We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be coming back again to the Country House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be coming back again to the Country House”
Reviewed November 26, 2006

This was the second time we stayed at this resort after staying at several other locations in previous years in the area. I highly recommend it to others. Beautiful location and views, friendly staff, clean room and facilities, and a good complimentary breakfast. Go on the nature walk that starts at the resort. After 3 days we still had things we wished we could have done.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmGroveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    99
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
258
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2006

The Country House offers a quiet and relaxing vacation or get away, The staff is always friendly and wiling to help their guests.
The grounds are beautiful, and I would recomend to anyone who wants to experience "Door County" Wisconsin. The Pool area is perfect size and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We've been staying at the Country House during the first week of August for 20+ years and continue to look forward to our experience there. It is quiet, off-the-road, great views of the Green Bay, nice pool & whirlpool, and beautifu grounds. Also, we like the fact that it is for adults only. The continental breakfast is great, the rooms are clean, and the staff is very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank COL/SJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2006

My wife and I have been taking advantage of the atmosphere at
the Country House for over 20 years. It is located on a bluff overlooking the blue waters of Sister Bay. Most of the rooms have a view of the water and are preferable if available. The grounds are beautiful and the flowers are the work of a master gardener.
Amenities include a whirlpool, outdoor swimming pool and great places to sit and read or just relax. One, which overlooks the water, is especially popular with my wife. An excellent cold continental breakfast is available if you can resist other restaurants in Door County. Children are not allowed as guests.
We have found the staff to be helpful and personable and the rooms and facility clean and well cared for.
If you are looking for a relaxing and unpretentious experience in a beautiful setting, look no further.

Helpful?
Thank SmilinEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2006

While we are regular visitors to Door County, this was our first visit to the Country House. Our children are now older, and we made the trip without them. This is a wonderful choice for adults. The rooms are nicely decorated and everything was very clean! The continental breakfast is above average. The staff are all very friendly. However, it was truly the peaceful setting that made this the perfect choice for us. We will definitely return!

The Shaws

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Waukeshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at the Country House for 9 years in a row and wouldn't consider any place else. It's quiet, near shopping and activities, yet off the highway. We visited earlier this month and as I stepped into the lobby, I immediately felt like I was at my home away from home. Their policy of no children under 13 years of age is definitely a plus, and we know people who strayed away for a year and came back for that very reason. It's cozy and welcoming and I look forward to next year's trip as soon as we leave.

  • Liked — The quiet and coziness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and if you're a partier, don't go here for everyone else's sake!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Meowmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We found the Country House about 15 years ago (in an AAA guide) and have been returning at least once annually ever since. We've stayed there in all four seasons of the year and have never been disappointed. The family-owned environment truly shows in the service, gorgeous landscaping and attention to details. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and we love the serenity of the entire property. We've also found that when we make a suggestion on the comment cards provided in each room, an idea is often implemented by the time we return. That would never happen in a major chain hotel or resort!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Hills-G.E.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing