We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
295
113
31
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
113
31
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail yogurt grounds are beautiful door county cherries the penthouse hot tub green bay view of the bay french toast box of chocolates shuffle board steep path make your own waffles water view room hard boiled eggs salami continental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 454 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We've stay at many motels, hotels and "resorts" over the past 50 years in Door County, and even once years ago at the Country House Resort--but this visit tops the list. It's a true country resort--located stunningly on top of a hill looking down onto Sister Bay water and town.
The spacious grounds are beautifully kept with flowers and trees in abundance. Simple distractions available include: horseshoes, shuffleboard, bag toss, tennis, a pool and hot tub.
The complimentary breakfast is excellent and somewhat varied.
Also, this is an adult resort. Handicapped accessible suites are plentiful with gorgeous views.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank djb60060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you found us again us and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We know there are many lodging options in Door County and we are humbled that you place us at the top of the list. We hope you will return soon for another visit! Our handicapped accessible accommodations include a First Floor Suite, a Two Queen room and a King room, all with private water view balconies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Two late 60s and 70s couples went for a long getaway. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and pretty flowers abound. It's very quiet and relaxing and a short walk through a path to Sister Bay. You have to have the ability to walk uphill to get back whether on the path or the road. I don't like buffets but see why this system is used here. The scrambled eggs were fine, but the omelets ? were once and done for me. Can always have cereal and hard-boiled egg, toast, etc. They ran out of USA Todays every morning; would suggest they order more for the late risers. Scrumptious cookies are place in the lobby later in the afternoon, but again, they run out. Edward and Scott at the front desk and Rachel with housekeeping do a great job. The Penthouse. It's spacious with a large living room and full kitchen, which we used only for the fridge. The view of Sister Bay and the grounds are fabulous. I did not like the accommodation for two couples, and this is simply personal preference. One bedroom is small and does not have an en suite bathroom, so there is necessarily a trek down a long hallway for the couple that gets stuck in that room. I would definitely return to Country House, but if with another couple, I would reserve separate rooms and sacrifice the view and space for privacy. If you don't mind paying for the Penthouse and can stay there alone, then this is the accommodation to book. This is 5-stars as what I didn't like was strictly personal. In our travels throughout Door County, we didn't see anywhere else we'd rather stay. Another plus is that there are no children; hence, peace and tranquility. We stayed five nights, but a week would be more leisurely. (There are steps to the second floor to access the Penthouse. Once in, there is another flight of stairs to reach it. We are all walkers and climbers, but it could be difficult to access if one is not inclined to climb stairs.)

Room tip: Water view
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susiedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Thank you for your review.We are so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. I apologize that we ran out of newspapers and cookies. The Penthouse holds a special place in my heart as it was my apartment before we turned it into a rental unit. The view is spectacular I can understand that the unique architecture and layout might not be ideal for everyone.(I did get my exercise hauling groceries up the stairs :- ) I am glad you still enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Comfortable accommodations, substantial breakfast with choices, beautiful view of Sister Bay from many rooms, the deck, and walk down to dock on the Bay. Available for use are kayaks, bikes, tennis racquets, shuffle board, and corn hole! Resort is located on a hill above Sister Bay well off of the highway and centrally located in Door County. We had an amazing time visiting Door County and hope to return!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SNOWBIRD5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed the resort, our peaceful location and so many of the complimentary amenities we have to offer. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Beautiful location, queen yard room a bit on small side but had all we needed. Frig, microwave, even a retractable clothesline in bathroom! Very clean. Heated Pool and hot tub were great.
The breakfast was delicious and varied each day. Walked to the private dock and on to town. Landscaping was beautiful with nice scenic areas to relax and enjoy. Had tennis court, yard games, bikes and kayaks to use included in stay. Didn’t get a chance to use those-only stayed two nights. Next time will stay longer!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank anned105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Thank you for your review. The Queen Yard room is our smallest and least expensive so we are pleased it met your needs and you enjoyed. It does allow you to enjoy the resort's location and all the amenities you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you again and think you would really enjoy the Queen Water View with the private balcony! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Country House Resort. The grounds were very well taken care of, resort was clean, and the resort had many extras like kayaks and bikes. The pool and hot tub were also very nice and well taken care of. The only thing I would change about our stay would be to spend the extra money to get the larger room. We stayed in the small courtyard view room and it was a little cramped. We would highly recommend and stay there again

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a wide variety of room types which provide options to meet a variety of budgets, but I agree the water view is gorgeous and one of the things that sets us apart. We hope you can return soon and enjoy a private, water view balcony!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews