We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, wonderful accomodations”
Review of Pheasant Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pheasant Park
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful accomodations”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family loved staying here. We always look for places that have suites so this was right up our alley. The location was so great, within walking distance of all the shopping, eating, and the beach, but not right on the highway like so many other resorts. We also enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools. And so quiet, never heard a peep from any of the neighbors. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank octhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Octhoneymoon,
Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family of six stayed in one of the 2-bedroom suites. The room layout is great - with good size bedrooms and kitchen area. The two full baths are great. The outside pool was clean with a very comfortable temperature. Front desk personnel were cordial and friendly. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiveboysWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We're happy you enjoyed your stay! come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was your first customer back when you first opened many years ago and I've always loved Pheasant Park. It's been a special place for my family over the years. My most recent stay was July 26-28. First, we were given the wrong room assignment. We had asked for a 3-bedroom and a 2-bedroom until for 6 people. We had the confirmation that said that's what we would get. Instead they gave us 2 two-bedroom units. Front desk staff were very rude and would not take responsibility for their error. Then, we had to wait hours for our room to be ready, even though it was supposed to be ready at 3 p.m. Unfortunately, in my room I found two bedbugs, one in the bathroom and one in the bed. When I brought this to the staff's attention, she would not acknowledge it, neither would the manager, who didn't even come out of his office to listen to my complaint and check my room. The front desk staff were also very rude when we were checking out at the end of our stay. They wouldn't even make eye contact with us.

Unfortunately, there are so many other places to stay in Door County, we won't be coming back to Pheasant Park again.

Room Tip: Always check your bed first for bedbugs before going to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Marcia,
I want to first extend my deepest apologies to you on behalf of Pheasant Park Management for the way you had been treated during your last stay with us, by previous Management and Staff.
Since your last stay, there have been extreme changes in staff as well as Management.
The Front Desk Staff should have verified with you, when making your reservations, what room types you had booked to ensure you had the room type you needed. We have made many positive steps in retraining our staff in that regard.
The General Manager at that time should have definitely addressed the "bed bug" issue with you as soon as you had presented that to our staff. Again, for his lack of concern I apologize. We have since had our facility thoroughly inspected by an outside contractor, who had found no issues with bed bugs on our property.
I would very much love to have you return to stay with us again, so we can show you first hand that your last stay was a very unfortunate situation that would not be repeated again. Please ask for me directly and I would be more than happy to work something out with you for your next stay with us at Pheasant Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My fiancée, her 16-year old daughter and I sought lodging that would give us room to stretch out and was conveniently located for our 1-week vacation. After looking at lots of other options we chose Pheasant Park and, for the most part (more on this soon) it was a good choice. We selected a 2-bedroom suite (which also had 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and our own porch) and ended up at the far west end of the resort. This turned out to be a good thing: closer to the center/east end puts you closer to the pool, but that also can be a noisier. Instead, we faced a field, trees and a few houses in the distance; in the morning we’d awaken to peace, quiet and the birds chirping. Our room was very clean and had ample closet/drawer space for all of us. It was an easy 2-minute bike ride into Sister Bay, our master bedroom had a nice whirlpool bath and the daily housekeeping service was efficient. So, we were all pretty positive about the place, with one exception. One reason we chose Pheasant Park was because of the outdoor pool. This turned out to be fortuitous because we experienced an unusually hot streak of weather for Door County. Each day we mixed in pool time along with our other Door activities until our final full day, when it was supposed to be 90 degrees and we planned our entire day around simply hanging at the pool (too hot to do much else!). As Murphy’s Law would have it, when we walked over to the pool that morning we discovered that it was still covered. I was told there was some sort of “maintenance issue” and that they hoped to have it open a bit later. That never happened, and so our plan for a relaxing day in/by the water had to be completely revised. OK, stuff happens: I get that and you certainly can’t blame management when something technical or mechanical unexpectedly goes kaput. However, what really bothered me was that when we checked out the next morning (by which time the pool had been repaired…just in time for us to leave!) I brought up the fact that the pool being out of order the previous day was really bad timing for us and forced us to completely shuffle our plans for that day, the response of the woman working the desk was a very matter-of-fact “I apologize for that.” Period. Now, I work in the business world, where customer service is often what differentiates one enterprise from another. We’ve all heard that “I apologize for that” standard line from big outfits like AT&T or Time Warner when you call up with a complaint…it’s how they pretend they’re interested in your problem whereas in reality it’s just something they can throw out there quickly so that they can move on to something more profitable than your pesky little problem. If I were the owner of the Pheasant Inn, here’s how I would have wanted my front-line person to handle this: “Oh, I am soooo sorry about that. I realize that it was horribly inconvenient for you and your party on a 90-degree day not to have the pool available, especially since that’s one of our prime amenities. Of course, it was a problem we could not have foreseen and we repaired it as quickly as we could, but even so: this was your vacation and you had every right to expect everything to go smoothly. I know this was your first time visiting us here at Pheasant Park, and we want you to come back often, so even though I know this doesn’t completely make up for yesterday’s inconvenience, I’m going to knock a hundred bucks off your bill and promise you that we’ll do everything we can to make sure your next stay at Pheasant Park has no glitches whatsoever.” Now THAT would have impressed me. Instead, I got the standard “oh yeah that’s too bad” half-assed apology blow-off that I have come to expect from companies far larger than the Pheasant Inn. Would I stay there again? Sure…it’s actually a pretty darn good place. Too bad they missed the chance to have me award them that 5th star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Paul H,

I am very sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused your party and the response by the staff here at Pheasant Park. If you wish, please call me at 1-800-392-3921 to discuss this issue. I would like Pheasant Park to set the standard for customer service in Door County but it appears we missed the mark on this instance. I look forward to future opportunities to serve you better!

Brian S
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
239 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've stayed many times at Pheasant Park in Sister Bay. The location really can't be beat. It's a short walk away from the shops and restaurants of Sister Bay, yet it's tucked away and quiet.

The rooms are condo style, with a full kitchen, including everything you need for simple meals. The master bedroom has a nice whirlpool tub. The rooms are clean, the beds, bedding, and towels are satisfactory. There is a porch on every unit with a table and chairs. The living area has a couch and chairs, as well as a decent TV and a gas fireplace.

Pheasant Park has an indoor and an outdoor pool. There is an indoor whirlpool as well. We really enjoy the outdoor pool area. There is quite a bit of pool deck furniture, and a few tables and chairs outside of the pool area near a gas grill.

The prices are lower than most places, which is one of the reasons we continue to return. You have to put 1/2 down when you make the reservation, but we've found that this is standard in Door County.

It's not the Four Seasons, but it's a nice place with comfortable rooms at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Pheasant Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you! we can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The resort is a stone's throw from Sister Bay, and is walking distance from many restaurants. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped, all with decks or patios. It's ideal for group travel. We switched rooms part way through our trip, moving from a three-bedroom condo to a two bed. The three bed has a very spacious living and dining area. The two bed is a little more cosy but more than adequate to relax after a long day of sight-seeing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitelaw, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife's large family gets together every March for a weekend. In years past we have always gone close to the family cabin in Beecher, WI. This year we decided to try Door County. After a lot of leg work by my sister, we chose Pheasant Park. A hour or two drive from our homes and lots to do in Door County. This place is awesome, from frienly staff to excellent fully equipted suites, with lots to do, and close to restaurants and shopping. We were not disappointed and plan on returning here next year!

Room Tip: All 8 rooms our group used were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#5 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.3 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Park

Property: Pheasant Park
Address: 2236 Mill Rd, PO 230, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pheasant Park Resort features the finest lodging Sister Bay, Door County, Wisconsin has to offer. It's a favorite vacation spot of individuals and families coming to enjoy the nature, arts and shopping in Door County. Experience the year-round beauty of Door County in the warmth and comfort of our country resort... How suite it is! Pheasant Park Resort's smoke-free, flame free, pet free environment offers the simple qualities of Door County with beautiful, modern suites. Seasonal recreation is abundant within and around Pheasant Park Resort. Enjoy all Door County has to offer with nearby shopping, restaurants, tennis, golf, state parks, cross country and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pheasant Park Hotel Sister Bay
Pheasant Park Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing