We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many better places in Sister Bay. It was just bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have been to Sister Bay & Door County many times in my life. I'm a 34 year old professional who loves the area. I took a friend up for a weekend getaway to relax. The hotel is very small. The outisde very pretty and charming. The pool area and views of the lake were great. Now the rooms??? That's a different story! My friend and I walked in and laughed out loud. This place is neither romantic, nor elegant as they advertise. Beyond small. In fact, when we opened the door, it almost hit the bed. Its smelled like a nursing home (and the majority of the guests staying there would solidify our beliefs by the end of the weekend.) We bought candles to burn to get that smell away. The walls were white. No art. the bathroom was white and no art. Everything is old. Carpet, drapes (that didn't keep the room dark) light fixtures, TV was awful, small and had a think 12 chanels. They charged us $130 a night! I've been in no-tell motels next to airports for $100 less and the rooms were better. If you're rich, 80 and dont want to spend any time in your room, you'll be fine. Otherwise, just keep your hotel search going.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milwaukeemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

We were so happy with everything Country House had to offer. Picked the less expensive room and was advised that it was small in comparison to motels now days. So we were expecting small and decided we would upgrade if too cramped as we were staying 4 nights. Pleasantly suprised!! Comfy queen bed, refrigerator, table and two chairs and good size bathroom. Very clean. This resort offers everything from shuffleboard to puzzles and games. Large hot tub, nice pool, lovely gardens and paths down to the bay. Staff very helpful. Know one person mentioned noise as they do have wooden steps to the upper rooms where we stayed but turn on the fan on the air conditioner and you hear nothing. No wonder it is ranked #1. We could have paid twice as much and been across the street from the bay in neighboring Ephraim but very happy with Sister Bay as there was more to do as far as shopping and restaurants. So save your money and sit on a lower patio with a nice view of the bay or walk on down to the pier (not good for fishing) and sit on a bench on the water. They also have row boats available. Sister Bay has the best public beach too. Just feel we really lucked out!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardeninggal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My fiance and I stayed here (he proposed down on the dock off the nature trail)!! I really liked the resort, although it is definitely an "adult" place to stay - we were the youngest people by at least 30 years - so if you're looking for a place to get rowdy in the hot tub after hours with lots of people, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is it. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, and I liked the fact that there were games and outdoor equipment for rental (we didn't use any of it, but it was nice to know we had the option). The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are a little outdated decor-wise, but nonetheless comfortable. Breakfast was good, with a mixture of hot and cold dishes (pastries, cheese, salami, yogurt, cereals)...although, my fiance missed the option of hot eggs or sausage, etc. Overall, a resort with beautiful grounds, nice views, kind staff, and a quiet, relaxing (adult) atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesscarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We spent our Honeymoon at the Country House 21 years ago and loved it then. We've come back to Door County a few more times and would never think of staying anywhere else. A very serene peaceful atmosphere with lovely grounds, pool, spa and patio. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The breakfast has many choices with home-baked pastries and breads. And the cookies in the afternoon - to die for! The room is very comfortable - especially the mattress! View of Green Bay is lovely, beyond the beautiful ponds and fountains. I would highly recommend it as a perfect get-away - but you are still close to all the towns offer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiepopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The grounds were kept up beauftifully - lots of great spots to sit and talk. Great pool and whirlpool - not too crowded and a nice, quiet clientele. Employees were very friendly and helpful with recommendations for restaurants, etc. Continental breakfast was bigger than most - many options. Had fresh baked cookies in the afternoons too. Overall, we really enjoyed it there - nice, quiet and relaxing with a beutiful bay view.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This was our fifth visit to Country House. It is very comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. A very nice breakfast is included. The view and the grounds are beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Don't get me wrong, it's a decent enough place. We didn't stay in a fancy room. It was really very small and cramped. The housekeeping staff would leave the windows open and the blinds drawn when they left, which we had intentionally left closed because we had expensive items laying about. I'm sure there's a low level of theft there, but still, it felt like a lack of respect for our things. The owner (I think), was delightful. Very helpful and had great suggestions for dining and things to do. Other staff didn't seem to know the area very well, which surprised us because it is a small area. The breakfasts were filling most mornings. Not quite full on breakfast but more than just rolls. The grounds were great as most have commented. I doubt that we would return, for the price of a comfortable room we would rather go to a Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AlmdoiPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
829 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing