We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great new owners needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place great new owners needs some updating”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very nice gardens. The owners are working on updating. Their rooms in general are o.k.. I say that saying that the sofa/futons in the rooms need updating. You can't really sit on them. The beds are comfy and warm. I think with a little updating the place could even be a notch above what it is at the moment. The Pond Suite is absolutely great as is the Lodge. I would say the room we stayed in was clean but rustic. I wish the new owners the best in the future.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimmykster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachliteinn, Owner at Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words and positive feedback! We value everything our guests have to say and we definitely take it to heart. We wanted to respond earlier however, we wanted to wait until we were able to move the new flexsteel couch into the Kitchenette Suite which we did yesterday. We now only have 3 remaining futon sofas and those 3 are all in very good condition and we have had very positive guest feedback that they are very comfortable to sleep and sit on. Again, we truly value all guest feedback and we look forward to your next visit here at The Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay!
Thank you,
Rich and Jeannie
PS We are also very excited to mention we just this week added new flat panel tv's with dvd players to all of our Deluxe and above rooms and suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Coachlite Inn for the first time in a number of years. The great condition of the property and comfort of the room was a very pleasant surprise. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We will be back!

Gerry and Betty Tool
Former Liberty Grove residents now in Delavan WI

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time, the staff was very nice and helpful. When we traveled up we were unsure of where things were but everyone was very friendly !!! We loved it so much we didn't want to leave but we will be visiting again!!! Soon

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniefers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neosho, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a very pleasant small hotel in the perfect area to visit Door County and well worth the price. It was very clean and had everything you need with very pleasant hosts. The continental breakfast was sufficient and kept replenished with cereal, juice, pastries, fruit, coffee and tea. There were many board games available to use and no questions asked about taking them to your room and returning them whenever you wanted. Road noise was almost non-existant and the only sounds from adjoining rooms was the occasional usual plumbing noises and people walking on the balcony; we heard no other sounds from adjoining or 2nd floor rooms. This was our first trip and would certainly return when we are in the area. There is a fire pit that anyone can use to sit around in the evenings and a hot tub available. Really nice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Coachlite Inn was fantastic. Our room was immaculately clean and maintained that way for the duration of our stay. The hot tub was crystal clear and clean. Breakfast room was also immaculate and very adequate. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The Inn is nestled in a wooded area. The exterior of the buildings is very tastefully landscaped and well maintained. I would highly recommend the Coachlite Inn.

Room Tip: Corner room was nice size, maybe the same as the rest, but the window view is of the stairs instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

If you love nature, the Coachlite Inn in Sister Bay is the place for you! We have stayed at the Inn for many years. This year we were here in the spring and again this Fall. We decided to "stay in at the Inn" a little more both of these trips and were pleasantly surprised with all of the birdwatching we did as well as enjoy the deer and others who coexist with them. They provided great photo opportunities and memories of those experiences in nature that only come once in a lifetime. In the spring we were fortunate to have a flock of Cedar Waxwings that visited several times each day in addition to many other species of birds. In the afternoon like clockwork a female deer would grace us with her presence. And throughout the day little squirrels or chipmunks would be gathering food or play with each other. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We highly recommend staying at the Coachlite Inn with Jeannie and Rich. They are perfect hosts who run a charming, quiet place to lay your head while enjoying wonderful Door County.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonlc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Coachlite Inn is a gem in Sister Bay. A beautiful property, surrounded by trees, quiet places to sit and enjoy the sounds and smells of fall, it provided a great getaway. We had a spacious, clean, odor free room, comfy beds, refrig, micro, coffee pot, DVD, and great hospitality from Jeannie and her husband! We've stayed with them the last 3 years we've come up to Door County and plan to keep on starying here!
It is not the newest or fanciest place on the peninsula, but has true charm, reasonable pricing, hospitable and friendly owners, includes all the amentities we use, and provides a peaceful, beautiful place to spend your time.

Room Tip: We've stayed both ground floor and upstairs and it has been quiet and comfortable with nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay

Property: Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Address: 2544 S. Bay Shore Drive, P.O. Box 221, HWY 42, Sister Bay, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and quiet in the pines, the Coachlite Inn lends the illusion of seclusion, yet is only one half mile from the heart of Sister Bay. We are within easy walking distance of the Country Walk Shops, restaurants, golf, churches, miniature golf, go carts, and amusement parks. Access to bike, walking, and jogging trail directly in front of the Inn. Within a mile are boutiques, art galleries, beaches, marinas, sailing, fishing, and tennis. Also nearby are the Famous Door County fish boils, horseback riding, professional theater productions, music concerts, night clubs, Peninsula and Newport State Parks, ferries to Washington Island, orchards and the many natural wonders of Door County.Our accommodations include Classic Rooms, featuring one queen bed or two full size beds. Our larger Deluxe Rooms offer one king bed or two queen size beds and the Plus rooms have whirlpool tubs. We also have queen, kitchenette, and two bedroom Suites available. All are tastefully decorated and include color cable TV with HBO, air conditioning, electric heat, ceiling fans, full baths, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, and in-room phones. Complimentary Door County coffee, juice, fruit, bakery, cereal, and milk are served in our lounge from 8 - 10 am. Sit and relax on our patio or next to the Koi pond! Wireless HSIA is available throughout the property. Lobby and desk are open and coffee is available 24 hours per day. Your hosts live on-site to better accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachlite Inn Of Sister Bay Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing