We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank Goodness for a Last Minute Cancellation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness for a Last Minute Cancellation!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Traveling through Door County, we were planning to spend the night somewhere in Sister Bay. We did not book ahead (not a good move as this was prime fall color plus festivals) and began to worry as we drove through each harbor town with "no vacancy" signs everywhere. Cell phone service was iffy at best, so I was not able to check things on the Trip Advisor site as we were traveling. Fortunately I remembered that the Coachlite Inn in Sister Bay was ranked #2 on Trip Advisor, and as we drove by, they had just put out a "vacancy" sign due to a last minute cancellation. We were informed that most hotels in Door County require a 3 night stay during these popular weekends, so we considered ourselves very lucky. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with suggestions for the next day and provided us with a map of the nearby Penninsula State Park. The room was VERY CLEAN, fresh, and spacious. We had a small refrigerator, microwave, desk area, nice TV, and comfy 2 queen beds. Outside our window we had a lovely view of a beautiful tree that was turning a deep orange color. It was a very quiet night even though both buildings were completely booked. I can see why it ranked so highly on the Trip Advisor site. The only negative is the limited continental breakfast... probably best to plan to eat breakfast in town. We definitely would stay there again.... BUT BOOK IN ADVANCE DURING FALL FESTIVAL WEEKS AND COLOR TOURS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryJane48130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks goodness for such kind guests. Thanks for taking the time to give such nice feedback. We hope we helped you make the most of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were to Sister Bay for the nights of Sept. 21-23. Coachlite Inn was very nice to stay at. Quiet. The rooms were nice size with a refrigerator and microwave, It was very clean. We were with 24 more people from our car club and everybody said the rooms were nice. The breakfast room is small with indoor seating, they also have tables and chairs right outside of the breakfast room. They have a outdoor hot tub and one of the ladies used it and said it was wonderful with nice strong events. They have a fire pit and the wood for it. Some of our members used it both nights, Landscaping is nice, The breakfast is a continental.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nestled in the trees in Sister Bay, WI you forget the highway is at the end of the drive. Rooms were the cleanest I've seen in years and we travel a lot. The beds were very comfortable with ample blankets and homey quilts with NO HOTEL SMELL. We were with a large group of folks (30 people) traveling with our British car group. Check in was a breeze, proprietors were gracious and extremely helpful. Bonfires at night and local shops and restaurants just minutes away. While it did not bother me, our groups only complaint was the 'free' breakfast could have been more diverse. My answer...go to a restaurant.Thank you Coachlite Inn: Rich, Jeannie and staff, you are the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Nooo, You're the best! ;) Thanks so much. We hope your trip to Door County was all it could be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

One night stay in a queen double. Pretty roomy, very clean. Right off 42, but behind some trees, so looks secluded when you're there. Older kids tried out the outdoor hot tub and they had a campfire going also. Rooms are in two separate two story buildings, each room has own entry door. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msnracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stumbled upon at the Coachlite Inn when searching for last minute accommodations in the popular Door County. It is very affordable for families or couples seeking to enjoy the beauty of the area. The accommodations were modest and if you intend to spend most of your time sightseeing, they will suffice. Pluses include a very informative staff, cleanliness of the units and well-kept grounds. It is worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trip4u72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My fiancé and I were taking a road trip to door county without making reservations. We came to the Coachlite Inn and they had very affordable nightly rates compared to other pricey resorts/hotels in the area. The grounds of the Inn are pretty. They do have a hot tub that we didn't get a chance to use, but it was available and looked clean. The rooms are decorated old country and could use some updating. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The continental breakfast was coffee, donuts and cereal. The lady at front desk was welcoming and was more than willing to suggest things to do in the area. Nice location too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We really appreciate your positive review and hope to see you again. Thanks for mentioning the breakfast. We do our best to keep cost down while adding convenience for our guests. While we do not offer full cooked breakfast, we offer fresh fruits, 3 types of cereal, milk, bakery items, Door County coffees, tea and juice. We are looking forward to the fresh, local fall favorites of Seaquist apples and Pumpkin Spice coffee added to our usual offerings in September. Ahhhhh, fall. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Coachlite. For 3 people, two double beds, the rate was $132. Out room had its entry from the outside (no indoor corridors), and all share a common walkway. There was a nice window in the room, but you would have to have the blinds closed for privacy, if you didn't want people walking by and looking in your room. The room and bathroom looked dated--nothing modern in the way of bedding, decor, etc. The bed was comfortable, but the bedding lightweight. There was a wall air conditioner that was sufficient, and I didn't mind the "white noise." The room has a refrigerator as well. The hot tub was located across the parking lot, and was a good size. There were towels provided, but it seemed almost too hot to sit in comfortably longer than 5 minutes. Breakfast includes coffee, tea, cereal, pastries, and fruit. The dining room is in the main office, so you need to go outside of your room and across the parking lot to reach it. It's very small--we saw several people take something and head back to their rooms. You can't consider it a meal, but if you aren't a big breakfast eater, than it will be fine. The receptionist and staff were friendly and helpful. Location is right on Hwy 42--easy access to Door County activities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor back up to a hill. The grounds are very pretty, but wooded and in some are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbcaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for the kind review. Admittedly, our rooms and bedding are old fashioned. The bedding is replaced frequently. Our entire collection of bedding and towels has been purchased and replaced within the past calendar year. So, even if it's not your style, you can rest assured that it's kept fresh and clean. The breakfast area is half indoors and half outside on a large patio. Occasionally. there are days when the breakfast area is quite busy. I don't think that I've ever seen a time when there was not enough seating though. Some guest do prefer to take their food with them to the rooms or another seating area on the grounds. Our Facebook page photo selection is a nice place to get a glimpse of of rooms and grounds as they look currently. Also, if you are considering staying with us, the price quoted for the room type varies, and we have a variety of room types and bed sizes. Happy travels.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
214 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay

Property: Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Address: 2544 S. Bay Shore Drive, P.O. Box 221, HWY 42, Sister Bay, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and quiet in the pines, the Coachlite Inn lends the illusion of seclusion, yet is only one half mile from the heart of Sister Bay. We are within easy walking distance of the Country Walk Shops, restaurants, golf, churches, miniature golf, go carts, and amusement parks. Access to bike, walking, and jogging trail directly in front of the Inn. Within a mile are boutiques, art galleries, beaches, marinas, sailing, fishing, and tennis. Also nearby are the Famous Door County fish boils, horseback riding, professional theater productions, music concerts, night clubs, Peninsula and Newport State Parks, ferries to Washington Island, orchards and the many natural wonders of Door County.Our accommodations include Classic Rooms, featuring one queen bed or two full size beds. Our larger Deluxe Rooms offer one king bed or two queen size beds and the Plus rooms have whirlpool tubs. We also have queen, kitchenette, and two bedroom Suites available. All are tastefully decorated and include color cable TV with HBO, air conditioning, electric heat, ceiling fans, full baths, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, and in-room phones. Complimentary Door County coffee, juice, fruit, bakery, cereal, and milk are served in our lounge from 8 - 10 am. Sit and relax on our patio or next to the Koi pond! Wireless HSIA is available throughout the property. Lobby and desk are open and coffee is available 24 hours per day. Your hosts live on-site to better accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachlite Inn Of Sister Bay Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing