We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluffside Motel(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Open Hearth Lodge(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood Lodge(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village View Inn(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Inn at Little Sister Hill(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nordic Lodge(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandinavian Lodge(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sister Bay Inn(Sister Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
108
60
10
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
60
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcontinental breakfastqueen suitedoor countydonutspumpkin spicereturning next yearfire pitwooded settingsmall fridge and microwaveoff the highwaycoffee pottucked awaythe staff was extremely friendlyquiet at nightfish boilsweet rolls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 184 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My fiancé and I were taking a road trip to door county without making reservations. We came to the Coachlite Inn and they had very affordable nightly rates compared to other pricey resorts/hotels in the area. The grounds of the Inn are pretty. They do have a hot tub that we didn't get a chance to use, but it was available and looked clean. The rooms are decorated old country and could use some updating. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The continental breakfast was coffee, donuts and cereal. The lady at front desk was welcoming and was more than willing to suggest things to do in the area. Nice location too!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZ_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

We really appreciate your positive review and hope to see you again. Thanks for mentioning the breakfast. We do our best to keep cost down while adding convenience for our guests. While we do not offer full cooked breakfast, we offer fresh fruits, 3 types of cereal, milk, bakery items, Door County coffees, tea and juice. We are looking forward to the fresh, local fall favorites of Seaquist apples and Pumpkin Spice coffee added to our usual offerings in September. Ahhhhh, fall. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Coachlite. For 3 people, two double beds, the rate was $132. Out room had its entry from the outside (no indoor corridors), and all share a common walkway. There was a nice window in the room, but you would have to have the blinds closed for privacy, if you didn't want people walking by and looking in your room. The room and bathroom looked dated--nothing modern in the way of bedding, decor, etc. The bed was comfortable, but the bedding lightweight. There was a wall air conditioner that was sufficient, and I didn't mind the "white noise." The room has a refrigerator as well. The hot tub was located across the parking lot, and was a good size. There were towels provided, but it seemed almost too hot to sit in comfortably longer than 5 minutes. Breakfast includes coffee, tea, cereal, pastries, and fruit. The dining room is in the main office, so you need to go outside of your room and across the parking lot to reach it. It's very small--we saw several people take something and head back to their rooms. You can't consider it a meal, but if you aren't a big breakfast eater, than it will be fine. The receptionist and staff were friendly and helpful. Location is right on Hwy 42--easy access to Door County activities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor back up to a hill. The grounds are very pretty, but wooded and in some areas very shaded. First floor rooms may be more musty than the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbcaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thanks for the kind review. Admittedly, our rooms and bedding are old fashioned. The bedding is replaced frequently. Our entire collection of bedding and towels has been purchased and replaced within the past calendar year. So, even if it's not your style, you can rest assured that it's kept fresh and clean. The breakfast area is half indoors and half outside on a large patio. Occasionally. there are days when the breakfast area is quite busy. I don't think that I've ever seen a time when there was not enough seating though. Some guest do prefer to take their food with them to the rooms or another seating area on the grounds. Our Facebook page photo selection is a nice place to get a glimpse of of rooms and grounds as they look currently. Also, if you are considering staying with us, the price quoted for the room type varies, and we have a variety of room types and bed sizes. Happy travels.:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was the most peaceful and quaint hotel ever.The owners are awesome,the rooms are clean,cozy,and relaxing. The setting was so beautiful,nestled off the street with lovely flowers and lounge chairs painted in gorgeous colors.Didn't want to leave.Could not have found a better hotel for the perfect "get away from it all" weekend.

Room Tip: No pets allowed.Not a place for small children.Microwave and small fridge in the room.Very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Yippee! We love happy travelers. Thanks for your stay and your review. We are humbled and will try to keep it up. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Trip Advisor once again delivered. The Coachlite could not have provided a nicer, friendlier stay. Clean, spacious room, on site breakfast, great staff. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Great location just tucked away from the road. The staff provided great restaurant recommendations (Grassy Grill and JJ's were wonderful!!). The grounds were beautiful with all of the flowers and greenery. Did not personally enjoy the hot tub, but it sure looked inviting! Really an "at home" feeling.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review. Your review makes us want to work even harder to help our guests make the most of their vacations. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

First time in Door County and really glad we chose Coachlite to stay at. Very nice people, good location, clean!, and quiet. We were pretty nervous about choosing a place to stay but it could not have worked out better. Hot tub is nice too. Never wrote a review before but because of how pleased we were with our stay I thought I should.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dillybar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews