21-23. Coachlite Inn was very nice to stay at. Quiet. The rooms were nice size with a refrigerator and microwave, It was very clean. We were with 24 more people from our car club and everybody said the rooms were nice. The breakfast room is small with indoor seating, they also have tables and chairs right outside of the breakfast room. They have a outdoor hot tub and one of the ladies used it and said it was wonderful with nice strong events. They have a fire pit and the wood for it. Some of our members used it both nights, Landscaping is nice, The breakfast is a continental.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nestled in the trees in Sister Bay, WI you forget the highway is at the end of the drive. Rooms were the cleanest I've seen in years and we travel a lot. The beds were very comfortable with ample blankets and homey quilts with NO HOTEL SMELL. We were with a large group of folks (30 people) traveling with our British car group. Check in was a breeze, proprietors were gracious and extremely helpful. Bonfires at night and local shops and restaurants just minutes away. While it did not bother me, our groups only complaint was the 'free' breakfast could have been more diverse. My answer...go to a restaurant.Thank you Coachlite Inn: Rich, Jeannie and staff, you are the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Nooo, You're the best! ;) Thanks so much. We hope your trip to Door County was all it could be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
6.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay

Property: Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Address: 2544 S. Bay Shore Drive, P.O. Box 221, HWY 42, Sister Bay, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and quiet in the pines, the Coachlite Inn lends the illusion of seclusion, yet is only one half mile from the heart of Sister Bay. We are within easy walking distance of the Country Walk Shops, restaurants, golf, churches, miniature golf, go carts, and amusement parks. Access to bike, walking, and jogging trail directly in front of the Inn. Within a mile are boutiques, art galleries, beaches, marinas, sailing, fishing, and tennis. Also nearby are the Famous Door County fish boils, horseback riding, professional theater productions, music concerts, night clubs, Peninsula and Newport State Parks, ferries to Washington Island, orchards and the many natural wonders of Door County.Our accommodations include Classic Rooms, featuring one queen bed or two full size beds. Our larger Deluxe Rooms offer one king bed or two queen size beds and the Plus rooms have whirlpool tubs. We also have queen, kitchenette, and two bedroom Suites available. All are tastefully decorated and include color cable TV with HBO, air conditioning, electric heat, ceiling fans, full baths, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, and in-room phones. Complimentary Door County coffee, juice, fruit, bakery, cereal, and milk are served in our lounge from 8 - 10 am. Sit and relax on our patio or next to the Koi pond! Wireless HSIA is available throughout the property. Lobby and desk are open and coffee is available 24 hours per day. Your hosts live on-site to better accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachlite Inn Of Sister Bay Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing