We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was meh...”
Review of Pheasant Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pheasant Park
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“it was meh...”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was an ok stay. The resort signing was a little small or not present at all so finding where to go took some extra time. It was nicely decorated for fall on the outside but since it had been rainy the hay bales outside the front entrance stunk like moldy, wet hay--YUCK! The lady at the desk was nice but I think when you check in (anywhere) the desk clerk should stand up and greet you not sit in her chair and say I'll be right with you and walk away for a few minutes...really, those papers you had to take to the back room couldn't wait until you checked us in? They were doing some construction work by the pool area so it was noisy all day long so enjoying the lobby/lounge/pool area was not relaxing at all. We rented a 2bdrm suite which was nice. The living room furniture was a bit dated and had an odor to it when you laid on it as did the decorator pillows. The carpet was VERY soiled throughout the suite.....would a professional cleaning be so hard to do once a year at least!? The blinds in one of the bedrooms was broken and the caulk around the whirlpool tub was peeling and coming off. For the price we paid, I expected better. Daily housekeeping in general was good. I'm not saying we won't return someday but it would be a last resort for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmers630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your ratings & review, considering some of your comments in regards to our staff and facility suggests you didn't get to enjoy Pheasant Park as much as you should have.

There has been a change in Management since your last stay with us and we have been working very hard at retraining our staff.

Unfortunately there was some structural issues that were being worked on in the Pool area during your stay. However, prior Management was trying to keep the Pool open and available to our guests. The other option would have been to close the pool down entirely during the work. Either way, our staff should have called you ahead of time to notify you of the work, that the pool would still be open and available,but should you want to change your plans you could. I apologize that wasn't offered to you, when it should have been.

Carpeting is an ongoing issue we are working on fixing with our Board of Directors. We do clean our carpets twice a year, or more when it is needed. Besides the cleaning we are also working on getting new carpeting and furniture in our rooms, so any feedback we can present to our Board (in regards to this issue in particular) with help get this problem solved sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    40
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had two 3 bedroom suites for 6 couples enjoying a fall get-away in Door County. The hotel was beautifully decorated for fall! It was a rainy weekend, so we enjoyed the pool, hot tub and sauna, but wish it would have been nice enough to spend time on the porches -- the setting was beautiful! The hotel is close to downtown, but more rural. The living / dining area is spacious, so great place to relax and catch up. We even enjoyed cooking a few meals. The bedrooms are a nice size also. The person at the front desk was helpful. Coffee, hot chocolate and cider were available. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed yourself at Pheasant Park! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our family spent an extended weekend at Pheasant Park over Labor Day. We had a two bedroom suite with a kitchen and separate bathroom with the second room - perfect for a family with two kids who don't want to eat out every meal.
Our room was clean and comfortable.
We especially liked the pool areas, both indoor and outdoor. The landscaping/exterior was pleasant.
The staff was friendly and courteous to us.
We had a great stay, no problems, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoraleeS325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for joining us for Labor Day weekend! I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great resort, white glove clean 2 bedroom unit with kitchen and spacious deck. Large indoor and outdoor pools, and within biking distance to Sister Bay waterfront. Great sports complex across the street that includes a nice park for kids, tennis courts, and wide open space to play baseball tennis (so fun). Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am glad your family enjoyed their stay with us! Thank you, we can't wait to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Overall, Pheasant Park is a nice place. The suites are very comfortable, clean, well layed out - and good for families. The grounds are well maintained and peaceful. It is relatively close to downtown Sister Bay. We will absolutely return to Door County, but we will not choose to stay there again. After a long drive, we arrived tired of our car and ready to relax and check-in (shortly after 3), only to find that our rooms were not ready. According to the person assisting us, there was no way of knowing when they would be ready for us. It could be shortly, or longer. I believe that is not OK when reservations and deposits have been made well in advance. My sense was that it was not an unusual situation at Pheasant Park... and after reading a few other reviews it seems that it is not isolated incident. Although the desk attendant was mostly polite, it was not good customer service. That they had had a large turn-over that morning and their staff was working very hard to get all the rooms ready was the message, but your guests should not bear the burden of that. Perhaps it's a short staffing issue, perhaps bad planning, but in either case it should be addressed. We didn't make an issue of it, we simply drove back to the beach in town to wait - until 5. That was a disappointment and inconvenience that we will not forget, and a management flaw that, if fixed, would bring them up to a rating of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeekingClarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Seeking Clarity,

I apologize for your delayed check in, after many hours of driving that is the last thing that any guest would want to hear!
Unfortunately last year there were a few issues that previous Management didn't address properly by any means, sufficient staffing was one of those issues. And ultimately the only people to endure the brunt of that was you, our guest.
Since your last stay there have been positive changes in staff as well as Management here to ensure that situations like this will never happen again.
I would love a chance to show you how things have changed. Should you choose to give us another try, please ask for me directly, and I would be more than happy to work something out with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for my 51st birthday. We wanted to go to Door County to see a play and a concert and each have our own bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are great and very clean. It was the service that was to say the least less than desirable. We parked in a small spot that was not marked "no parking." On the morning of our check out I was called by the front desk and told "You hit our bike rack and our spigot outside and you have caused extensive damage and your car may be damaged and you are not to leave the premises until the police have arrived and inspected." I NEVER hit the bike rack. The policeman came and said there really wasn't any damage he could see so a report was not filed. He also stated that the spigot was hidden behind a bush and a sign should be put up. I was handed a property damage form from the hotel at checkout. I was also told by the general manager that their insurance would not cover the damage and that it could be the whole line underground, really? All in all it has cost me $193 to fix the spigot. We will never be staying here again frankly because of the way I was treated by the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Linda,
I appreciate your kind ratings considering it seems your 51st birthday didn't go at all as planned. I want to first off apologize for the way you were treated by our staff, there is no excuse.
Management at Pheasant Park has since changed hands since your last stay with us, and we've been working very hard at retraining our staff.
Proper signage has since been put at the west end where this incident had happened, and yes, it was Pheasant Park's fault for not properly putting out said signage so you would have known not to park there.I wasn't here at that time or had to deal with anything in regards to the Insurance Company, so unfortunately I can't help with that issue.
What I can help with is if you should want to try us again sometime, please, ask for me directly and I would love to be able to work something out with you. So the next time you should stay with us, we can show you how well you can and should be treated while on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family loved staying here. We always look for places that have suites so this was right up our alley. The location was so great, within walking distance of all the shopping, eating, and the beach, but not right on the highway like so many other resorts. We also enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools. And so quiet, never heard a peep from any of the neighbors. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank octhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Octhoneymoon,
Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
The Inn at Little Sister Hill
#12 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
3.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Park

Property: Pheasant Park
Address: 2236 Mill Rd, Po 230, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pheasant Park Resort features the finest lodging Sister Bay, Door County, Wisconsin has to offer. It's a favorite vacation spot of individuals and families coming to enjoy the nature, arts and shopping in Door County. Experience the year-round beauty of Door County in the warmth and comfort of our country resort... How suite it is! Pheasant Park Resort's smoke-free, flame free, pet free environment offers the simple qualities of Door County with beautiful, modern suites. Seasonal recreation is abundant within and around Pheasant Park Resort. Enjoy all Door County has to offer with nearby shopping, restaurants, tennis, golf, state parks, cross country and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pheasant Park Hotel Sister Bay
Pheasant Park Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing